No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Head Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
204 Wincheap, Canterbury, CT1 3RY
The King's Head is a traditional friendly 15th century oak beamed inn situated in the historic city of Canterbury offering a licensed bar, food and en-suite bed and breakfast facilities. We are conveniently situated and within easy walking distance to the city centre and Cathedral.
In addition to the Cathedral Canterbury is home to Universities and Kent County Cricket Club, the St Lawrence ground is approximately one mile away.
Four real ales are available in the bar and we are listed in the 2013 CAMRA Good Beer Guide and the 2007 CAMRA Beer, Bed and Breakfast Guide. In the relaxing bar you will find exposed beams and pub games including darts, bar billiards and a range of board games. The attractive garden plays host to the Kentish game of Bat & Trap during the summer months and also has a substantial heated smoking area.
A wide range of bar snacks and meals are available evenings and weekend lunchtimes either in the bar or separate dining room.
The cosy bedrooms, which have exposed beams, are all en-suite with a shower and toilet. All rooms have a flat screen colour television with Freesat, tea/coffee making facilities, fan and hair dryer. In addition to central heating rooms have an electric fan heater. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Fee car parking is available on our driveway at the side of the inn. Alternatively there is public pay car park 30 metres away.
Picture of Kings Head Inn, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Pleasant room, with tea/coffee making facilities and even a razor incase you forgot your own. Small but nice room, tv and a iPod docking station. Good breakfast. Thanks

Reviewed by
Charlotte C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly welcome and service; rooms small as can be expected in such an old building, however nice and cosy !

Reviewed by
Frank M

From Germany
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home could not have asked for any-thing better

Reviewed by
Dennis M

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We needed to have a base close to Canterbury, where our son was graduating. The king's Head was ideal - friendly, clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
A Fothergill

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky in so many ways and great value
The breakfast of your choice cooked to order and one of the very best. Room compact but has everything one needs all spotlessly clean.
We had the added bonus of watching a game called bat and trap on the pitch outside and learnt a new sport.

Reviewed by
Stephen Jones

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice B&B
Beautiful old pub - nice room/ great breakfast

Reviewed by
Richard H

From West Wickham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, value for money B&B with great food and real ales
We really enjoyed our stay overnight at the Kings Head. It is spotlessly clean, and the room although small, had everything you could need and more - some thoughtful touches such as a better range of toiletries etc, plenty of tea, coffee, milk, hot chocolate and biscuits, extra pillows, etc etc. we stayed on a Thursday night which is curry night, we had an excellent curry with a free pint of beer ( or any other drink) for £7.99 which is pretty good value. The staff are friendly and helpful. Parking is just a few yards away in a pay and display

Reviewed by
Jan H

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home

Reviewed by
Jean M

From Fleetwood, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, comfortable & relaxing - a really nice place to stay
Nothing but good things to say about The Kings Head Inn - friendly, helpful staff, comfortable, well appointed room, fantastic food & a real cosy community feel in the bar. Very convenient for the centre of Canterbury too. I'd definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Rhys Parry

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. It overlooked the busy A28 road but road noise was not intrusive but ear plugs are provided if required. Downstairs, the pub is lovely and the locals and staff are a friendly crowd. Breakfast is well cooked, with plenty of choice and ordered the night before. Bar meals in the evening were very good and very reasonably priced. Parking available at the side of the building but was a bit tight.
If we are in the area again we would not consider staying anywhere else.

Reviewed by
D Morgan

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next