No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Head Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
204 Wincheap, Canterbury, CT1 3RY
The King's Head is a traditional friendly 15th century oak beamed inn situated in the historic city of Canterbury offering a licensed bar, food and en-suite bed and breakfast facilities. We are conveniently situated and within easy walking distance to the city centre and Cathedral.
In addition to the Cathedral Canterbury is home to Universities and Kent County Cricket Club, the St Lawrence ground is approximately one mile away.
Four real ales are available in the bar and we are listed in the 2013 CAMRA Good Beer Guide and the 2007 CAMRA Beer, Bed and Breakfast Guide. In the relaxing bar you will find exposed beams and pub games including darts, bar billiards and a range of board games. The attractive garden plays host to the Kentish game of Bat & Trap during the summer months and also has a substantial heated smoking area.
A wide range of bar snacks and meals are available evenings and weekend lunchtimes either in the bar or separate dining room.
The cosy bedrooms, which have exposed beams, are all en-suite with a shower and toilet. All rooms have a flat screen colour television with Freesat, tea/coffee making facilities, fan and hair dryer. In addition to central heating rooms have an electric fan heater. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Fee car parking is available on our driveway at the side of the inn. Alternatively there is public pay car park 30 metres away.
Picture of Kings Head Inn, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings head
Stayed for 2 nights
Room clean and tidy
Breakfast was lovely - butcher meat not supermarket
Food in the pub was outstanding they have a very good chef!!!
Low beams so people who are tall would have a problem
They have cats. No problem with me but if you have allergies this b&b I wouldn't recommend .
Only downside was the toilet system - sani-flow was a tad noisy when flushing and taking a shower.

Reviewed by
R WALLIS

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Friendly efficient service. Clean room. Fantastic breakfast. Stayed here a couple of times and would recommend it highly.

Reviewed by
Ian C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small, noisy room but the bar was good (apart from the live band)
The pub itself was very good with 4 real ales on although only 1 really took my fancy. There was a duo playing live music but unless I had seen the posters I could have sworn it was karaoke, they were truly awful! Couldn't sing, couldn't play but the locals seemed to enjoy them, maybe I've been spoilt with decent pub music in the past. The room was very small with a tiny shower room which had a very noisy Saniflow installed. It was also overlooking the road which was rather disappointing as I had specifically asked for a different room after reading reviews before my stay. No other rooms were booked when I booked mine so there was no excuse. No reason or apology was offered by the owners, just the barmaid who said there had been a mix-up. It was also roasting hot in the room due to the radiator being left on full blast before we got there. The food in the evening and at breakfast was very good although the room where we ate was rather bland. It was impossible to eat in the bar/lounge as too many other people were using the tables even though most didn't eat. It would be a good idea if the owners could reserve tables for guests rather than having to go to the rather bland breakfast room. The only good thing was that it made the live music a little quieter and more bearable.

Reviewed by
John W

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly & homely pub B&B
Quaint accommodation in rooms over old pub. Clean, compact rooms with all the facilities we needed (hairdryer etc). Very friendly and helpful landlord, decent breakfast included.

Reviewed by
richard d

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Excellent room most comfortable pillows ever

Reviewed by
Mark C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely, off-centre place to stay
Now, I confess that I generally much prefer to stay above a pub than a local hotel. For me, a warm welcome, cosy atmosphere, individuality, great value, brilliant breakfast and the feeling of being a guest are really important. And since the Kings Head scored top marks in each I can thoroughly recommend a stay here. Easy to take the basics as read, but the bed and pillows were first-rate, the room was very warm and the room was spotless. In terms of advice, I’d suggest that if you’re not used to traffic noise I’d pack some earplugs (my room fronted the main road into Canterbury) and it’s an 8minute walk to the city walls/Canterbury East Stn so it’s not as central as the city-centre hotels. But I’ve stayed in those and didn’t leave half so relaxed and well-fed!

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our 2nd visit here and we will stay here again

Reviewed by
Jenny Atherton

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hospitality!
The B & B is in the pub, food there is fantastic! room and shower is also ideal!

Reviewed by
C Hong

From Langport, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good service and clean room
comfortable bed, good TV set, clean shower room and good food!

Reviewed by
C Hong

From Langport, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short but enjoyable stay in Canterbury
Everything about the accommodation from room, cleanliness and food was excellent and service too.

Reviewed by
D Standing

From Alresford, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next