No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our two-night stay to visit elderly Aunt in Care Home
We received a lovely welcome from staff and was impressed with the effort to festively decorate the hotel. Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
S Rudland

From Hoddesdon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great relaxing break
The staff are pleasant and helpful, the room was very large, with comfortable beds.The breakfast was well presented and there was a large choice as well as a cooked breakfast on offer.Terrific value for money.We felt very calm and relaxed during our stay. Will go there again.

Reviewed by
D Weller

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay with very welcoming staff
Lovely hotel,very good customer service and excellent breakfast. Value for money. Only criticism would be furnishings are old style not so much of a problem but cracked basin in bathroom and quite a few areas need some repairs. Maybe bar could extend it's range.
Would still recommend.

Reviewed by
L Woods

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BETTER THAN BEFORE
Stayed here previously and apart from the bedroom looking a little 'tired' we experienced good service, etc. This stay was better than before as the bedroom was a lot nicer this time (was on the car park side of the building) and we got a special price for last minute booking so all in all a most enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
M Fielder

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
The welcome and friendliness of staff was great. The food was good, but we would have liked the dinner menu to have been changed during our stay as the choice was limited. We would not fault the breakfasts. Although the downstairs lounge was warm and welcoming, there was poor service in the bar area. The bedroom decoration was "tired", and don't expect a power shower if you stay here. However, there was a good supply of hot water! All basics were available, and we did enjoy our long weekend here.

Reviewed by
Judith H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Value for money. Beautiful location.

Reviewed by
Yvonne Wilkins

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked this room as a last minute booking as we were looking for the cheapest, it was significantly reduced by about £80, me and the other half agreed we wouldn't ever pay £130 for it. Needs modernising desperately.

Reviewed by
S Moore

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
A lovely spacious hotel in a great location with very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Colin W

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conveniant Location
Hotel is pleasant and in a good location for visiting Lymington and the New Forest

Reviewed by
C West

From Tintagel, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Human and dog friendly!
There was a very friendly welcome for both us and indeed also our dog. The room was spacious and the breakfast plentiful, well-cooked and providing plenty of variety. The furnishings, fixtures and fittings are a little jaded and needing modernising - the dripping shower head, avocado bathroom fittings, and tired wallpaper being examples. But that is probably nit-picking, and notwithstanding the tough economic times I gather that refurbishment is underway. So while the feel was slightly retro everything was nonetheless spotlessly clean. It would help, though, if extra milk cartons could be available for tea-making at all times. Overall we enjoyed a most comfortable and pleasant night`s stay, and we would definitely return as well as recommend to others - dog owners especially. Our thanks to all the staff.

Reviewed by
Mark Burrows

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next