The Oriental

4

9 Oriental Place, ,, Brighton, BN1 2LJ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (31)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Smyth

  • April 2015

The Oriental

Perfect ...

would stay again.

  • Jo Snoad

  • December 2014

AMAZING!

The Oriental is a fantastic place.

From the moment you arrive you feel really welcome and valued as a customer. I stayed with my Mum for one night and we had a lovely time. The staff were super friendly and helpful, the rooms are well presented, more than comfortable, great beds, soft linen and very, very clean. Breakfast was great too. I am a regular visitor to Brighton and have to say this is one of the best places I have stayed in, the price is amazing value. Don't bother searching for anywhere else, book here.

  • john h

  • December 2014

romantic weekend

The customer service at breakfast was first class and the breakfast was beautiful.

Place was lovely and clean and the walk in shower was to die for. The room was a little smaller than the photos made it look but the great location beside the pier and the friendly staff more than made up for it. Perfect little hideaway for a romantic weekend. Will definitely be back.

  • Sophie R

  • October 2014

Fantastic!

Me and my partner decided on a last minute trip to beautiful Brighton after finding out we are expecting our first child.

Needless to say after 6 hours travelling on train and all the joyous pregnancy symptoms I wasn't the most enthusiastic when we arrive at 8 o'clock Friday night. But as soon as the doorbell rang we were welcomed straight in and shown straight to our room (which was beautiful, so comfortable and quirky yet with luxury details).No great fuss or anything, just a friendly welcome and then we were left to a great nights sleep. The next morning we went downstairs to

the delightful smell of full English breakfasts being cooked. We've stayed in hotels in Brighton before, some that have been higher rated and more expensive than The Oriental, but me and my partner both agree this is the best breakfast we've ever had in Brighton. Start off i had fruit, yoghurt and toast with grapefruit juice, and then a wonderful perfectly portioned English Breakfast to follow up. All the staff were polite and at your service when needed but didn't fuss around too much (From my greying skin tone and waves of morning sickness I think they understood I didnt want too much fuss). The bar served alcoholic drinks (Cocktails are incredible according to my partner) and they also serve a selection of non-alcoholic beverages on the house, of which i took full advantage of their stock of ginger beer. All in all a wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel which is now my go to for trips to Brighton!

  • e mcmahon

  • September 2014

Great find

Great find close to all points of interest.

Different from the usual standard hotel chains. Great welcome and nothing too much trouble

  • wendy bevan

  • June 2014

Positive review

Excellent stay, safe and secure for woman travelling on their own.

Friendly and helpful staff.

  • I Large

  • May 2014

Great service, lovely room

We had a great weekend away, the room (superior) was lovely, the service was fantastic and the breakfast was the best I've had in any hotel.

We had a lovely stay.

  • Simon I

  • April 2014

Lovely stay

From the greeting to the moment we left the service was fantastic.

Lovely people and a lovely hotel, so I'd highly recommend it.

  • Ian H

  • February 2014

What a little gem!.

Located just off the sea front to the west of the convention centre the Oriental is in an ideal position to serve everyone's needs. The staff were warm, friendly and extremely helpful in giving advice to two Brighton novices on where to go - their local knowledge on where to eat was invaluable. The hotel facilities weren't exactly comparable to the Ritz, but perfectly adequate for its level. Breakfast was delicious, with healthy options available to those that way inclined. Thank you to Lola, Mike, Aiden and the team.

  • C Lewis

  • January 2014

Wonderful Engagement Weekend

We stayed at the Oriental for two nights to celebrate our engagement and so we could go ring shopping in the nearby lanes.

The hotel was perfectly situated right by the seafront and less than ten minutes walk from the main shopping centre and town. Our "superior" room was modern but with a colourful boutique feel. It was warm, super comfortable and full of interesting furniture and features. The bathroom could have had a more thorough clean but it wasn't worth complaining about and this really was the only negative to a brilliant hotel experience. The staff genuinely couldn't have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful, and little extras like a complimentary breakfast in bed made our engagement weekend even more special than it already was.