Reviews - The Imperial Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • E Hall

  • June 2015

Very plesent stay

Just the one night at The Imperial, nicely located at the quiet end of town, excellent impression when arriving in the car park.

Check in was a breeze and I felt welcomed to the hotel. The room whist it has not view as such was quite cool and clean. I didn't eat in the restaurant as they have a no jeans policy and having only booked on the day I had no opportunity to pack a change of clothes.

Early checkout meant I missed breakfast.

However a good stay.

  • Ranjan R

  • June 2015

Old world charm in Barnstaple

The hotel is well located on the riverfront next to the town square, with adequate free parking.

We had a room in the River Court which was large, comfortable and well-appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The reasons for not awarding a better rating are: I had to leave by 8:00 am most days, but breakfast officially began at 7:30 am (on one day it was 7:40 am before the doors opened), and the cooked items have to be ordered so I was unable to really enjoy the breakfast. Also, on the last day, whilst packing, we inadvertently moved the bed a few centimetres to the side - exposing a melted toffee stuck to the carpet. I wiped it off best as I could with tissue and rolled the bed back.

  • Roger S

  • March 2015


Happy with accommodation and staff

  • Carlton A

  • March 2015

High Standards

This is a good hotel which attains an excellent overall standard.

The reception desk is well run with efficient and polite staff. My room had a nice view past the clock tower and over the river bridges. There was a good level of cleanliness both in the bedroom and the modern bathroom. This is the best of three hotels I have used in the area.

  • Paul S

  • February 2015

Short Break

Excellent hotel highly recommended

  • Michael C

  • January 2015

Great value stay but the tonic water is cheap and nasty!

Clean and comfortable room with an excellent shower.

The tonic water served in the bar rates 1 star - they need to up their game on that one!!

  • jim s

  • October 2014

stay 24/25 sept

had stayed here last year with the aston martin owners club, room then was adequate,this time i was upgraded on arrival with a lovely sea view & superb room in the main hotel,sat outside on the terrace having a beer ,had to keep getting up to find a waiter for a refill ,bit annoying,breakfast , shown straight to the table, after about 20 mins waiting for someone to take our order ,again had to get up to request a waiter another 5- 10 mins order taken, breakfast eventually arrived after an eternity but nice ,nearly an hour in & out not good when your on a business trip ,lovely hotel excellent location,will stay again, but the staff need a bit more training in customer care.

  • Lydia W

  • September 2014

Customer service

Was mixed - we had a very poor reception by the bar attendant when seeking refreshment whilst awaiting for our room to be ready which did not give a good start to our stay.

We also delighted in the way that we were greeted by one or two of the staff on duty in the main hall who went out of their way to ensure that we had all we needed in a relaxed but professional manner.

  • Alan B

  • September 2014

The food served in the Arlington restaurant was superb and the staff were always friendly and courteous.

An excellent hotel.

  • Emma Middleton

  • June 2014

Elderly resort but cute