No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very peaceful
All three of us enjoyed our overnight stay very much. Well worth the money.

Reviewed by
Barry D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

South Lawn Review
Welcoming, comfortable, clean- good food - good vfm. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
E Bailey

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheery welcome. Good food nicely presented, loved the laundered table cloth in a sadate dining room with views overlooking well laid out gardens. The only thing letting our stay down was tape holding bath panel together and mould on surrounding grouting to bath. Stain on our carpet. Thread bare stair treads leading to room could be a danger. But could not better the overall astmosphere. For our short stay.

Reviewed by
j thorne

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

South Lawn Hotel
Very pleased we stayed at South Lawn, it is idea for touring New Forest and I.O.W... The staff are pleasant and helpful, the room was spotless and the breakfast well presented in the dining room.. Just one minor issue, during our stay there was a power cut one evening, thus no lighting or hot water for shower until the early hours.. No explanation or reduction in room price offered..

Reviewed by
Ted P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friends Reunion
Good value for price paid.

Reviewed by
Andrew N

From Bexley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Garden Room
Couldnt see the garden from this garden room

Reviewed by
M Hall

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hampshire break
We thought this was terrific value for money. A very large room, with comfortable beds, very good food and friendly staff. Only very slight blot was lack of bar staff when needed. Excellent

Reviewed by
Terence S

From Woodstock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty Towers
At first sight the hotel appears impressive. The building is well positioned and looks quite inviting.However on entering the building it becomes apparent that it is in need of serious renovation particularly the window frames and paintwork. The decor is very dated.
The 'late key' system is in operation after 10.30 and seems to work quite efficiently.
Overall I would say this hotel is over priced for the service and accommodation on offer.

Reviewed by
j robinson

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Detail lacking
Room not of standard expected of hotel. Carpet aged and 'ribbed'. One power point under table causing one to crawl underneath and remove plug for TV or kettle in order to use fan or anything else. No Wi-Fi at hotel.
Entrance mat well past sell by date. Not good first impression.
Lids on teapots and hot water jugs in restaurant did not fit causing liquids to cool quickly.
Only one small soap supplied for two people. Shower gel not replaced when used.
Although stayed for most of week, rate increased by £10 for Friday.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I call bespoke
First the downsides - slightly damp smell to the room. The double glazing was blown and the window full of condensation. The tv was postage stamp size and horror of horrors - the bed was soggy. Very soggy. Final downfall - cracked basin in the bathroom. Clearly, this place needs investment.
Up sides - lovely location and overall disappointment tempered by a cracking breakfast with superbly attentive and friendly waitress.
Overall, somewhere that I wouldn't return to or recommend.

Reviewed by
Richard F

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next