No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid week break in November
The hotel had gone to exceptional trouble with the Christmas decorations in all public areas - really impressive. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Hotel very quiet but still cosy.

Reviewed by
Barbara T

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, nice setting
Arrived early evening and we were met at reception and given our room key very quickly. Evening meal was available, but as we chose to go out they gave us a night key, as after 10.00 pm the front door is locked. Short distance to a small village with pubs and restaurants. Returned just before 11.00 pm and were able to get a drink from the bar. The hotel was extremely quiet at this time of year, I get the impression it is very busy in the summer as it is near sea and the New Forest. Breakfast was very nice and relaxed, no need to rush out of the dining room. We had requested newspapers and they were waiting on our table. The room itself was large with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and the en suite was big with a shower over the bath. Even though the heating was permanently on, there was an extra heater in the room which we did use as it was a very cold weekend. We could see the hotel had nice gardens around it with plenty of seating for the better weather. Check out was simple too. Overall a pleasant experience and good value with breakfast included in the price. The surrounding countryside and coastline is lovely - an especially nice walk along the single spit to Hurst Castle, where you can see the Isle of Wight and the Needles in the distance.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As a B&B this was quite adequate.
The room was large and airy with a comfortable bed and view of the garden but needed refurbishing as did the bathroom. The Breakfast was very good but the Dinner was poor. The menu was extensive but obviously all frozen and microwaved as needed; this led to tasteless, tough and unpalatable dishes. Very disappointing!

Reviewed by
T Mohan

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
Hotel a bity empty on Sunday night

Reviewed by
Patrick G

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great venue and superb menu
We only stayed the night of the recent October storm,but enjoyed everything about this hotel,clean and comfortable room,excellent breakfast and pleasant staff,thankyou and hope to see you again soon....stu and Anne roper...Derbyshire

Reviewed by
stuart roper

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

South Lawn
Very nice hotel. Clean and comfortable. Wifi would be of great benefit and is an expectation now a days. Staff very pleasant, efficient and helpful.

Reviewed by
Sarah S

From South Croydon, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cosy spot
Nice warm cozy hotel,very friendly and good price in the forest

Reviewed by
S woolford

From Pembroke, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a lovely hotel situates in nice grounds although we only stayed one night we would stay for a break

Reviewed by
M Wilkinson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable beds, shame about the cleanliness!
We had two day stay here at South Lawn Hotel. The staff seemed quite pleasant and were helpful in helping me sort couple of things. The Hotel is set in a beautiful location backing onto fields with a number of horses, and the gardens looked beautiful. The hotel would benefit with a refurbishment throughout as our room had a stale smoke odour and generally quite tired in appearance. The beds were clean and super soft, ideal for me, best nights sleep in a long time. The breakfast on every day of our stay had every part of a good Full English, but had been standing for some time, shame about the low quality of the items, such as the sausages & beans.

Reviewed by
Phil T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff where really helpful from the time we arrived until we left, the breakfast menu was a good range and the food well prepared

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next