No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stanton House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Avenue,Stanton Fitzwarren , Swindon, SN6 7SD
Overlooking a lake and parkland, this idyllic stone house nestles amid picturesque Wiltshire countryside, fusing traditional English surroundings with a hint of the Far East.

A traditional-style Japanese restaurant complements the European cuisine also available in the hotel, making for an innovative and unusual addition to this country retreat. Choose from a range of comfortable accommodation in which you can relax and unwind, with satellite TV. There are 4 versatile function rooms to cater for any group occasion, and ample car parking makes it a little easier to explore the beautiful Wiltshire area.

Double bedrooms are all equipped with Televisions (selected digital channels and Radio), Direct dial telephone, fridge and Tea/Coffee making facilities. Ensuite bathroom and Hair dryer.

Our 4 poster rooms are luxuriously large and spacious. All elegantly decorated and furnished with mahogany furniture.

Wi-Fi access is available throughout the hotel, free of charge.
Picture of Stanton House Hotel, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK but....
OK Hotel, nothing outstanding but the initial receptionist had several goes at getting my previously agreed price right, and the wi-fi is bordering on the useless. If you are a business traveller and require wi-fi, then I would go elsewhere, apart from that it's OK

Reviewed by
David Y

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A weekend away
I stayed here to get to the local airshow. Excellent all round with clean comfy room, good food and beer (and wine) and very friendly staff.
Already booked again for next year

Reviewed by
I Peden

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Occasionally you get a real gem through Laterooms
Booked for £63 - proper hotel with a big smart feel.

Reviewed by
Simon Fisher

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ian Rance
One of the best late rooms hotels I've stayed in

Reviewed by
Ian Rance

From Iver, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning location and high quality accomodation
Stunning setting, impressive building, and high quality accommodation, coupled with excellent food and reasonably priced wine, All staff were very helpful. The downside was quality control in room preparation - our four-poster bedroom had missing towels, an un-emptied waste bin and no television (it had been borrowed for another room). However, all was put right quickly and without fuss.

Reviewed by
Berkeley Hill

From Hythe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Underwhelmed
Heating didn't work, old fashioned tv, no wall socket next to bed for phone charger, room was tiny.
It was quite clean, the building and grounds are lovely and it was cheap, so I guess it's ok for the price, but it looks a lot nicer than it is.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

State of room
Bathroom sink very badly damaged. windows had not been closed prorperly had to climb on desk to close them tight anyone could of come in during the night if I had not of noticed this

Reviewed by
karen r

From Faringdon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice accomadation
lovely setting, nice friendly service, the room was nice an clean if I had one fault it would only be that the tv didn't seem to have many channels available but that wasn't really a problem apart from that it was a very pleasant 2 day stay

Reviewed by
k hathaway

From Stoke on Trent, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great country retreat
The Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and quiet country location make this an ideal place to stay for a quiet stay. The Japanese theme and food menu definitely add to what makes this a great place. Hopefully I'll get the chance to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Simon D

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab stuff but weird fusion!
Stanton House is in a beautiful setting and could be awesome, the decor is tired and eclectic - Bar and restaurant area are quite modern but contrasted with decor reminiscent of my Nans sitting room in the bedroom. I would stay here again in business as we got a good rate, it is very clean and the staff were excellent, however the overwhelming stench of kippers in the restauarant at breakfast did almost put me off for life. If the investment is made in refurbishing this will be an amazing hotel, however the fusion between old and eastern decor and menu doesn't quite work right now!

Reviewed by
V Steven

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next