Reviews - Stanton House Hotel


The Avenue,Stanton Fitzwarren, Swindon, SN6 7SD

Price From 137.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • R Fabon

  • March 2015

Breakfast is to die for!

The room was basic - everything's in it and nothing too extravagant.

Cleaning standards were average and certainly can be improved. Customer Service was good but slightly disappointed by the abrupt, non-interested comment by the female Bar Manager when I asked her about the Mother's Day booking. The best bit about my stay was the breakfast. That smoked fish was amazing as well as the sticky rice and the miso soup. They were incredibly delicious alongside the traditional English breakfast. This is a personal favourite of mine now!

  • Natalie B

  • January 2015



  • Karen J

  • January 2015

A rather confused, and confusing hotel

This hotel is somewhat baffling.

The location and site are breathtakingly beautiful. The hotel itself rather faded and dated (especially the cheaper rooms). Add to that the strong Japanese influence (Honda nearby) and it is all a rather confusing experience. The restaurant (only on open) was not very busy but we were told that we would have to wait for an hour at least to be served. The food was rather stodgy Japanese stir fry and curry - ok but by no means outstanding. Our waitress was charming, but other staff difficult to find and in short supply generally. There was a rather abrupt response at reception when I challenged the double charge for breakfast (had already paid through late rooms) and the upgrade on my room (not really much of an upgrade) was charged but never really confirmed with me. Overall a rather disappointing experience.

  • Anne Martin

  • December 2014

Great experience

Hotel fantastic, staff mostly Japanese and so polite and welcoming, what ever you wanted they were there, we were waited on hand and foot.

It was a very stately hotel and the rooms were great, beds were more than comfortable. Japanese food although I have never tried it before was simply great. You could also choose English food if you wanted, can't wait to go back. The grounds and the park are simply fantastic.

  • Sandra N

  • December 2014


Friendly staff and comfortable bed, rooms would benefit from a refurb being a little dated.

Everything you need is provided. Breakfast options catered for all.

  • Neil M

  • November 2014

Very good stay

Exceeded my expectations.

Stunning property in a quiet location. Will use again

  • Seamus G

  • October 2014

A Nice Place

A nice quite place not far from Swindon.

Interesting Japanese restaurant. The food was good.

  • David Y

  • August 2014

OK but....

OK Hotel, nothing outstanding but the initial receptionist had several goes at getting my previously agreed price right, and the wi-fi is bordering on the useless.

If you are a business traveller and require wi-fi, then I would go elsewhere, apart from that it's OK

  • I Peden

  • July 2014

A weekend away

I stayed here to get to the local airshow.

Excellent all round with clean comfy room, good food and beer (and wine) and very friendly staff.

Already booked again for next year

  • Simon Fisher

  • July 2014

Occasionally you get a real gem through Laterooms

Booked for £63 - proper hotel with a big smart feel.