No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
91 London Road , Manchester, M1 2PG

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa is Manchester's largest four star hotel, set in the heart of one of Europe's most dynamic and vibrant cities. Easily accessible by road, foot or rail with Manchester Piccadilly Train Station just 150 metres away. Ideal for both business and leisure in Manchester, the hotel is perfectly located for 'shopping until you drop' including the Arndale Centre - Europe's largest city-centre shopping mall, enjoying the vibrant array of bars and restaurants, visiting the city for concerts, theatres and home to 'Manchester City' or 'Manchester United' Football stadiums.

The hotel comprises of 338 bedrooms offering a superb array of home comforts that enable it to distance itself from its competitors. Each of the rooms are spacious with over 28 square metres of space, iPod docking station, air-conditioning, media connection socket, triple glazing, full size hair dryer, complimentary WIFI internet, tea and coffee making facilities, laptop safe, iron and ironing board. The option to upgrade to one of our Executive rooms or Suites is favoured, which offer separate baths and walk in showers and mini bars and some great views of the city skyline.

Harmony & Serenity Spa is the serene haven of tranquillity hidden away in the heart of Manchester City Centre. The Spa boasts 6 treatment rooms including 1 double treatment room, nail bar, large spacious relaxation room, Thermal suite including: 2 heated recliners, rock sauna, infer-red sauna, steam room, ice shower, sensation shower and large fitness centre.
Thermal Suite charges:
£30.00 per person per stay entry fee is applicable to all guests between every Friday 12:00 and Sunday 14:00. Guests who have purchased a min. 1hr treatment are exempt from the entry fee.
Thermal Suite entry remains free of charge to all guests after Sunday 14:00 till Friday 12:00.

The AA Rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club Restaurant offers British cuisine. Breakfast can be purchased at the hotel for £19.50 per person. Secure car park with 85 spaces (first come first served basis). Car parking charge is applicable
Picture of Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 557 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Room was lager than most City Centre hotels, will certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
David V

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Be wary of the spa costs and upgrade
The upgrade to a executive room is a waste of money. The view was of a road and the nearby buildings.
The spa charges you if you want to use those facilities if you haven't booked a treatment.
The room itself was comfortable and spacious and the bathroom had a good sized shower and bath.

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A not so "Happy Wedding Anniversary"
We reserved accommodation at the MacDonald Hotel in Manchester for an overnight stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We have previously stayed in the MacDonald Windsor Hotel and assumed that the standard in Manchester would be the same. Very disappointed. The hotel car park was almost impossible to find and it took us as long to park as it did to journey to Manchester. We arrived at lunchtime and orderd a light snack which took almost an hour to arrive despite the fact that the bar was very quiet. When the food eventually arrived it was in my opinion, overpriced and not fit to eat! Reluctantly we had to send the food back (the first time I have ever done this in a restaurant).. We were offered a replacement meal, and also a free dessert should we eat in the hotel restaurant that evening. Needless to say, dining there for a second time was not an option! Breakfast was very average.
This experience proved to be very disappointing and was not at all comparable with the same hotel in Windsor, and has clouded our view of the MacDonald chain of hotels.
On the morning of our departure we decided to head back home, rather than spend any more time in that area.

Reviewed by
B Wood

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless - first class stay
We stayed over for a short birthday break and enjoyed every second of it. The hotel was immaculate and exceeded our expectations. The room was ready on arrival - staff were friendly and so helpful. We had a few drinks in the bar, the bar attendee was more than helpful and so friendly. The whole atmosphere was relaxing and enjoyable.
We had paid for breakfast which was first class.... all fresh produce and a huge selection to choose from. The waitress was helpful and attentive without being intrusive. We enjoyed every second of our stay and would definitely recommend and stay here again... Faultless.

Reviewed by
Jonathan C

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful friendly staff, room lovely on surface, closer inspection - carpet frayed, wardrobe handle broken. Glad I didn't pay full price

Reviewed by
A Whitaker

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel,parking a bit expensive!

Reviewed by
I Elson

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful room and wonderful food

Reviewed by
A Milner

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
The hotel was very central to all the city attractions and was immaculately clean. The room was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfy. The reception staff were friendly and helpful upon arrival and checkout. I feel that £20 for the hotel car park is slightly excessive as a paying guest. I would recommend the hotel.

Reviewed by
G Pilkington

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience

Reviewed by
S PATHAN

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely hotel the only downside is that you have to pay to leave your car in the car park

Reviewed by
Warren b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next