No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hillview Farm Bed & Breakfast

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Ashton, Cheddar, BS28 4QE
Hillview Farm Bed & Breakfast is a working farm situated in a peaceful Somerset setting which concentrates on rearing pedigree Limousin cattle.
We are ideally located at the gateway to the south-west being not far from J22 M5, and easy reach of Bristol Airport.
We offer quality Farmhouse accommodation.
Picture of Hillview Farm Bed & Breakfast, Cheddar at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly & welcoming
Excellent all round would revisit

Reviewed by
mary knight

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

briliant
Excellent welcome. Food great. Excellent Value. Great place to stay.

Reviewed by
pauline m

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful welcome from Mike & Di. The rooms are clean & comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Location beautiful.Mike and Di are so helpful with local information. We cant thank them enough.

Reviewed by
John Jolley

From Prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a wonderful weekend!
My wife and I really enjoyed a lovely weekend at Hillview farm and felt welcomed by Mike and Di from the beginning. We arrived and was welcomed in with a nice hot drink and cake served by Mike . Mike showed us around and took us to our room which exceeded our expectations and was spotlessly clean. The views around the farm were beautiful and a visit to say hello to their herd of Limousin cattle a must. Mike was a mine of local knowledge and very helpful, even offering us a lift to the local pub, the pack horse, recommended by him, which turned out to be delightful which I cannot fault for a lovely meal. The breakfast the next morning was beautiful and freshly cooked and totally set us up for the days sight seeing ahead.
As for previous review, I am surprised anyone can find anything less than charming! We were also asked if we didn't mind sharing the breakfast table with other guests and if we did we could eat at a different time. The distance from shops or pub wasn't really a problem and if it was the venue may have been chosen to one nearer facilities... I for one am glad we chose Hill View Farm!
We really enjoyed the calm, peaceful surroundings.
Hillview farm is ideally placed to visit all the main tourist attractions such as wookey hole, cheddar gorge, the city of Wells and the Mendip Hills. If you are looking for a peaceful break in the mendips, Hillview farm has to be the number one place to stay. Thank you Mike and Di for your 1st class hospitality!

Reviewed by
Bernie Frigot

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location, very friendly staff
I would highly recommend Hillview to anyone staying in the Cheddar area. It's located in a beautiful country setting about a 10 to 15 minute drive to Cheddar Gorge. The room was a nice size, and very clean and comfortable. The couple running the B&B were extremely nice, personable, and very accommodating without being intrusive. Breakfast was excellent as well, you certainly will not leave hungry.

Reviewed by
Mike Wayda

From USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice..location lovely if you dont mind being a little isolated
A lovely B & B. owners very helpful and friendly. Great Breakfast and nice room. Only one table for breakfast so if place full you all share but we didnt mind as only us staying for 2 of the 3 days.but you might not like sharing.
location was my only downside. Its set in a lovely but isolated spot. If you dont mind being 15 mins drive from any amenites like a village pub or a morning walk down the road to fetch a paper then its fine. We had some long days out and found it best to eat before getting back. If you want a shower and change before your evening meal then you need to get in the car and drive to a good choice of pubs, but all a fair distance. There is a pub quite close (The Wheatsheaf) but not open at present due to renovationIn so in the autumn and winter with the dark nights you can get lost easily around the narrow country lanes. Spring and summer no problem I would imagine. Even so..A lovely bed and breakfast farmhouse and we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
L Barlow

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellant Service
From the moment we arrived Mike and his partner were excellent hosts. Everything about the room was clearly explained and on arrival we were offered a very welcome hot drink and home made cake (baked by Mike). Our room whilst not the highest in price had a good view and was very well appointed and exceptionally clean. Mike cooked breakfast which was an easy 10 out of 10.
We will stay again.

Reviewed by
Peter K

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm & friendly welcome, immaculate rooms & a superb breakfast - this stay very literally couldn't be faulted.
My wife has special diet requirements and they went out of their way to not only ensure that she was catered for, but ensured that she had choice - even to putting gluten-free biscuits in the bedroom for her.
Cannot speak highly enough of this B&B and the people who run it.

Reviewed by
Steve Buckley

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply the best
We were made to feel very welcome right from the start with tea and cake on arrival. Being new to the area we asked for recommendations for places to eat and they booked us a table very good recommendations.
Nothing was too much trouble. Room was spotless. Breakfast was excellent. Hosts were charming.
We can't wait to stay there again.

Reviewed by
John Craythorne

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B, lovely hosts
My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay at Hillview Farm. The accomodation is excellent and Mike and Di are very welcoming, lovely people and excellent hosts. They have great local knowledge and if you ask, they'll offer great advice on places to visit in the area and excellent local pubs / restaurants. We enjoyed it so much, we stayed an extra night. Would recommend Hillview to anyone (especially the full english!) and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
L Taylor

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next