No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 114 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outdated
Decor is very outdated and room could have done with an iron. The double sink was lovely and the bed was very clean and comfy, breakfast was nice and the staff were faultless, overall our stay was pleasent.

Reviewed by
C Frost

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay at South Lawn
We have stayed at South Lawn on a few occasions as it is in close proximity to where our family live. We always enjoy staying there, the room is always clean and comfortable and the service is good. If I had one criticism it would be that the lounge/bar area resembles an old people's home and could do with smartening up but apart from that I always enjoy staying there and will go again. It is within easy reach of Lymington, Milford on Sea, New Milton, Christchurch, Bournemouth and Southampton not to mention the beautiful New Forest.

Reviewed by
M Sullivan

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TLC needed!
Generally this was an excellent place for our needs. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.We ate in the restaurant the first evening. Food and service were very good ,even if the food was a little on the pricey side. The room we were allocated was very spacious,as were the en-suite facilities. Both were very clean.However, the decor was tired. A coat of paint would make a huge difference. Having said that we would stay again as the location was great for a base to explore further a field-or even to visit the local beach!

Reviewed by
B Bullock

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful surroundings
lovely hotel,lovely surroundings,very peaceful,not far from village,not enough milk in rooms ,so i had to buy a pint,but that was no problem,and a queen size bed,lovely

Reviewed by
s roberts

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.dining comment
Hotel comfortable, nicely appointed and staff helpful. However restaurant service was far too rushed, had hardly sat in lounge .with pre dinner drink than order taken and asked to go to table - 1/2 hour before table booked. Meal pleasant but one course followed another far too fast despite asking for a rest between courses. Plate cleared before my husband had finished his meal. Not a relaxing experience when on holiday.

Reviewed by
jacqueline s

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It could be so much better!
One member of staff was good; two were so shy they struggled to offer service; the rest were poor.
The room was large and clean but cheaply furnished. The food is poor. The bar rarely functioning.
This hotel could be so much better

Reviewed by
C Gibbs

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General comment
Excelent accommodation staff very helpfull and food very good and a very lovely location for a nice break and I would go again you can be sure of that.Thank.
Frank Tracey

Reviewed by
Frank Tracey

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room needed good clean and updating, both sinks in bathroom cracked, toilet area grubby , all felt tired and rundown.

Reviewed by
M Bell

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
We had a very pleasant stay.
The room was quite large and comfortable, but it was very hot when we stayed and it could have done with a fan if not air con. Also for such a large room the TV was quite small making it difficult to watch while lying on the bed. The food was first class, we had dinner each night and every time it was spot on as was the breakfast's. The only thing missing which was a bit odd in this day and age was that there was no Wi-Fi. For us this was not too much of a problem as it was nice to get away from the internet for a while, but as the hotel is aimed at business people and conference's as well as individual stays, this could be a problem. Overall I would recommended it and we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Beaworthy, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend retreat
Nicely positioned hotel, very quiet, a 20-25 minute walk to the sea depending on how mobile you are. Rooms have a nice aspect and staff are accommodating to your needs.
For our room, I noticed the vacuum cleaner did not reach behind the settee etc. . Having said that the beds were very comfortable and the linen nice and clean.
I enjoyed my stay and would book again for a quiet time away as this is exactly what you get.!

Reviewed by
g evans

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next