No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oriental

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
9 Oriental Place, , , Brighton, BN1 2LJ
The Oriental is one of the original Brighton Boutique hotels. Under-stated yet bursting with character, this 4 * Highly Commended Grade II* Listed Regency guesthouse has a refreshing view on design and service.

Thoughtfully unpretentious and resonantly Brighton, staying at the Oriental is like visiting the home of one of your friends; relaxed and unfussy, with all the trimmings of a lifestyle hotel plus the friendly charm of a bed and breakfast.

With secure parking (pre-booking advised) a few streets away, the seafront within 50 metres and both the city centre and Brighton Centre less than a 10 minute walk away, what else could you want from the city which boasts a cosmopolitan crowd, award winning restaurants, the Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, countless festivals, and so much more?

Whether you want a weekend break, a midweek getaway, or an unusual venue for your business meeting, the Oriental has the ambience, ‘know-how’ and personable team to make your stay a special one.
Picture of The Oriental, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

romantic weekend
The customer service at breakfast was first class and the breakfast was beautiful. Place was lovely and clean and the walk in shower was to die for. The room was a little smaller than the photos made it look but the great location beside the pier and the friendly staff more than made up for it. Perfect little hideaway for a romantic weekend. Will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
john h

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
Me and my partner decided on a last minute trip to beautiful Brighton after finding out we are expecting our first child! Needless to say after 6 hours travelling on train and all the joyous pregnancy symptoms I wasn't the most enthusiastic when we arrive at 8 o'clock Friday night. But as soon as the doorbell rang we were welcomed straight in and shown straight to our room (which was beautiful, so comfortable and quirky yet with luxury details).No great fuss or anything, just a friendly welcome and then we were left to a great nights sleep. The next morning we went downstairs to
the delightful smell of full English breakfasts being cooked! We've stayed in hotels in Brighton before, some that have been higher rated and more expensive than The Oriental, but me and my partner both agree this is the best breakfast we've ever had in Brighton. Start off i had fruit, yoghurt and toast with grapefruit juice, and then a wonderful perfectly portioned English Breakfast to follow up! All the staff were polite and at your service when needed but didn't fuss around too much (From my greying skin tone and waves of morning sickness I think they understood I didnt want too much fuss). The bar served alcoholic drinks (Cocktails are incredible according to my partner) and they also serve a selection of non-alcoholic beverages on the house, of which i took full advantage of their stock of ginger beer. All in all a wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel which is now my go to for trips to Brighton!

Reviewed by
Sophie R

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Positive review
Excellent stay, safe and secure for woman travelling on their own. Friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
wendy bevan

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service, lovely room
We had a great weekend away, the room (superior) was lovely, the service was fantastic and the breakfast was the best I've had in any hotel. We had a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
I Large

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find
Great find close to all points of interest. Different from the usual standard hotel chains. Great welcome and nothing too much trouble

Reviewed by
e mcmahon

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
From the greeting to the moment we left the service was fantastic. Lovely people and a lovely hotel, so I'd highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Simon I

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a little gem!. Located just off the sea front to the west of the convention centre the Oriental is in an ideal position to serve everyone's needs. The staff were warm, friendly and extremely helpful in giving advice to two Brighton novices on where to go - their local knowledge on where to eat was invaluable. The hotel facilities weren't exactly comparable to the Ritz, but perfectly adequate for its level. Breakfast was delicious, with healthy options available to those that way inclined. Thank you to Lola, Mike, Aiden and the team.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Engagement Weekend
We stayed at the Oriental for two nights to celebrate our engagement and so we could go ring shopping in the nearby lanes. The hotel was perfectly situated right by the seafront and less than ten minutes walk from the main shopping centre and town. Our "superior" room was modern but with a colourful boutique feel. It was warm, super comfortable and full of interesting furniture and features. The bathroom could have had a more thorough clean but it wasn't worth complaining about and this really was the only negative to a brilliant hotel experience. The staff genuinely couldn't have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful, and little extras like a complimentary breakfast in bed made our engagement weekend even more special than it already was.

Reviewed by
C Lewis

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B - excellent hospitality
Great location - just off the sea front and short 10min walk to the Lanes. The owner couldn't have been more helpful. We'll return just because of him (thanks J!). Really tasty brekkie - all organic. We'll definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Kat S

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Brighton
Lovely hotel - very friendly staff and great service - good value - lots of local info about Brighton and very Brighton location (close to the old pier - sea and seagulls) - comfortable room, enjoyed the breakfast but would get coffee elsewhere.

Reviewed by
K O'Riordan

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next