No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA 已评估 酒店 Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night break
The hotel and settings are very pretty. On entering the hotel it is very pleasant and the staff were most welcoming. We were given the keys to Room 17. On entering the room I was disappointed at the very dated decor, and furnishings. The room, however, was comfortable. The cleaning needs a bit of addressing and the bedding had rips in it. Please do not let this put you off as I think this must be one room that needs updating and I hope that other rooms in the hotel are better. The breakfast was excellent and all the staff friendly and helpful. Despite the room not being up to standard we both enjoyed our stay and the wonderful setting of the hotel and its surroundings.

Reviewed by
julie s

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for Bed and Breakfast only !
I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. Very comfortable and clean. The only disappointment was the evening meal which was hugely overpriced and poor. I had garlic mushrooms (Over £5) and Fish and Chips (£14). They promore using local produce. Sorry this was basic food. I don't expect to pick bones out of fish at this price!
I would stay again as B & B rate was excellent but I'd find a nice pub somewhere.Breakfast was okay by the way.

Reviewed by
Nick P

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An old fashioned hotel, spacious and relaxing.

Reviewed by
Ailsa T

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay here for peace and quiet
There is no wifi -excellent! The mobile telephone signal is not strong -brilliant!
This is truly the place to have a few days respite from modern life. Just park the car and walk or ride by bus (passes the hotel).
The hotel can clearly do with an increase in investment but it is somehow chic in its shabby.
The restaurant food is excellent, the duck with blueberries is recommended.

Reviewed by
Colin S

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two day stay after New Year
We booked this as a late deal. We were looking for a dog friendly hotel and South Lawn were very accommodating. The hotel is set in nice grounds, it is a mid range hotel which provided a good, clean base for local walks. We had a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package. There was a good selection for breakfast. The quality of the evening meals was average. Overall the staff were very friendly and it was nice to visit a dog friendly hotel with rooms that didn't smell or have any trace of having had dogs in them previously.

Reviewed by
A ewin

From Banstead, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stopover
Throughly enjoyed our stay, bed comfortable but room a little oudated. Christmas decorations outstanding. Loveley position and very quiet in wonderful surroundings. Wish our stay could have been longer.

Reviewed by
Susan R

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

"Artisic"
The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was brill. We ate out so we could not comment on dinner. There was an exhibition of local art...(mainly pictures) which is a great thing to do which found most interesting and found quite a high standard from some of the exhibitors. Superb cedar tree in the grounds which are great for an outdoor breather.

Reviewed by
robert heeley

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Weekend

Reviewed by
vicky hall

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid week break in November
The hotel had gone to exceptional trouble with the Christmas decorations in all public areas - really impressive. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Hotel very quiet but still cosy.

Reviewed by
Barbara T

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, nice setting
Arrived early evening and we were met at reception and given our room key very quickly. Evening meal was available, but as we chose to go out they gave us a night key, as after 10.00 pm the front door is locked. Short distance to a small village with pubs and restaurants. Returned just before 11.00 pm and were able to get a drink from the bar. The hotel was extremely quiet at this time of year, I get the impression it is very busy in the summer as it is near sea and the New Forest. Breakfast was very nice and relaxed, no need to rush out of the dining room. We had requested newspapers and they were waiting on our table. The room itself was large with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and the en suite was big with a shower over the bath. Even though the heating was permanently on, there was an extra heater in the room which we did use as it was a very cold weekend. We could see the hotel had nice gardens around it with plenty of seating for the better weather. Check out was simple too. Overall a pleasant experience and good value with breakfast included in the price. The surrounding countryside and coastline is lovely - an especially nice walk along the single spit to Hurst Castle, where you can see the Isle of Wight and the Needles in the distance.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next