No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Head Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
204 Wincheap, Canterbury, CT1 3RY
The King's Head is a traditional friendly 15th century oak beamed inn situated in the historic city of Canterbury offering a licensed bar, food and en-suite bed and breakfast facilities. We are conveniently situated and within easy walking distance to the city centre and Cathedral.
In addition to the Cathedral Canterbury is home to Universities and Kent County Cricket Club, the St Lawrence ground is approximately one mile away.
Four real ales are available in the bar and we are listed in the 2013 CAMRA Good Beer Guide and the 2007 CAMRA Beer, Bed and Breakfast Guide. In the relaxing bar you will find exposed beams and pub games including darts, bar billiards and a range of board games. The attractive garden plays host to the Kentish game of Bat & Trap during the summer months and also has a substantial heated smoking area.
A wide range of bar snacks and meals are available evenings and weekend lunchtimes either in the bar or separate dining room.
The cosy bedrooms, which have exposed beams, are all en-suite with a shower and toilet. All rooms have a flat screen colour television with Freesat, tea/coffee making facilities, fan and hair dryer. In addition to central heating rooms have an electric fan heater. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Fee car parking is available on our driveway at the side of the inn. Alternatively there is public pay car park 30 metres away.
Picture of Kings Head Inn, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 100 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for anyone needing pet-friendly accommodation
Just needed bed for night and somewhere for my dog to stay - it was perfect for that and seemed a very friendly place.

Reviewed by
Phil Turner

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, quirky with fantastic little details.
My only issue was that any use of water was incredibly noisy and that te smell of egg/sulphur came out of the toilet??

Reviewed by
Yen Q

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Memorable Birthday celebrated
If you want to feel the charm of an inn from the 1500s with the 21st -century comfort, Kings Head Inn will provide it to you. Our room was tiny-mini with old oak -beamed walls with all supplies what we need in our age. Spotless room, every day cleaned, hospitality tray refilled, etc.
The B&B is on a busy /noisy A28 road though but after day-long walks, either in the city or riding on the buses to discover the area you won't need the earplugs also provided by the owners.
The breakfast is chosen by you daily from the menu which is not just enormous but also delicious, mouthwateringly presented, you won't need anything to eat till evening!
Ena and Mike the owners and the staff are kind, nice, they do their best for the guest to have a memorable time there.
A perfect stay for a weekend, to chill out, to get to know the historic city since just 15-mins walk from the city centre. Value/price acceptable.

Reviewed by
Sandor J

From England
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely lovely
Good position, great hotel and lovely staff!

Reviewed by
Micaela C

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place for a stopover
This was a lovely place to stay. The room, whilst small, was comfortable and clean and had everything I needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast, cooked to order, was excellent. I have family in Canterbury and will definitely stay here again when I next come to visit them.

Reviewed by
Denise G

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generous accommodation.
We arrived tired, as we were clearing house for a deceased relative. Warm welcome at receptions, orders taken for breakfast the night before. Full English breakfast, including gluten free bread and sausage. Lovely, fresh fruit salad and yoghurt, and orange juice that tasted freshly squeezed. The room was attractively well coordinated, with pristine white sheets and towels. Lovely en suite built into the beamed room alcove. Our jack Russell was welcomed, too. What more can you ask?

Reviewed by
R Brading

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely family friendlt venue
We were made to feel welcome the moment we walked through the door. We took all 3 rooms and they were very homely and compact. The breakfast was good with excellent choices. Definitely recommend this old coaching Inn.

Reviewed by
l stevens

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canterbury
A very comfortable two night stay.
We stayed in the twin room, all thou room on first appearance appeared small it was big enough for us, very clean and comfortable, fresh clean linen both days.
Very friendly helpful staff
A good breakfast both mornings.
A easy pleasant stroll I to the city centre.

Reviewed by
Lisa H

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Kings Head Inn Canterbury
The Kings Head Inn is a popular locals pub featured in the CAMRA but is nevertheless very welcoming to visitors and sincerely helpful when sorting out your arrival. The parking is a bit tight off a busy road but the staff patiently assist with guiding you in and out and its also secure over night. The room was clean and sufficiently spacious for a single visitor with very good beverage facilities and a decent power shower. Breakfast was cooked to order, a good size and quality with an additional option of cereals and juices. Overall, very impressed.

Reviewed by
Tim Laws

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oldy Woldy Pub
I totally recommend staying here, the staff, room, ambience and position of pub, were outstanding. As a fussy ester, the breakfast was 10/10. Thank you, for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Lee H

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next