No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Barnstaple Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Braunton Road, Barnstaple, EX31 1LE
The hotel's lounge area, with leather sofas and contemporary decor, is the perfect place to put your feet up, and serve equally well as an area to catch up with friends, family or colleagues.

You have the option of 2 excellent eating experiences at the Barnstaple Hotel. The varied restaurant menu makes use of local ingredients and the Sunday carvery is particularly popular among residents and guests alike. The stylish minimal interior design creates a modern feel and creates an ideal setting for you to enjoy a memorable meal in. And with our lively children's menu, you'll find we take great care of our younger guests too.

Alternatively, you can choose from a range of light bites and main meals in the bar and lounge areas. Complete with big screen TVs, you can take some time out to watch live sports events, or find a quiet corner and sip on a professionally mixed cocktail. Perfect.

But what makes the hotel really special is the fantastic on-site health and leisure club, with heated indoor and outdoor pools, a cutting edge gym and range of alternative therapies on offer. How Refreshing.
You'll find plenty of space to make your own here at The Barnstaple Hotel. Your room comes with everything you need for a restful night's sleep, including a TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Your en suite bathroom is stylishly finished with modern fittings. Most rooms have views over the outdoor pool and garden area.

Perhaps more than anything else, it is the location that makes The Barnstaple Hotel so special. Set on the outskirts of England's oldest borough and on the coastal side of the town, the hotel is only a 5 to 10 minute walk from the centre of Barnstaple.

You are ideally placed to discover the delights of North Devon's golden coastline. The miles of beautiful beaches offer everything from water sports to beach combing. Barnstaple itself provides a wealth of things to do, including 10-pin bowling, go-karting and an excellent shopping centre.

All over North Devon, you will find amazing attractions such as the Milky Way Adventure Park and Exmoor Zoo. Or if you enjoy walking, the fantastic sights at Lynmouth, Lynton and The Valley of the Rocks are unmissable.

Picture of The Barnstaple Hotel , Barnstaple at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The barnstaple
Nice stay.

Reviewed by
Kevin

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent stay
Helpful friendly staff
Easy access to town centre
Probably the best breakfast buffet we have had. All local produce, freshly and well cooked and exceedingly tasty

Reviewed by
Vyv T

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Barnstple Hotel
The hotel is a bit dated inside although the quality of the services such as Pool ,Gym and restaurant is very modern.The room had undergone some referb but the mattress was very tiered/ not comfortable and should be changed. our experience at breakfast was not good with limited availability of fresh product on the continental and the hot breakfast was disappointing because it was only warm and was therefore left.To be fair because it was in the last 15 minute of service we did not ask for replacement which I'am sure they would have accommodated and we did not get charged after advising of the experience. The Hotel is on the whole pleasant just check the bed quality when you arrive and do not go down to breakfast nearer end of service .

Reviewed by
gary w

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Barnstaple Hotel
Great service and accommodation.

Reviewed by
kieran b

From West Bromwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

03/02/15
Warm Cosy Accommodation
Excellent Food

Reviewed by
S Stone

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very happy with my stay
I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Andrew Harvey

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, shame about the stairs. Friendly service. Good restaurant. Great breakfast. Good value
Arrived late from a long 6 hours journey. Delighted to find restaurant taking orders till 2100.
Excellent dinner.
Large well served bar area.
Well fitted room. A bit dated though.
Pool area visible from hotel lobby, Nice outlook and surroundings.
Stair access to rooms from reception had very dark 70's panelling, and poor kept carpets.
Very dated, and off putting. Needs a lick of light paint and TLC.
Otherwise a very nice experience, with very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Des Robertshaw

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was a wedding being held one of the nights, me and my partner were not warned. She is heavily pregnant and this ruined our night especially having a long drive back home the following day. We did call reception but no action was taking on how loud the music was. Very disappointing!

Reviewed by
Dan C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really like this hotel
stayed here many times and really like the gym

Reviewed by
J Williams

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is not a spa hotel!
The sauna is old, very, very drafty and kept tripping. No jacuzzi. Nice enough gym, small pool which gets packed.
The room was very clean and comfortable. Low water pressure on showers.
Staff were very polite but ultimately had no decision making powers. I was there for five days and it all stayed the same even though they were all saying how it really does need replacing (sauna stove).

Reviewed by
M Jefferies

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next