No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at South Lawns
We thought that South Lawns was very good value for money, but feel that the decor was rather tired and could do with updating! Also no lighting in the driveway which could be hazardous.
However the staff were courteous and the breakfast wonderful.

Reviewed by
J Pye

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accomodation, friendly service will return

Reviewed by
sally s

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay
Very nice room, lovely staff. Will definitely stay again. They even did a packup for me as I had to leave too early for breakfast.

Reviewed by
M H

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay
Nice room. Helpful friendly staff. Kindly madd me a packup again as I leave too early for breakfast. (Their coffee cake is gorgous!)

Reviewed by
M H

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very helpful. Room comfortable but decoration very tired. Bathroom was very tatty with cracked sinks. Downstairs nicely decorated but bedrooms need updating

Reviewed by
sara l

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not to be missed!
Relaxing ambiance. Well kept, comfortable public areas. Rooms of exceptional size and comfort; clean, well equipped and, in our case, good views over the gardens and countryside. Staff were cheery and obliging. Only took breakfast in the restaurant, but this offered good choice and an excellent "Full English" in addition to cereals, juices, fruit and patisserie. Incredible value for money. Definitely going again.

Reviewed by
Charles W

From Spilsby, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The public areas of this hotel were quite nice but the room we were in had obviously suffered water damage of some kind as the wallpaper was blistering along the outside wall. The double glazing was also misting up between the panes which gave us concern that there would be dampness.
The location was very peaceful and not too far from the sea or the forest.

Reviewed by
Dez S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap dog friendly weekend away
We chose this hotel as we could take our dog. The room was very adequate. We were worried a hotel that allowed dogs would smell of dogs and this was not the case at all. The room was a good size clean and tidy if a little dated. We had breakfast each day which was good, with a good selection. We eat out each evening-,there are a couple of pubs in Milford on sea.(about a 15 min walk)
Great location for exploring both the coast and new forest.
We had a drink in the bar one evening and found it had the atmosphere of an old peoples home day room. The chairs are positioned around the edge of the room in a formal way, maybe it's the style of chair but we felt it rather characterless. There is no music, the girl on reception sits tapping into the computer all evening and the barman doubles as the restaurant waiter which meant that some customers waiters up to 5 minutes to get served. There were only 5 couple using the bar.
The pubs in the village are a better choice for a relaxing drink.
Nice to stay somewhere dog friendly- but not smelly or aware of any dogs,in a great location, not 5* by a long way but this is reflected in the price.

Reviewed by
zoe s

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value would merit 10 if that was possible
Just a faultless experience with excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Charles T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice setting tired hotel-no wifi
Would do them no harm to install wifi
I wouldnt want to pay more than £40 a night to stay here which is a shame asthe hotel could do more to maintain its reputation

Reviewed by
Rupert P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next