Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3

Lymington Road,Milford On Sea, Lymington, SO41 0RF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (101)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • sara l

  • March 2014

Staff very helpful.

Room comfortable but decoration very tired. Bathroom was very tatty with cracked sinks. Downstairs nicely decorated but bedrooms need updating

  • zoe s

  • March 2014

Cheap dog friendly weekend away

We chose this hotel as we could take our dog.

The room was very adequate. We were worried a hotel that allowed dogs would smell of dogs and this was not the case at all. The room was a good size clean and tidy if a little dated. We had breakfast each day which was good, with a good selection. We eat out each evening-,there are a couple of pubs in Milford on sea.(about a 15 min walk)

Great location for exploring both the coast and new forest. We had a drink in the bar one evening and found it had the atmosphere of an old peoples home day room. The chairs are positioned around the edge of the room in a formal way, maybe it's the style of chair but we felt it rather characterless. There is no music, the girl on reception sits tapping into the computer all evening and the barman doubles as the restaurant waiter which meant that some customers waiters up to 5 minutes to get served. There were only 5 couple using the bar. The pubs in the village are a better choice for a relaxing drink.

Nice to stay somewhere dog friendly- but not smelly or aware of any dogs,in a great location, not 5* by a long way but this is reflected in the price.

  • Charles W

  • March 2014

Not to be missed!

Relaxing ambiance.

Well kept, comfortable public areas. Rooms of exceptional size and comfort; clean, well equipped and, in our case, good views over the gardens and countryside. Staff were cheery and obliging. Only took breakfast in the restaurant, but this offered good choice and an excellent "Full English" in addition to cereals, juices, fruit and patisserie. Incredible value for money. Definitely going again.

  • Dez S

  • March 2014

The public areas of this hotel were quite nice but the room we were in had obviously suffered water damage of some kind as the wallpaper was blistering along the outside wall.

The double glazing was also misting up between the panes which gave us concern that there would be dampness. The location was very peaceful and not too far from the sea or the forest.

  • Rupert P

  • March 2014

Nice setting tired hotel-no wifi

Would do them no harm to install wifi

I wouldnt want to pay more than £40 a night to stay here which is a shame asthe hotel could do more to maintain its reputation

  • Charles T

  • February 2014

Value would merit 10 if that was possible

Just a faultless experience with excellent value for money

  • julie s

  • February 2014

2 night break

The hotel and settings are very pretty.

On entering the hotel it is very pleasant and the staff were most welcoming. We were given the keys to Room 17. On entering the room I was disappointed at the very dated decor, and furnishings. The room, however, was comfortable. The cleaning needs a bit of addressing and the bedding had rips in it. Please do not let this put you off as I think this must be one room that needs updating and I hope that other rooms in the hotel are better. The breakfast was excellent and all the staff friendly and helpful. Despite the room not being up to standard we both enjoyed our stay and the wonderful setting of the hotel and its surroundings.

  • Nick P

  • February 2014

Excellent value for Bed and Breakfast only !

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room.

Very comfortable and clean. The only disappointment was the evening meal which was hugely overpriced and poor. I had garlic mushrooms (Over £5) and Fish and Chips (£14). They promore using local produce. Sorry this was basic food. I don't expect to pick bones out of fish at this price.

I would stay again as B & B rate was excellent but I'd find a nice pub somewhere.Breakfast was okay by the way.

  • Ailsa T

  • February 2014

An old fashioned hotel, spacious and relaxing.

  • Colin S

  • January 2014

Stay here for peace and quiet

There is no wifi -excellent.

The mobile telephone signal is not strong -brilliant. This is truly the place to have a few days respite from modern life. Just park the car and walk or ride by bus (passes the hotel). The hotel can clearly do with an increase in investment but it is somehow chic in its shabby.

The restaurant food is excellent, the duck with blueberries is recommended.