No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 106 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great venue and superb menu
We only stayed the night of the recent October storm,but enjoyed everything about this hotel,clean and comfortable room,excellent breakfast and pleasant staff,thankyou and hope to see you again soon....stu and Anne roper...Derbyshire

Reviewed by
stuart roper

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

South Lawn
Very nice hotel. Clean and comfortable. Wifi would be of great benefit and is an expectation now a days. Staff very pleasant, efficient and helpful.

Reviewed by
Sarah S

From South Croydon, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cosy spot
Nice warm cozy hotel,very friendly and good price in the forest

Reviewed by
S woolford

From Pembroke, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a lovely hotel situates in nice grounds although we only stayed one night we would stay for a break

Reviewed by
M Wilkinson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable beds, shame about the cleanliness!
We had two day stay here at South Lawn Hotel. The staff seemed quite pleasant and were helpful in helping me sort couple of things. The Hotel is set in a beautiful location backing onto fields with a number of horses, and the gardens looked beautiful. The hotel would benefit with a refurbishment throughout as our room had a stale smoke odour and generally quite tired in appearance. The beds were clean and super soft, ideal for me, best nights sleep in a long time. The breakfast on every day of our stay had every part of a good Full English, but had been standing for some time, shame about the low quality of the items, such as the sausages & beans.

Reviewed by
Phil T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff where really helpful from the time we arrived until we left, the breakfast menu was a good range and the food well prepared

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel setting was delightful. The building has considerable charm but needs modernising to compete with current standards. The staff were very helpful but somewhat thin on the ground at times. The food was good, freshly cooked and well presented. The room was dated but comfortable.

Reviewed by
Anthony C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Autumn break
Ideally situated for the New forest this hotel is very comfortable,although a little dated .The staff were all friendly and the food we had was excellent.

Reviewed by
b knight

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant and Relaxing
Nice little old style hotel, good hearty english breakfast, but some of the decor looking slightly tired.
However a nice enjoyable relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
P Barrows

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old world charm
The hotel is pretty with lovely garden area and coupled with HUGE rooms is a great place for a stopover. Personally I think it needs renovations - the décor is very tired and dated although the folks I chatted with loved it but they were all very mature. I know they have a new chef who is apparently great and are looking to upgrade the rest of the place later on.

Reviewed by
K Lambon

From South Africa
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next