No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 105 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel with large rooms and good restaurant,decor a little tired but in the process of being updated.plenty of car parking and good views of the country side.convenient for the coast and the new forest, national motor museum.

Reviewed by
T Stratford

From High Wycombe, England
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky
Very pretty looking hotel, but rooms are a bit dated. Our shower had very little water pressure and was pretty useless but everything else was ok.

Reviewed by
Robert G

From Chessington, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Family Hotel in Pleasing & Pleasant Surroundings
Great place to stay, friendly staff, large well appointed & bedrooms that are clean and well presented. The hotel has gone to a lot of trouble to serve a really nice breakfast, and guests are spoilt for choice.
There is a comfortable lounge and circulating area, containing several cosy nooks; the hotel offers a spacious dining room, with attentive service and nicely laid tables. It was a pleasure to come down to breakfast there in the morning.
Good secure, off-road car parking and the hotel building has an old and charming style of architecture. Most importantly the rooms are reasonably priced and value for money. It was clear that the hotel staff put their guests first and foremost!
I enjoyed my three nights stay there, very much indeed, and highly recommend this hotel.
Nigel Callaghan

Reviewed by
Nigel Callaghan

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying near to Hurst Castle
The South Lawns is ideally suited if one is visiting Hurst Castle and is located very near to Milford on Sea with its many facilities when one is not actually visiting the Castle
Very ecomnomically priced for a Hotel and therefore very comparable or even cheaper than B&Bs in Milford on Sea

Reviewed by
Keith Morton

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a brilliant hotel
This place is extraordinary. HUGE bedroom and also a large bathroom. View over immaculate garden. Very friendly and professional service and delicious and generous breakfasts. A five star experience for the price an ordinary B & B. It's not often you get a genuine bargain, but here's one.

Reviewed by
Charles F

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
very pleasant, nice room, good view. Only criticism was that when we arrived, member of staff on reception desk simply ignored us - carried on working on computer, didn't even look up to say hello. Apart from that, all good

Reviewed by
mark nicholls

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome on arrival, nothing seemed to much, great meal in the eve and lots of choice for breakfast. A lovely spacious room, may not be very modern but that added to the character of the place.

Reviewed by
Donna L

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great peaceful hotel with large bright airy rooms in a fab location
The room was bright airy and spacious overlooking farmland, close to Lymington and Milford-On-Sea. Hotels in this area tend to be expensive, and usually poor quality. I have worked in Lymington regulary and wish I had found this place before. It is so quiet, and perfect for business or pleasure. Staff were very friendly, and the place very clean and homely.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Leppard

From Gloucester, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
Having read a review on line about this hotel saying it was 'tired' and with not too many other positives about it we were pleasantly surprised. We went there thinking 'Oh well, it's somewhere we can lay our head and was convenient between two 'ports of call'. However, we found the staff were very friendly and efficient and obviously enjoyed the work they were doing; giving a great service into the bargain. The room was very pretty and if 'tired' came into it this only served to enhance the overall quaintness of the place. The grounds were beautifully kept and the view from our room on one side looked over the low impact car park allowing us to see the car at anytime and the other looked out over fields with sheep and horses, as well as the sight and sound of many wild birds including pheasant and woodpeckers which provided such a pleasantly natural and delightful vista. The food was wonderful and the service excellent. The tables are nicely sized and not squeezed as so many are today and looked out onto the gardens giving an all round very pleasant experience. We loved it. Give it a try as so very reasonable with the prices of a 'Late rooms' booking.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely country house style hotel
The staff were friendly, the hotel was warm and welcoming. Unfortunately the only problem was the overwhelming smell of new paint and your receptionist did apologise for that when we first arrived, Other than that it was excellent.

Reviewed by
E Woolford

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next