South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3

Lymington Road,Milford On Sea, Lymington, SO41 0RF

Price From 116.34 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (116)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Terence S

  • July 2014

Hampshire break

We thought this was terrific value for money.

A very large room, with comfortable beds, very good food and friendly staff. Only very slight blot was lack of bar staff when needed. Excellent

  • j robinson

  • July 2014

Fawlty Towers

At first sight the hotel appears impressive.

The building is well positioned and looks quite inviting.However on entering the building it becomes apparent that it is in need of serious renovation particularly the window frames and paintwork. The decor is very dated.

The 'late key' system is in operation after 10.30 and seems to work quite efficiently. Overall I would say this hotel is over priced for the service and accommodation on offer.

  • Peter C

  • June 2014

Detail lacking

Room not of standard expected of hotel.

Carpet aged and 'ribbed'. One power point under table causing one to crawl underneath and remove plug for TV or kettle in order to use fan or anything else. No Wi-Fi at hotel. Entrance mat well past sell by date. Not good first impression. Lids on teapots and hot water jugs in restaurant did not fit causing liquids to cool quickly. Only one small soap supplied for two people. Shower gel not replaced when used. Although stayed for most of week, rate increased by £10 for Friday.

  • Richard F

  • June 2014

Not what I call bespoke

First the downsides - slightly damp smell to the room.

The double glazing was blown and the window full of condensation. The tv was postage stamp size and horror of horrors - the bed was soggy. Very soggy. Final downfall - cracked basin in the bathroom. Clearly, this place needs investment. Up sides - lovely location and overall disappointment tempered by a cracking breakfast with superbly attentive and friendly waitress.

Overall, somewhere that I wouldn't return to or recommend.

  • k lawtey

  • June 2014

We would return to this hotel

The hotel staff were friendly and helpfull.

The quality of the breakfst was very good, although we didn't have an evening meal. The room was very spacious and clean although a little tired in terms of decor and fittings. The hotel and grounds were quiet and pleasant. The bar was limited and very quiet. Location was a twenty minute walk into Milford on Sea which was fine for us in nice weather, but would be a problem if raining or less mobile than us.

  • S Beinart

  • June 2014

Being fair

My impression on entering was that the hotel looks like an old folks home.

The staff were charming,though I can't say the same about the room. I had specifically ticked the box 'double bed for double accomodation' & suspect I was inadvertently given a 'double for single' use. The garden view, beautiful pastoral views were around the side. I was overlooking the car park. The room was extremely basic with hard armchairs & cheap student type furniture. The bath had water from the hot tap, though none from the cold tap. The ghastly looking curtains were ill fitting. One night an alarm went off at Reception, every 5 mins for hours, before a code was found to neutralise it.

On the plus side, the breakfasts were very good. There is no wifi in the rooms. As it happens because my room was above Reception, I did occasionally get wifi.

  • Jan W

  • May 2014

A peaceful retreat

Comfortable, but in need of some upgrading and maintainance.

  • Jayne B

  • May 2014

says wot it is.

beautiful view great breakfast friendly efficient staff.

walkable distance from milford on sea But would have been priced right if it was ?10.00 less .

  • S Birch

  • April 2014

Hotel very nice but dated small uncomfortable single beds (most modern hotels have 2 small doubles) and the food was very average and expensive my wife had the Steak which was a £5 surcharge on the usual £14 for a main and arrived looking like a pub style £6.99 steak & chips!.

Though the breakfast was very good all in all £200 for a night away including a meal was very expensive. The staff were very helpful though no conversation and seemed to be very robotic although the lady on reception was very good.

  • Linda J

  • April 2014

Stayed here for a wedding

A comfortable and friendly hotel in a beautiful setting close to lots of places of interest in the New Forest.

I understand it has just been taken over by new management and hopefully it will be undated as it is in need of some new refurbishment. As a wedding venue it was very good..