No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
The hotel had good facilities for dining inside or out if the weather will allow. The breakfasts were excellent. The location and gardens were very relaxing. We will return in the future.

Reviewed by
A Collins

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 26 A good sized twin
Room 26 A good sized twin with a small seating area. Hotel generally quite dated but clean in all public areas. Only able to score 1 for cleanliness of room 26 as the toilet floor has an issue with impregnated urine. Saying that the receptionist did thoroughly re clean our toilet and did a great job, but the smell returned in a few hours. We were offered a room change at 6.00pm on our last night (four night stay) but as we were on our way out and due home late we weren't able to switch rooms, the hotel was fully booked prior to this so a room change wasn't possible. The smell was terrible and made us feel unclean using the toilet and shoes were essential. The bed linen was spotless and the rest of the room was very clean. The bathroom though dated and advocado green was spotless and fresh, with a great shower flow. The taps didn't work to fill the bath but I managed to fill it up very quickly via the shower. One day room service forgot to make our beds but the tea tray was refreshed. The gardens are really well kept and lovely to relax in. We took our dog and he was made very welcome. Breakfast provided a good selection and I especially enjoyed the porridge and then the bacon waffle, American style. We found most staff very helpful but one of the male receptionists seemed to not understand us and was quite blunt rather than polite and helpful, but I don't feel this was on purpose, rather a unique character. We did not have any extra meals. We did want to use the games but found them to be very sticky and dirty and the dominoes, draughts and connect four were broken/incomplete....they need binning they were revolting. For the price we paid it would of been good value, but the smelly toilet did spoil our stay as it did waft around the room every time the door was opened. With some investment this hotel would be fantastic, it's a superb location near to the beaches of mudeford and to the new forest. Not a place to honeymoon at the moment but for a short stay its more than adequate. We were at the back of the building and the room next to us had doors opening out onto the garden, i would recommend upgrading to this style room as you would have direct access to the garden tables. i Would have given a 5 for cleanliness but for our rather unpleasant issues! A real shame. The place does have a lovely vibe.

Reviewed by
T Gurd

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very confortable room
We stayed 2 nights at South Lawn Hotel. The room is very spacious and have plenty of drawers to put your clothes. It is a pity the hotel does not have wifi and the shower was too low and takes ages for the water to heat up, also the tv is very small for the size of the room, apart from that everything else was brilliant. The nearest beach is about 15 minutes walking and the hotel gardens are very nice.

Reviewed by
M Duckworth

From Middlesex, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July at the South Lawns Hotel
The hotel has very nice grounds, plenty of parking and is well placed for touring the south coast and New Forest. The breakfast was excellent, well cooked and generous in quantity. South Lawns is within 10 to 15 minutes of level walking to Milford on Sea village and a further 5 minutes walk to the sea. The hotel decoration was a bit tired but quite acceptable. Milford on Sea is a very nice village with a good array of shops, cafes, restaurants and a proper village green.

Reviewed by
Nigel A

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall, a very friendly hotel where I would definitely stay again. Food & service was excellent & would not hesitate to recommend this hotel - infact have already done so. The only down side is the shower, needs updating urgently - my husband couldn't even stand underneath it & he's only 5'8"

Reviewed by
Y Payne

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three days near in the Country
When we arrived the internet was down and we were booked in by a young lady who was very friendly and seemed to have to double up to do a number of tasks. My wife needed gluton free bread and this was provided, The breakfast was very good with a good choice of food in a pleasant dining room.
Our bedroom was large and we luckily had french windows onto the patio, Not terribly private as the hotel handyman was varnishing the chairs just outside on 2 mornings. We had planned to be able to walk to the beach instead of driving but its about a 20 minute walk along a busy road.
The staff are very pleasant and accommodating and it was certainly very quite at night. Only real problem was the WiFi was down for our complete stay.

Reviewed by
Philip M

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

South Lawn could be great with just a little TLC
South Lawn is a very 'quaint' hotel with a little TLC it could be a great hotel. Showers are OK if you are under 5ft 5", the screens don't keep the water in the tub so you end up with a big puddle on the bathroom floor. Bed was very comfy and the room large - shame that one of the window handles was missing so couldn't be opened when temperatures were nudging 30 C! Breakfast was good with a reasonable variety to choose from - why don't the table numbers tie up with room numbers though?- Don't think anyone could understand that and would surely be the easiest option. .The 'system' currently in use confused everyone. Staff were friendly, helpful and as efficient as their system allowed them to be although on one occasion no member of staff could be found anywhere. Would definatley return Only ate breakfast at the hotel as didn't find the restaurant menu very inspiring but it was very hot and maybe that affected our appetite

Reviewed by
lesley h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cycling holiday
We were a group of 6 cyclists.
We had to cancel one of the rooms at fairly late notice, but this was not a problem.
We were made welcome on arrival, and the rooms were large and the beds were comfortable.
Breakfast was nice, with a lot of choice, and the service was friendly.

Reviewed by
John Green

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly hotel just what we wanted relaxing! The food was very hit and miss never completely satisfied with any meal but we are the type of guests who take things in our stride and when we pointed out the problems it was put right. Ideal position for the forest and the beaches. It was value for money and we will visit again.

Reviewed by
Glenda Fretten

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky but comfortable hotel in excellent location
The hotel is in the process of being refurbished, but this didn't detract from our stay. The room was large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The stag were very friendly and helpful. Food was very good.

Reviewed by
Graham N

From Hamilton, England
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next