No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Runnacleave Road , , , Ilfracombe, EX34 8AR
A warm welcome awaits you at the Ilfracombe Carlton, a privately owned hotel, well situated in the heart of Ilfracombe - North Devon's premier seaside resort. Ilfracombe is a hundred holidays, North Devon a thousand. There are many attractions to visit or just relax and unwind in the surrounds of the hotel. Whatever your holiday requirements you are sure to find them at the Ilfracombe Carlton. We cater for all your needs. Short Stays. Long Weekends. Relaxing Breaks. No holiday destination in the UK offers the diversity of North Devon; miles of golden beaches, dramatic cliffs and hidden coves, unspoilt countryside, the Exmoor National Park, historic towns and villages, plus a wealth of fascinating attractions-many designed especially for visitors. At the Ilfracombe Carlton, true Devonian hospitality combines with unbeatable standards in North Devon's premier resort. Our hotel is situated a short level walk from all the resorts attractions and the Landmark theatre, and just a ten minute stroll from the harbour. The hotel offers 48 ensuite rooms, all with colour TV, telephone, hair dryer, central heating, tea and coffee making facilities and a lift to all floors. If you fancy a walk, step onto the South West coastal path behind the Ilfracombe Carlton, turning left on the coastal footpath towards Morte Point taking you over the Seven Sisters towards Lee Bay on route. There is beautiful scenery to admire and on a clear day you can capture views of Lundy Island and the Gower Peninsular. Our beautiful seaside town and the surrounding area offers fresh air, tranquility and an abundance of activities to suit every mood. For the adventurous there are many outdoor activities to be enjoyed, including sailing and sea fishing trips from the local harbour and scuba diving for local wrecks around Lundy Island, 10 miles off the North Devon coast.
Picture of Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, Ilfracombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

get what you pay for
fairly priced - parking is shocking - so brace yourself to either:
leave your keys at reception so you can double park
park on the road (around the corner or up the hill)
or pay a lot for a paid car park
at the end of the day you are going to a town that was designed a long time ago when they didn't have cars !

Reviewed by
jennifer j

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good friendly hotel
Friendly, helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Parking a bit of a problem - had to park in road at back of hotel.
Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Jennifer Patience

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
a really nice hotel just off the main road into town, very clean, our room had been recently updated, bar facility and lift available for less mobile residents, only there a couple of days but glad we found it

Reviewed by
J Laycock

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No evening meal available, although requested at 17.45. Breakfast had been kept under warmer and was dried up. Hotel was recently renovated and very clean, but very poorly managed. Bar is part of "conference room" and was booked for a training event, so only available after 1700.
£100 is very overpriced for out of season.

Reviewed by
John Ewen

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and freindly
A typical British seaside hotel - which is why I like it! Good breakfast, comfy bed, very friendly owner, a short level walk to the harbour and good value for money. Will always try and stay here when in the area.

Reviewed by
A Brooke

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
very welcoming some 1 on reception 24/7 all staff where very pleasant

Reviewed by
richard litherland

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Nice place to stay, friendly and polite staff, hotel is clean and quiet, excellent for short breaks.Thanks

Reviewed by
Florentin L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Pleasant stay, good location and very clean

Reviewed by
Peter Mackay

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were greeted at the door and helped with our bags. problems not sorted properly by reception
Our stay was spoilt by unhelpful attitude to a problem with our bathroom. Firstly a light switch broke then the shower would not drain. On reporting the problem we were treated very poorly and made to feel it was us not the room at fault. No apology has been given by the lady at reception (the owner) and our short break was spoilt by the experience

Reviewed by
K Fisher

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carlton Hotel, Ilfracombe
Excellent service, very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
D Baker

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next