No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Churchill Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
65 Bootham, York, YO30 7DQ
A luxurious, privately owned hotel situated in it's own grounds in York city centre.

The Churchill Hotel is a superbly converted Georgian residence retaining many of it's original features and characteristics yet we have been sympathetically extended and lavishly refurbished to provide the comforts and facilities demanded by the discerning traveller.

We offer our guests extremely comfortable, stylish bedrooms, all of which have modern en-suite facilities.

Our Piano Bar and restaurant combine the historic with the contemporary and are relaxing areas in which to enjoy a pre dinner drink then a superb meal from our locally sourced menu.

At the heart of the building is the atrium with it's stunning, original, cantilever staircase, and equally amazing bookcase. Here you can put your feet up with a good book or keep in touch on the hidden computers provided for your use.

We also provide disabled access, facilities & a suitably equipped bedroom. We have lift access to 24 of our 32 bedrooms. You can make use of complementary Wifi access. All bedrooms are no smoking. There is car parking on site at a cost of £10.00 per car per night.

Picture of The Churchill Hotel  , York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bootham breaks
1 Friendly and helpful staff
2 Unusual decor. A brave choice of colours but it works.
3 Bedroom [112] on the small side. Well equipped and comfortable
4 No residents lounge. A small bedroom is tolerable if there is a comfortable lounge available. The bar seating and lighting is not suitable for this purpose.

Reviewed by
Robin Nelson

From Troon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
We have just returned from a short 1 night stay in York and are glad we picked the Churchill for our stay. All the staff where great and nothing seemed to much trouble right from our arrival to departure. We took along our little dog and as soon as we arrived they made sure she had cold water to drink as it quite a warm day. They also asked if we wanted her to come to breakfast they would open the bar area and set a table for us there as she's not allowed in dining area. Room was nice with 4 poster bed ,bathroom had a great power shower. My wife smokes and she found Churchills bunker to be the smartest smoking area she has been in. All in all I would recommend Churchills for a short stay, it is also only a short 5 mins walk to the heart of the city and the Minster.

Reviewed by
A Arrowsmith

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location of hotel, perfect walking distance to cathedral and bars etc. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect with a large bathroom and four poster bed with plenty of extra room and lovely and clean. Would recommend and stay again, only downside was extra charge for parking.

Reviewed by
ashley h

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely loved our stay at the churchill, our room was beautiful and spotless, would definately recommend it and come again

Reviewed by
Gill Kelly

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and basic
The hotel is in a good location and can walk into York within 10 minutes. The only downside to the hotel is I think it's very expensive for a 3 star hotel. I booked via late rooms and it was still over £100.

Reviewed by
D Hutchinson

From West Yorkshire, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel great location
Great location 5 minutes walk into the city. Free parking which is bonus as must city hotels charge these days. Staff polite & helpful. Only booked a standard room although not a large was more than happy with it.Clean & modern comfy bed. What more do you want will stay again.

Reviewed by
A Castle

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel but small room
We loved the Churchill hotel - fabulous building, superb decor, great location with free parking. Easy to stroll into the centre of York. Our only beef would be the size of our room. It really was tiny - like a ships cabin. A larger built person would have great difficulty manouvering down my side of the bed - it was a mere foot wide! It was billed as an executive double room - we expected something more spacious. Having said that the bathroom and decor are lovely. Great lighting too which is important to me! Staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast very nice in a pleasant dining room. Only other niggle was that they stopped serving breakfast at 9.30am which I think is a little early when on holiday!

Reviewed by
Jo W

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dishonest and Misleading
We booked two 'Executive' rooms for ourselves and friends. Very disappointed on arrival to find out these were in fact ‘Standard’ rooms; they were small, had only a single chair for sitting on and a small
TV with no working Teletext. I have worked across the UK for several years staying in a range of hotels and had certainly expected something above average for a room with an 'Executive' title: this description is both dishonest and misleading! To compound the situation further our room was very cold throughout our stay, despite being told the temperature had been 'lifted' by Reception. The bathroom was clean but the shower was of little use.
Location is good and staffs were friendly but very unlikely to stay again or recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
R Przystupa

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasurable experience
A nice clean hotel in the centre of York. A bit disappointing to not be able to book in earlier.
Room was very clean, nice modern bathroom / shower to die for :) the dab radio in our room didn't work but other than that no complaints.

Reviewed by
Philip N

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is a frendly plesant hotel

Reviewed by
michael sturman

From Mablethorpe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next