No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July at the South Lawns Hotel
The hotel has very nice grounds, plenty of parking and is well placed for touring the south coast and New Forest. The breakfast was excellent, well cooked and generous in quantity. South Lawns is within 10 to 15 minutes of level walking to Milford on Sea village and a further 5 minutes walk to the sea. The hotel decoration was a bit tired but quite acceptable. Milford on Sea is a very nice village with a good array of shops, cafes, restaurants and a proper village green.

Reviewed by
Nigel A

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall, a very friendly hotel where I would definitely stay again. Food & service was excellent & would not hesitate to recommend this hotel - infact have already done so. The only down side is the shower, needs updating urgently - my husband couldn't even stand underneath it & he's only 5'8"

Reviewed by
Y Payne

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three days near in the Country
When we arrived the internet was down and we were booked in by a young lady who was very friendly and seemed to have to double up to do a number of tasks. My wife needed gluton free bread and this was provided, The breakfast was very good with a good choice of food in a pleasant dining room.
Our bedroom was large and we luckily had french windows onto the patio, Not terribly private as the hotel handyman was varnishing the chairs just outside on 2 mornings. We had planned to be able to walk to the beach instead of driving but its about a 20 minute walk along a busy road.
The staff are very pleasant and accommodating and it was certainly very quite at night. Only real problem was the WiFi was down for our complete stay.

Reviewed by
Philip M

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

South Lawn could be great with just a little TLC
South Lawn is a very 'quaint' hotel with a little TLC it could be a great hotel. Showers are OK if you are under 5ft 5", the screens don't keep the water in the tub so you end up with a big puddle on the bathroom floor. Bed was very comfy and the room large - shame that one of the window handles was missing so couldn't be opened when temperatures were nudging 30 C! Breakfast was good with a reasonable variety to choose from - why don't the table numbers tie up with room numbers though?- Don't think anyone could understand that and would surely be the easiest option. .The 'system' currently in use confused everyone. Staff were friendly, helpful and as efficient as their system allowed them to be although on one occasion no member of staff could be found anywhere. Would definatley return Only ate breakfast at the hotel as didn't find the restaurant menu very inspiring but it was very hot and maybe that affected our appetite

Reviewed by
lesley h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cycling holiday
We were a group of 6 cyclists.
We had to cancel one of the rooms at fairly late notice, but this was not a problem.
We were made welcome on arrival, and the rooms were large and the beds were comfortable.
Breakfast was nice, with a lot of choice, and the service was friendly.

Reviewed by
John Green

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly hotel just what we wanted relaxing! The food was very hit and miss never completely satisfied with any meal but we are the type of guests who take things in our stride and when we pointed out the problems it was put right. Ideal position for the forest and the beaches. It was value for money and we will visit again.

Reviewed by
Glenda Fretten

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky but comfortable hotel in excellent location
The hotel is in the process of being refurbished, but this didn't detract from our stay. The room was large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The stag were very friendly and helpful. Food was very good.

Reviewed by
Graham N

From Hamilton, England
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
We had a very pleasant stay. Staff mostly help full.good breakfast. Over all good acomadation through some parts would benifate from updating. Grounds nice and relaxing.

Reviewed by
keith d

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, just a few details could be improved.
Very happy (third visit) with the hotel. Minor details, if pressed: A lack of decent beer (no choice. Boddingtons frothy or nothing), explained by lack of demand. One single choice of (Martell) brandy. The double room booked was two beds pushed together. The TV was very small viewed from the other end of a very well proportioned room.
These comments should be seen from a hyper-critical perspective - we will happily stay again. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful. The food was very well prepared and presented.

Reviewed by
tony Fox

From Crowthorne, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Escape to the Country
Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent value for money. Very clean and comfortable. Plenty of space to relax in be it at the bar or out in the extensive gardens.

Reviewed by
P Rowley

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next