No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Head Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
204 Wincheap, Canterbury, CT1 3RY
The King's Head is a traditional friendly 15th century oak beamed inn situated in the historic city of Canterbury offering a licensed bar, food and en-suite bed and breakfast facilities. We are conveniently situated and within easy walking distance to the city centre and Cathedral.
In addition to the Cathedral Canterbury is home to Universities and Kent County Cricket Club, the St Lawrence ground is approximately one mile away.
Four real ales are available in the bar and we are listed in the 2013 CAMRA Good Beer Guide and the 2007 CAMRA Beer, Bed and Breakfast Guide. In the relaxing bar you will find exposed beams and pub games including darts, bar billiards and a range of board games. The attractive garden plays host to the Kentish game of Bat & Trap during the summer months and also has a substantial heated smoking area.
A wide range of bar snacks and meals are available evenings and weekend lunchtimes either in the bar or separate dining room.
The cosy bedrooms, which have exposed beams, are all en-suite with a shower and toilet. All rooms have a flat screen colour television with Freesat, tea/coffee making facilities, fan and hair dryer. In addition to central heating rooms have an electric fan heater. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Fee car parking is available on our driveway at the side of the inn. Alternatively there is public pay car park 30 metres away.
Picture of Kings Head Inn, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay a lot.Friendly and very helpful bar staff,enjoyed meeting the owners who provided a lovely breakfast.The Inn is situated about 15 mins walk from Canterbury but there is a bus stop a short walk away.

Reviewed by
Una B

From Cranbrook, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

back to the 15th century
A sense of medieval times, friendly and hospitable hosts. Great first impression

Reviewed by
Olufemi O

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and friendly
We stayed in room 1, full of character with exposed wooden beams.
Comfortable bed, old fashioned TV that relied on a digital receiver and the sound kept disappearing..... I've sent better to the tip.
The bathroom was very small and had a sloping ceiling that made life interesting.
BUT, having pointed out some of the downsides, it was clean and the staff very friendly. The breakfast was good with very large portions.
Only a 5 to 10 minute walk into the heart of Canterbury........... Depending on how many shops you look at on the way.
And the $64,000 question would we stay hear again ......Yes, we would, we had a nice stay and although we have stayed in larger and better rooms, we were made to feel very welcome and it will be our first choice when we come back to Canterbury.

Reviewed by
Eddie Baines

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spot On!
Great value Pub B&B, Great Breakfast, Lovely room and friendly staff. Great location for centre of Canterbury. Will be back

Reviewed by
Tony Smith

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
Close to City Centre - 10 mins brisk walk so very handy. Rooms compact but clean. Ensuite bathroom too small had to angle oneself to use sink!! Inn is on a very busy road and the noise meant we were unable to get a decent nights sleep. The room was very warm so we had to keep the window ajar so maybe if the window was closed the noise might have been less..not convinced tho!
Excellent large choice for breakfast - cooked to order. Breakfast./restaurant room small and dated. No chef currently so no evening meals available so cannot comment.

Reviewed by
A Pascoe

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canterbury weekender
As it's such an old Inn (15th Century) the rooms, especially the on-suite, are on the smaller side, but more than ample for average size people. The couple that run it are very friendly & helpful. The locals in the public bar are very welcoming - all in all a lovely place to stay. Within easy walking distance of the town - park your car in the reasonably priced nearby (50yds) pay&display car park, and enjoy the walk. Bus stop close by also.............................................................

Reviewed by
ANDY MEIKLE

From BEXLEYHEATH, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice room & excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
A Donaldson

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff we're very pleasant and helpful. Clean comfortable olde worlde room with everything in the room that you might need for a short stay. Good breakfast selection, quality and quantity. Very good value for money, and would definitely stay there again. Recommended.

Reviewed by
A Jackson

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay in Canterbury
We received a warm welcome when we arrived and were shown to a nice room where we enjoyed a very comfortable stay. The breakfast in the morning was lovely the only thing I would change would be for breakfast to be offered later than the 8am-9am time as it is the weekend.

Reviewed by
Mark D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good nights sleep

Reviewed by
a warner

From hull, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next