No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It could be so much better!
One member of staff was good; two were so shy they struggled to offer service; the rest were poor.
The room was large and clean but cheaply furnished. The food is poor. The bar rarely functioning.
This hotel could be so much better

Reviewed by
C Gibbs

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General comment
Excelent accommodation staff very helpfull and food very good and a very lovely location for a nice break and I would go again you can be sure of that.Thank.
Frank Tracey

Reviewed by
Frank Tracey

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room needed good clean and updating, both sinks in bathroom cracked, toilet area grubby , all felt tired and rundown.

Reviewed by
M Bell

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
We had a very pleasant stay.
The room was quite large and comfortable, but it was very hot when we stayed and it could have done with a fan if not air con. Also for such a large room the TV was quite small making it difficult to watch while lying on the bed. The food was first class, we had dinner each night and every time it was spot on as was the breakfast's. The only thing missing which was a bit odd in this day and age was that there was no Wi-Fi. For us this was not too much of a problem as it was nice to get away from the internet for a while, but as the hotel is aimed at business people and conference's as well as individual stays, this could be a problem. Overall I would recommended it and we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Beaworthy, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend retreat
Nicely positioned hotel, very quiet, a 20-25 minute walk to the sea depending on how mobile you are. Rooms have a nice aspect and staff are accommodating to your needs.
For our room, I noticed the vacuum cleaner did not reach behind the settee etc. . Having said that the beds were very comfortable and the linen nice and clean.
I enjoyed my stay and would book again for a quiet time away as this is exactly what you get.!

Reviewed by
g evans

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding hotel in beautiful lidealic Location
Very impressive from the moment you drive through the main gates, The Hotel and grounds excellent sized rooms with large bed and overlooking well kept grounds, very pleasant and polite English speaking staff who are there to please..
The food wsa excellent and servede in perfect surroundings,
I look forward to a repeat visit

Reviewed by
M Hurcombe

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice room
Good standard hotel.Good value for money.Restaurant food not great but breakfast was exellent.we tend to stay in hotels for quality of food and thats what we judge on as to wether to return

Reviewed by
david o

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
The hotel had good facilities for dining inside or out if the weather will allow. The breakfasts were excellent. The location and gardens were very relaxing. We will return in the future.

Reviewed by
A Collins

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very confortable room
We stayed 2 nights at South Lawn Hotel. The room is very spacious and have plenty of drawers to put your clothes. It is a pity the hotel does not have wifi and the shower was too low and takes ages for the water to heat up, also the tv is very small for the size of the room, apart from that everything else was brilliant. The nearest beach is about 15 minutes walking and the hotel gardens are very nice.

Reviewed by
M Duckworth

From Middlesex, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 26 A good sized twin
Room 26 A good sized twin with a small seating area. Hotel generally quite dated but clean in all public areas. Only able to score 1 for cleanliness of room 26 as the toilet floor has an issue with impregnated urine. Saying that the receptionist did thoroughly re clean our toilet and did a great job, but the smell returned in a few hours. We were offered a room change at 6.00pm on our last night (four night stay) but as we were on our way out and due home late we weren't able to switch rooms, the hotel was fully booked prior to this so a room change wasn't possible. The smell was terrible and made us feel unclean using the toilet and shoes were essential. The bed linen was spotless and the rest of the room was very clean. The bathroom though dated and advocado green was spotless and fresh, with a great shower flow. The taps didn't work to fill the bath but I managed to fill it up very quickly via the shower. One day room service forgot to make our beds but the tea tray was refreshed. The gardens are really well kept and lovely to relax in. We took our dog and he was made very welcome. Breakfast provided a good selection and I especially enjoyed the porridge and then the bacon waffle, American style. We found most staff very helpful but one of the male receptionists seemed to not understand us and was quite blunt rather than polite and helpful, but I don't feel this was on purpose, rather a unique character. We did not have any extra meals. We did want to use the games but found them to be very sticky and dirty and the dominoes, draughts and connect four were broken/incomplete....they need binning they were revolting. For the price we paid it would of been good value, but the smelly toilet did spoil our stay as it did waft around the room every time the door was opened. With some investment this hotel would be fantastic, it's a superb location near to the beaches of mudeford and to the new forest. Not a place to honeymoon at the moment but for a short stay its more than adequate. We were at the back of the building and the room next to us had doors opening out onto the garden, i would recommend upgrading to this style room as you would have direct access to the garden tables. i Would have given a 5 for cleanliness but for our rather unpleasant issues! A real shame. The place does have a lovely vibe.

Reviewed by
T Gurd

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next