Reviews - Hillview Farm Bed & Breakfast


Ashton, Cheddar, BS28 4QE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (44)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • louise a

  • April 2015


This was the best value room we could find in the area and it was very clean, comfortable and breakfast was lovely.

Hosts were very welcoming without being too chatty. Only downside would be the bed was a bit too soft for us but that was no problem for 2 nights.

  • Carl A

  • March 2015

Charming B&B highly recommended

Fantastic B&B highly recommend.

Well equipped clean comfy rooms. Breakfast was great too.

  • N Johnstone

  • March 2015

Lovely West Country Welcome

We had a lovely stay at Hillview Farm.

We received a warm, friendly welcome from Mike and Di when we arrived. Whilst Di showed us to our very cosy room, Mike made us a pot of tea along with a slice of chocolate cake. A lovely little extra that really makes a difference. Our room was absolutely spotless, including the bathroom which was very spacious and like brand new. Mike recommended a pub called the Pack Horse which was 5 minutes drive away in Mark. We enjoyed a great meal there and the staff were a family ran business which was again very warm and friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious, sausages were of good quality and it was all cooked to perfection. The farm has a few cows which after breakfast, Mike introduced us to and we chatted with him about farm life. Our only two small criticisms would be that the shower water flow was a bit on the weak side and the long life milk for the tea in our room did make the tea taste a bit unusual, but these small things in no way affected our stay. . I would like to say a big thank you to Mike and Di as you are lovely people and I would highly recommend Hillview to others.

  • J Davis

  • January 2015

A delightful Farm B&B in Ashton near Cheddar

My husband and I wanted a base to visit the Cheddar Gorge and surrounding areas and I'm thrilled to say we found The Hillview Farm B&B.

The farm was easy to find and with me being partially disabled, being able to park a couple of metres from the entrance was wonderful. On arrival, Mike was the perfect host by offering us tea and then showing us to our room which was an En-Suite (full size bath) Double Room with a lovely view of the countryside. The bathroom window overlooked the back of the farm. The room was immaculate, with plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, milk and an assortment of biscuits. The bed was so comfortable both my husband and I had the best night's sleep we've had in weeks. The dining area and our bedroom had a lot of literature on places to go and things to do which was really helpful. Breakfast, of which we had a large choice, was delicious with most of it being locally sourced by Mike and Di. The meal was more than enough to keep us going till a late afternoon dinner. We were even given a local newspaper to read. Mike made a reservation for us on the first night at a pub 10 minutes away requesting a table near the fireplace which was very welcome in this cold weather. The service and food was excellent so thanks Mike for the recommendation. I would have loved to have been able to see Mike's Limousin cattle but due to foot surgery I'll have to wait till the summer. Hillview Farm was an ideal location for us to visit Weston-Super-Mare, Cheddar Gorge, Glastonbury, Wells Cathedral and the nearby Bishop's Palace (Also saw St Cuthberts) and the beautiful Mendip Hills. We also visited the Ashton Windmill just around the corner which unfortunately wasn't open. We had a wonderful time touring and photographing this area and will definitely be back in the summer. Mike and Di went out of their way to make our stay a very happy and memorable one and the peaceful countryside just added to make it an excellent few days break.

  • mary knight

  • November 2014

Friendly & welcoming

Excellent all round would revisit

  • pauline m

  • November 2014


Excellent welcome.

Food great. Excellent Value. Great place to stay.

  • John Jolley

  • November 2014

Wonderful welcome from Mike & Di.

The rooms are clean & comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Location beautiful.Mike and Di are so helpful with local information. We cant thank them enough.

  • Mike Wayda

  • November 2014

Nice location, very friendly staff

I would highly recommend Hillview to anyone staying in the Cheddar area.

It's located in a beautiful country setting about a 10 to 15 minute drive to Cheddar Gorge. The room was a nice size, and very clean and comfortable. The couple running the B&B were extremely nice, personable, and very accommodating without being intrusive. Breakfast was excellent as well, you certainly will not leave hungry.

  • Bernie Frigot

  • November 2014

what a wonderful weekend!

My wife and I really enjoyed a lovely weekend at Hillview farm and felt welcomed by Mike and Di from the beginning.

We arrived and was welcomed in with a nice hot drink and cake served by Mike . Mike showed us around and took us to our room which exceeded our expectations and was spotlessly clean. The views around the farm were beautiful and a visit to say hello to their herd of Limousin cattle a must. Mike was a mine of local knowledge and very helpful, even offering us a lift to the local pub, the pack horse, recommended by him, which turned out to be delightful which I cannot fault for a lovely meal. The breakfast the next morning was beautiful and freshly cooked and totally set us up for the days sight seeing ahead. As for previous review, I am surprised anyone can find anything less than charming. We were also asked if we didn't mind sharing the breakfast table with other guests and if we did we could eat at a different time. The distance from shops or pub wasn't really a problem and if it was the venue may have been chosen to one nearer facilities... I for one am glad we chose Hill View Farm. We really enjoyed the calm, peaceful surroundings. Hillview farm is ideally placed to visit all the main tourist attractions such as wookey hole, cheddar gorge, the city of Wells and the Mendip Hills. If you are looking for a peaceful break in the mendips, Hillview farm has to be the number one place to stay. Thank you Mike and Di for your 1st class hospitality!

  • L Barlow

  • October 2014

very nice..location lovely if you dont mind being a little isolated

A lovely B & B.

owners very helpful and friendly. Great Breakfast and nice room. Only one table for breakfast so if place full you all share but we didnt mind as only us staying for 2 of the 3 days.but you might not like sharing. location was my only downside. Its set in a lovely but isolated spot. If you dont mind being 15 mins drive from any amenites like a village pub or a morning walk down the road to fetch a paper then its fine. We had some long days out and found it best to eat before getting back. If you want a shower and change before your evening meal then you need to get in the car and drive to a good choice of pubs, but all a fair distance. There is a pub quite close (The Wheatsheaf) but not open at present due to renovationIn so in the autumn and winter with the dark nights you can get lost easily around the narrow country lanes. Spring and summer no problem I would imagine. Even so..A lovely bed and breakfast farmhouse and we enjoyed our stay.