No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff where really helpful from the time we arrived until we left, the breakfast menu was a good range and the food well prepared

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel setting was delightful. The building has considerable charm but needs modernising to compete with current standards. The staff were very helpful but somewhat thin on the ground at times. The food was good, freshly cooked and well presented. The room was dated but comfortable.

Reviewed by
Anthony C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Autumn break
Ideally situated for the New forest this hotel is very comfortable,although a little dated .The staff were all friendly and the food we had was excellent.

Reviewed by
b knight

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant and Relaxing
Nice little old style hotel, good hearty english breakfast, but some of the decor looking slightly tired.
However a nice enjoyable relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
P Barrows

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old world charm
The hotel is pretty with lovely garden area and coupled with HUGE rooms is a great place for a stopover. Personally I think it needs renovations - the décor is very tired and dated although the folks I chatted with loved it but they were all very mature. I know they have a new chef who is apparently great and are looking to upgrade the rest of the place later on.

Reviewed by
K Lambon

From South Africa
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location, but not much else
No hot water throughout our stay, when queried with reception,indifferent reaction, no offer of assistance.
On arrival reception had difficulty acknowledging our arrival more interested in PC.
Breakfast was OK but bit dried having been under heat lamps for to long.
Room television to small for size of room, unable to read text from bed.
A little filler and paint on the skirting boards would not have come amiss, wallpaper needed attention.

Reviewed by
Louis P

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ambience
The dining room is nice fior breakfast as it catches the morning sun.

Reviewed by
Michael Latham

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great New Forest Break
Very good value for money, and our dog was warmly welcomed. The room was good and large, we have stayed in many when you can hardly move around bed.
The shower was unavailable (we had been advised of problem) but the bath was more than adequate for our needs.
Dinner and Breakfast were both very good.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Bicester, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A small friendly hotel with pleasant staff Handy for the New Forest and surounding area

Reviewed by
lyn h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay.
Polite and helpful staff, great breakfast and overall very nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
F Holleran

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next