Reviews - The Churchill Hotel

3

65 Bootham, York, YO30 7DQ

Price From 151.84 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

69% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • V Dalton

  • December 2015

Nice property

Good value for money , breakfast really good and served in lovely surroundings Only issue was car park was full during stay .

  • elizabeth c

  • November 2015

Disappointing

Room 109 was pokey and smelt of damp.

The DAB radio couldn't pick up any station. The shower although it looked impressive was lacking power and adjustment. As we were only there for one night we didn't complain but mentioned to reception that the room was very small and was told all the double rooms are the same size!!. You need to stay in a better room to make this acceptable but then the cost would be too much. We also queried about the parking charges as there is no mention of charges on Churchill's own website, we were told if you book direct there is no charge and yet there is a sign in the car park stating there is a £10 charge, strange. The only saving grace was the breakfast which was very good, however if you are on a B & B rate you can only have the continental + Full English, this means no cereal just toast/croissant and a cooked meal.

  • neil hodge

  • November 2015

City break

Hotel was exactly what we hoped for, perfect from walking into reception to being shown to our room, would definitely recommend

  • D McCallum

  • September 2015

  • P Brightcliffe

  • August 2015

Just that £10.00 per night expensive for parking

  • Katie B

  • April 2015

The Churchill Hotel

Unique, Qwerky but Classy !

  • J Knight

  • April 2015

Great hotel would recommend highly!

The Churchill Hotel is a great hotel based just outside the hustle and bustle of York life.

Its an easy 5 minute walk into the town, making it a great base to get to all the attractions. The hotel itself is clean, pleasantly furnished and very accommodating. The room itself, whilst being small, is cosy and kept to a high standard. The downside with the room was the temperature. It was extremely warm and not the easiest room to air. However that being said I would greatly recommend the Churchill to stay. Where this Hotel I believe excels is the quality of food in the restaurant. The restaurant serves fantastic meals and for what you get, I believe the prices are pretty reasonable.

  • Susan Porter

  • March 2015

Staff

The staff were excellent.

Kind, welcoming, helpful and professional.

  • S Liddle

  • February 2015

Over priced

We spent the weekend at the Churchill, the staff are very friendly and efficient.

Price wise for the room we felt was to high, the rooms are very modern but the up keep of them is very poor. We were also a bit surprised that we were charged £10 per night for parking, the parking area was totally private to the hotel so we could not see why this was extra. The two nights with parking was £290 without breakfast. Very over priced. Had we booked direct with hotel it would of been over £100 more and the only bonus would have been free parking. The room was very small as well, over all we were dissapointed.

  • Deborah P

  • January 2015

A mixed bag

Stayed for one night only with my son who had an interview in York.

The hotel was very clean and in a good location - an easy walk into the centre of the city. These were two of my priorities when finding somewhere to stay for this visit. The beds were also very comfortable. However, we arrived late at night. and had our stay been any longer or if we had arrived earlier, I would have insisted on moving to another room. as there was an overwhelming smell of drains in the room (117) which was really unpleasant.

The only food on offer at that time were sandwiches through room service. These were basic, with the ciabatta bread offered on the menu not available, The continental breakfast buffet was quite generous and the staff on duty in the restaurant that morning were very friendly. We were not asked how our stay had been on checkout and a difference in the information we were given by reception staff over how long our car could remain in the car park was our parting impression of the hotel.