No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Head Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
204 Wincheap, Canterbury, CT1 3RY
The King's Head is a traditional friendly 15th century oak beamed inn situated in the historic city of Canterbury offering a licensed bar, food and en-suite bed and breakfast facilities. We are conveniently situated and within easy walking distance to the city centre and Cathedral.
In addition to the Cathedral Canterbury is home to Universities and Kent County Cricket Club, the St Lawrence ground is approximately one mile away.
Four real ales are available in the bar and we are listed in the 2013 CAMRA Good Beer Guide and the 2007 CAMRA Beer, Bed and Breakfast Guide. In the relaxing bar you will find exposed beams and pub games including darts, bar billiards and a range of board games. The attractive garden plays host to the Kentish game of Bat & Trap during the summer months and also has a substantial heated smoking area.
A wide range of bar snacks and meals are available evenings and weekend lunchtimes either in the bar or separate dining room.
The cosy bedrooms, which have exposed beams, are all en-suite with a shower and toilet. All rooms have a flat screen colour television with Freesat, tea/coffee making facilities, fan and hair dryer. In addition to central heating rooms have an electric fan heater. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Fee car parking is available on our driveway at the side of the inn. Alternatively there is public pay car park 30 metres away.
Picture of Kings Head Inn, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 93 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay in a traditional pub
I stayed here for one night in August. I arrived quite late and rang ahead to ask about times for bar food. The barmaid was helpful on phone and also helpful and friendly when I arrived. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and a very comfortable double bed. The bathroom was very small - ok for me as I'm not very tall but some people may struggle (but appreciate this is due to the style/age of the building). The breakfast was first class. Overall a very friendly place which I would visit again.

Reviewed by
Sandra E

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and full of character
I only marked down the quality of the room because of the size of the room and ensuite, but it was really totally in character with the rest of the C15 building and I wouldn't have wanted it "modernised" if all that character was lost.
The hospitality was great, and I really appreciated the gluten free meal options, as well as the easy access wifi.

Reviewed by
Corinne C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Head Inn
A very friendly and welcoming location, great bar food. unfortunatly I wasn't able to sample the breakfast as I had to leave before 7.30am (however the remarks in the guest book were very complemetary), the room (2) was very comfortable and clean, however if you are a light sleeper, because the room overlooks the very busy main road, there was a lot of road noise and I was woken at 6am by the dustbin lorry pulling directly below the room. Not all the rooms are affected by this noise and if you gett a room at the back of the Inn it shouldn't be a problem, if i could get one of those rooms, I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Tim R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very hot but amazing breakfast
I stayed here for one night. Even though the breakfast and room was amazing there was one massive problem it was way too warm. I couldn't open the windows and the fan that I had to have on all night was very loud. Woke up a few times in the night die to the heat and drying my hair in the morning was nearly impossible.
Maybe a great stay for winter however a tad too warm for summer. Would go back for the breakfast however that was simple amazing!

Reviewed by
rachel m

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Pleasant room, with tea/coffee making facilities and even a razor incase you forgot your own. Small but nice room, tv and a iPod docking station. Good breakfast. Thanks

Reviewed by
Charlotte C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly welcome and service; rooms small as can be expected in such an old building, however nice and cosy !

Reviewed by
Frank M

From Germany
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home could not have asked for any-thing better

Reviewed by
Dennis M

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We needed to have a base close to Canterbury, where our son was graduating. The king's Head was ideal - friendly, clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
A Fothergill

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky in so many ways and great value
The breakfast of your choice cooked to order and one of the very best. Room compact but has everything one needs all spotlessly clean.
We had the added bonus of watching a game called bat and trap on the pitch outside and learnt a new sport.

Reviewed by
Stephen Jones

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice B&B
Beautiful old pub - nice room/ great breakfast

Reviewed by
Richard H

From West Wickham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next