No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Greyhound Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Staple Fitzpaine, Taunton, TA3 5SP
A 16th century Coaching Inn nestled under the Blackdown Hills,an area of outstanding natural beauty,offering a superb rural setting,yet centrally located just 4 miles south of Taunton and the M5 and within easy reach of both the north and south coasts of Somerset and Devon.
Interconecting flagstone bars with open fires offer a warm welcome and a perfect setting to enjoy our award winning ales.
The use of fresh local produce which is in abundance comes together to form our seasonal menu that echos the individuality of the inn.
Picture of The Greyhound Inn, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Very good find at short notice. Friendly staff. Good food. Busy restaurant. Good location with ease of access to major roads.

Reviewed by
Amanda H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel with very friendly staff. The food in the restaurant was very nice.

Reviewed by
J Rees

From Meinciau Kidwelly, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, relaxed stay with excellent food. Very good value.

Reviewed by
M Crawford

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July 2014
Stayed several nights.
Traditional Inn situated in quiet village
Friendly helpful staff.
Old fashioned décor in large room.
5 miles from Taunton avoiding busy roads.
Recommended

Reviewed by
M S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place - Great Experience
What a fab place ! - couldn't fault anything ! A real gem. We will definately be back ! - already thinking of booking for a few weeks time.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect choice for our needs
We wanted to get away for the weekend. Somewhere rural but not too far away from things to do as well as somewhere to sit and chill. The greyhound was all of this and more. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. They went the extra mile with little touches which may not seem much but added to our stay and that were very welcome. Breakfast was excellent and comprehensive, we also ate at the greyhound twice during our 3 night stay. Good food, reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
R Whittaker

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient Stay!
We stayed here as we were attending a concert close by. Pleasant stay and staff were helpful and friendly. Thank you.

Reviewed by
S Drew

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rod Stewart 2 day break
Great location, wonderful room, fantastic food, would recommend to anyone.
This is a little gem, book with confidence!

Reviewed by
RUSSELL S

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely One Night Stay
We stayed at the Greyhound on 7th June 2014. It was only a one night stay. The area was lovely and the inn was a pleasure. The room was acceptable - although could have done with a good dust. The steak we enjoyed at dinner was one of the best we had tasted in a long time - the only thing that let it done for us was the frozen chips, onion rings etc. We also thought breakfast was served between 8.30 - 9.30 on Sunday and then told it was 8.00 - 9.00. Bit early for a Sunday but the excellent breakfast made up for the early start.

Reviewed by
L Beake

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay in lovely countryside
Friendly staff; comfortable room with plenty of wardrobe space and bottled water; excellent food and service despite a full restaurant.

Reviewed by
Rita P

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next