No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Head Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
204 Wincheap, Canterbury, CT1 3RY
The King's Head is a traditional friendly 15th century oak beamed inn situated in the historic city of Canterbury offering a licensed bar, food and en-suite bed and breakfast facilities. We are conveniently situated and within easy walking distance to the city centre and Cathedral.
In addition to the Cathedral Canterbury is home to Universities and Kent County Cricket Club, the St Lawrence ground is approximately one mile away.
Four real ales are available in the bar and we are listed in the 2013 CAMRA Good Beer Guide and the 2007 CAMRA Beer, Bed and Breakfast Guide. In the relaxing bar you will find exposed beams and pub games including darts, bar billiards and a range of board games. The attractive garden plays host to the Kentish game of Bat & Trap during the summer months and also has a substantial heated smoking area.
A wide range of bar snacks and meals are available evenings and weekend lunchtimes either in the bar or separate dining room.
The cosy bedrooms, which have exposed beams, are all en-suite with a shower and toilet. All rooms have a flat screen colour television with Freesat, tea/coffee making facilities, fan and hair dryer. In addition to central heating rooms have an electric fan heater. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Fee car parking is available on our driveway at the side of the inn. Alternatively there is public pay car park 30 metres away.
Picture of Kings Head Inn, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb accommodation, excellent A * * * *
Superb family hotel, excellent room, great friendly service, food was out of this world, exceptional!! Would recommend anyone to stay, faultless all round. You will not be disappointed!!!!

Reviewed by
STEPHEN BAUCHOP

From Coventry, England
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent good value for money.
The food menu was good and the quality excellent. The fruit salad at breakfast was the best I have ever had!!

Reviewed by
A Wood

From Shipley, England
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little B & B.
We stayed for just one night en route to France as we were attending a wedding reception in the area.
We found both the proprietors and staff to be very welcoming and hospitable. The room was a little small but very well equipped with everything you could ask for and a few extra nice touches.
The breakfast was superb and unlimited quantities of extra toast and drinks were offered. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Patricia Lee

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
Enjoyed pleasant stay here. Very characterful place, good food and nice bar with good ales to spend evening in. Will come again when in area - for eats even if not staying over.

Reviewed by
angie w

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We were made to feel very welcome, room was lovely, food superb, a lovely break.

Reviewed by
D Freeman

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight sleep on route home from france
we booked this, for our return trip..as a stopover on route home, we found it easy enough area does not look inviting. but glad we booked. as we are both coach drivers we have stayed in some good & bad hotels etc. this one is amongst the top range, we both had a meal at night there. we could not fault the food it was excellent. hospitality from everyone drinking & eating there was good & felt a good atmosphere. breakfast was freshly cooked & again excellent, we will be staying again next month...

Reviewed by
p rose

From Pulborough, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice B&B, about 12 minutes walk from Canterbury town centre, so very convenient. Good value, quaint room, friendly service, laid-back vibe, and good food. The pub garden is lovely. Would stay there again. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Sarah D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
I have just enjoyed two weeks here and having experienced other similar levels of accommodation in the area I can assure you all that you won't regret choosing the King's Head. Very convenient for the city, off-road parking, great food, exactly what you want for breakfast at exactly the time you want it...all-in-all definitely great value...I make the 2week trip twice a year so will definitely book here from now on....Thanks to Ena and Mike

Reviewed by
peter overton

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely no nonsense B&B. A cosy pub offering great food and comfortable clean accommodation. We were made to feel very welcome and look forward to visiting again. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Belinda L

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very cosy, clean, peaceful (despite being on a mainish road and part of a pub) and friendly. The only thing I would change would be not having to decide what you want for breakfast the day before.

Reviewed by
Caroline K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next