No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 113 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great New Forest Break
Very good value for money, and our dog was warmly welcomed. The room was good and large, we have stayed in many when you can hardly move around bed.
The shower was unavailable (we had been advised of problem) but the bath was more than adequate for our needs.
Dinner and Breakfast were both very good.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Bicester, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay.
Polite and helpful staff, great breakfast and overall very nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
F Holleran

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A small friendly hotel with pleasant staff Handy for the New Forest and surounding area

Reviewed by
lyn h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been better/ don't pay full price!
We were impressed by the hotel on arrival, it is a lovely building in beautiful grounds, unfortunately once in our room we discovered the shower was out of order. We asked to move but was told the hotel was full and the members of staff weren't particularly apologetic or sincere and pointed out that we still had an en-suite as there was a bath. As we were only staying one night and had paid a reduced rate due to booking late we accepted the situation, however, my mother who I was travelling with struggled getting in and out of the bath. We also later realised that the hot tap in the sink wasn't working at all. On checking out the receptionist was very apologetic and stated that she always tells people about the lack of shower so that they can make up their own minds about whether it suits them or not. (She was very sincere and had we spoken to her the previous night we wouldn't have been quite so upset about the situation). If we had been informed during the booking process we would not have booked at the hotel if no other rooms were available. The owners should also consider having more staff available at breakfast as there were only two staff on and as apparently the hotel was fully booked, it meant service was rather poor and the majority of guests had to wait longer than expected. Both members of staff were polite but appeared overworked and the overall service appeared disorganised. Overall our room was rather shabby and required updating, we would not have been happy to pay the full rate. We stayed in a twin room with a garden view.

Reviewed by
C James

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outdated
Decor is very outdated and room could have done with an iron. The double sink was lovely and the bed was very clean and comfy, breakfast was nice and the staff were faultless, overall our stay was pleasent.

Reviewed by
C Frost

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay at South Lawn
We have stayed at South Lawn on a few occasions as it is in close proximity to where our family live. We always enjoy staying there, the room is always clean and comfortable and the service is good. If I had one criticism it would be that the lounge/bar area resembles an old people's home and could do with smartening up but apart from that I always enjoy staying there and will go again. It is within easy reach of Lymington, Milford on Sea, New Milton, Christchurch, Bournemouth and Southampton not to mention the beautiful New Forest.

Reviewed by
M Sullivan

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TLC needed!
Generally this was an excellent place for our needs. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.We ate in the restaurant the first evening. Food and service were very good ,even if the food was a little on the pricey side. The room we were allocated was very spacious,as were the en-suite facilities. Both were very clean.However, the decor was tired. A coat of paint would make a huge difference. Having said that we would stay again as the location was great for a base to explore further a field-or even to visit the local beach!

Reviewed by
B Bullock

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful surroundings
lovely hotel,lovely surroundings,very peaceful,not far from village,not enough milk in rooms ,so i had to buy a pint,but that was no problem,and a queen size bed,lovely

Reviewed by
s roberts

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.dining comment
Hotel comfortable, nicely appointed and staff helpful. However restaurant service was far too rushed, had hardly sat in lounge .with pre dinner drink than order taken and asked to go to table - 1/2 hour before table booked. Meal pleasant but one course followed another far too fast despite asking for a rest between courses. Plate cleared before my husband had finished his meal. Not a relaxing experience when on holiday.

Reviewed by
jacqueline s

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It could be so much better!
One member of staff was good; two were so shy they struggled to offer service; the rest were poor.
The room was large and clean but cheaply furnished. The food is poor. The bar rarely functioning.
This hotel could be so much better

Reviewed by
C Gibbs

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next