No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Greyhound Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Staple Fitzpaine, Taunton, TA3 5SP
A 16th century Coaching Inn nestled under the Blackdown Hills,an area of outstanding natural beauty,offering a superb rural setting,yet centrally located just 4 miles south of Taunton and the M5 and within easy reach of both the north and south coasts of Somerset and Devon.
Interconecting flagstone bars with open fires offer a warm welcome and a perfect setting to enjoy our award winning ales.
The use of fresh local produce which is in abundance comes together to form our seasonal menu that echos the individuality of the inn.
Picture of The Greyhound Inn, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night at the Greyhound Inn
Extremely good value for money, The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. Food and drink excellent. Much better than the modern plastic palaces. An inn with character.

Reviewed by
John B

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked in ignorance and it turned out really well for us. No real faults to find.

Reviewed by
D Jones

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very nice stay ,food good very nice

Reviewed by
Anne Warren

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed one night but wish i could have stayed longer .First class friendly service great food and great beer.in this area it should not be missed.

Reviewed by
i blake

From inverness, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round
I stayed at the Greyhound for one night, during a business trip to the South West.
I'm glad I did! I could not fault it in any way. A lovely countryside setting, very comfortable spacious room, excellent food, a great selection of real ales and friendly staff.
I won't hesitate in stopping there again!

Reviewed by
Ian Fairfax

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Place
Great traditional pub. Excellent food, good ales, log fire, fantastic breakfast, very good room and en-suite, and very friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
steve h

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

things that go bump in the night
All in all the experience at the greyhound was V Good and I had no problems with our stay, the location was good and the walk we had on Sunday morning was beautiful with the sound of the church bells ringing in our ears, we stayed in room 3 above the bar and no noise was incurred from the drinkers, my only comment is don’t read the room information pack before retiring, as to be told that the place is haunted by a male ghost who visit’s and to be told bedroom 3 especially is not what you want to hear ,so having read that piece of information I had a restless night dreaming about ghosts and other such hallucinating dreams, never the less I would go again but staying at room 1 or 2 will be my preference ,happy ghost busting.

Reviewed by
Ronald C

From London, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night bike stand
Arrived on motorbike in the dark. Instant attention on entry - wondered if was because I looked untidy in bike gear? Probably not cos good service throughout. Nice room. Good dinner. Slept well. They gave me breakfast at 0800 on Sunday as I wanted to get on my way early ( normal Sunday breakfast from 0830). Nicely cooked breakfast on warm plate. The Greyhound is more of a restaurant really - the bar is relatively small and had only 2 customers when I was there. But still would be comfortable if you wanted to go there for a few beers. Staff / landlord / landlady attentive but not intrusive. If you need to use mobile phone go to top end of car park. My 1 night stay including dinner (2 courses and coffee) and bottle of Rioja cost £100. Not cheap but have paid much more for much less. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Harry G

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great country inn with lovely food

Reviewed by
Ruth G

From Ashby De La Zouch, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3