No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Londesborough Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
MARKET PLACE , SELBY, YO8 4NS
The Londesborough Hotel is superbly situated in the centre of the market town of Selby. perfrct for business or pleasure; for trips into the Vale of York, the City of York, or just a touring base around the local area.

We have 24 budget rooms, all en-suite with TV/DVD, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a car park to the rear of the property which is free of charge.

We are part of a major high street pub company, and offer an excellent value menu, with meals and snacks to suit every taste, along with an excellent range of beers, wines and spirits.

Picture of Londesborough Hotel, SELBY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute jaunt
Happy enough with the setting of the little town of Selby. Helpful staff who recommended a fantastic Italian steps away from the hotel. We stayed as a prelude to a York trip. Dated styling and windows are not double glazed so we were woken up a few times with the Saturday night crowds. Would return again when in Selby but on a quieter night.

Reviewed by
R Gill

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hmmmmm.......
A friend and I were looking for somewhere to stay for one night as we were attending a gig at Selby Town Hall and the Londesborough Hotel seemed to Be the only option in the town. Location was great and the hotel is a lovely building but is very tired and actually, quite scruffy. Our family room was on the top floor and was very spacious with comfy beds but old fashioned with very scuffed pine furniture. The bathroom was very dated too with chipped tiles and a stained toilet. There was no hairdryer. Our room faced the market square and was very noisy until nearly 4am, including someone hammering on the front doors. To be fair, we were out til 3am so wasn't a big problem but could be for other guests. Breakfast wasn't included and was a strange affair, where you order from the pub menu at the bar. So we ate our breakfast sat in the pub bar with hard core locals drinking pints at 9am. The breakfast was very good, but maybe a little area could be set aside for hotel guests' breakfasts.
Staff were pleasant and friendly.

Reviewed by
Michele T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap low star
Cheap and cheerful but very noisy. Did not sleep all night as there was fighting, shouting, loud music till 4am. We were so tired in the morning,we couldn't even wait for breakfast. Check in is 3pm and check out 11am so you don't even get 24hrs stay. If you want to relax, it is not the place for you. The linen had the odour of sweat though the room is tidy. Basic facilities are there, albeit a little shody. But then it is more of a pub than a B&B.

Reviewed by
Olufemi O

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It wasn't great! Insider the hotel is a bit run down and dirty.
Throughout the night there was noise, music, fighting, shouting from the pub inside the hotel.
The room was so basic and generally run down.

Reviewed by
Kerry F

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When I arrived an went to pay the card machine didn't work so was asked to pay cash.the cold welcome from the bar staff.and the over all state of the rooms wasn't the standard you would expect from a travelodge.

Reviewed by
Ian Mitchell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'll Be Back !!

Reviewed by
trevor w

From Llandrindod Wells, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very noisy
We arrived at 6.30 pm to be told that my 16 year old son would have to leave the restaurant by 8 pm presumably because of restrictions on the license. We were also told that there was a night club on and it would be noisy. The bathroom was not very clean and the shower leaked on the floor. The TV was not easy to use and we had to call for assistance to get it to work. The toilet took ages to refill with water. The window was very heavy and held open by a piece of wood. From 9
pm onwards there was loud music playing and there was noise coming from outside the window. This continued until the early hours.

Reviewed by
Mick B

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient place to stay

Reviewed by
Trevor R

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel
requires updating

Reviewed by
roger b

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location
Right next to the Abbey in the Market Square, easy to find. Close enough to walk from train station.
Great choice of menu in the pub, good value, good food.
Room was adequate and quiet (round the back).
I didn't pay/eat breakfast as was told that they didn't serve until 8 am, which in my opinion is too late? For business workers... breakfast should start at the latest 7 am. However, being close to shops... I bought my own in advance, so was OK.

Reviewed by
Trevor R

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next