No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Imperial Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
THE IMPERIAL, TAW VALE PARADE , BARNSTAPLE, EX32 8NB
The Imperial Hotel is situated in the centre of Barnstaple, England's oldest borough. With old style charm of a traditional townhouse hotel, The Imperial boasts the elegance and luxury of another age. The sumptuous surroundings are perfectly complimented by 1st class service and the finest cuisine.In our Arlington Restaurant we ask you please to follow our preferred dress code of no jeans, trainers or sportswear after 6.30pm

Every bedroom at The Imperial Hotel is designed to reflect the luxury, comfort and style that is so characteristic of the Brend name. Particularly popular are those overlooking the River Taw. Of course, as you would expect, all rooms are en suite, and for those who opt for a deluxe room will find a mini bar and a host of additional extras. We now offer FREE Wi-Fi!

The historic town of Barnstaple with its elegant Georgian buildings can prove a major distraction. Complimented by a plethora of flowers at every turn, it comes as no surprise that Barnstaple is a Britain and World in Bloom winner.

The Green Lanes shopping centre provides Barnstaple with all the big names, making it the main centre for shopping in North Devon. North Devon boasts some of the most spectacular scenery in England, with miles of golden coastline.
Picture of The Imperial Hotel, BARNSTAPLE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not enough in the coffee in room . nothing in the room on arrival and had to call for sachets and not enough sachets of sugar.
Mattress was very very comfy in double room, but very poor quality bed in single room-which was a shame. Lovely location and great staff-second visit and would happily come again.
Many thanks

Reviewed by
Suzanne B

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elderly resort but cute

Reviewed by
Emma Middleton

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dated decor
Hotel was in good location, staff were very helpful, the only negative were the rooms. We had booked a standard room which we were not impressed with, it was dark and small also the view was over the kitchen. We then asked to be upgraded which we were and room had a lovely view of the river and much bigger, the only downside was that it was so out-dated eg swags and tails(eighties decor)

Reviewed by
G Mooney

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent gem of a hotel!
We booked at short notice and felt this hotel appeared to give the best location and value for money in Barnstaple. Everything was exceptional about this hotel, it merits its 4 stars. The staff were exemploray, although a standard room everything was of the highest quality.

Reviewed by
D Laughton

From Chard, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Our room was booked very much last minute and we knew very little about the hotel prior to arriving. Everything was absolutely perfect from the greeting we received at the reception area, quality of the room, and the food was excellent. The staff were all exceptionally polite and attentive and overall we would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. Hopefully, we will return again at a later date.

Reviewed by
Victor Spencer

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel
The hotel was very special and the service was excellent. Lovely room, bathroomwitj all amenities and plenty of hot water. Everything was perfect. Hoghly recommended!

Reviewed by
Trond Wiland

From Stavanger, Norway
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury in a beautiful place
Terrific hotel. Lovely ambience.Even the bar food was great.
could I have kettle in my room please.
staff helpful, polite,nothing too much trouble.Follow up just great.
thank you Laterooms for making this visit possible.

Reviewed by
brian h

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night away
Excellent hotel,with friendly helpful staff

Reviewed by
j sullivan

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was fine but with only one armchair. I requested another but it was not forthcoming.
The upright chair was ok for writing but uncomfortable for watching television.

Reviewed by
J Stockland

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food & service
Traditional English old style hotel.

Reviewed by
M Clarke

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next