No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
91 London Road , Manchester, M1 2PG
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa is Manchester's largest four star hotel, set in the heart of one of Europe's most dynamic and vibrant cities. Easily accessible by road, foot or rail with Manchester Piccadilly Train Station just 150 metres away. Ideal for both business and leisure in Manchester, the hotel is perfectly located for 'shopping until you drop' including the Arndale Centre - Europe's largest city-centre shopping mall, enjoying the vibrant array of bars and restaurants, visiting the city for concerts, theatres and home to 'Manchester City' or 'Manchester United' Football stadiums.

The hotel comprises of 338 bedrooms offering a superb array of home comforts that enable it to distance itself from its competitors. Each of the rooms are spacious with over 28 square metres of space, iPod docking station, air-conditioning, media connection socket, triple glazing, full size hair dryer, complimentary WIFI internet, tea and coffee making facilities, laptop safe, iron and ironing board. The option to upgrade to one of our Executive rooms or Suites is favoured, which offer separate baths and walk in showers and mini bars and some great views of the city skyline.

Harmony & Serenity Spa is the serene haven of tranquillity hidden away in the heart of Manchester City Centre. The Spa boasts 6 treatment rooms including 1 double treatment room, nail bar, large spacious relaxation room, Thermal suite including: 2 heated recliners, rock sauna, infer-red sauna, steam room, ice shower, sensation shower and large fitness centre.
Thermal Suite charges:
£30.00 per person per stay entry fee is applicable to all guests between every Friday 12:00 and Sunday 14:00. Guests who have purchased a min. 1hr treatment are exempt from the entry fee.
Thermal Suite entry remains free of charge to all guests after Sunday 14:00 till Friday 12:00.

The AA Rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club Restaurant offers British cuisine. Breakfast can be purchased at the hotel for £19.50 per person. Secure car park with 85 spaces (first come first served basis). Car parking charge is applicable
Picture of Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 423 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonalds Manchester
The room was functional, aimed at the business travel I would think as there were no drawers to put cloths away except some shelves stuffed away behind the wardrobe doors.
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a good sized bath and power shower allow the floor wasn't swept over our stay.
The windows were filthy and I'm not sure how old the hotel is but I think the room could do with a makeover.
We thought the breakfast was expensive at £19.50 but you could eat as much as your tummy could take.
Having said all above we did enjoy our stay and would use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
David Tucker

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was disapointed in the fact that breakfast was not included for the price paid for a nights stay , as when I book with Late Rooms I always make sure breakfast is included , unfortunately neither the Hotel or late could change my booking to include breakfast .

Reviewed by
Clive Jones

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
I was disappointed as there were no complimentary biscuits which I have stayed in a cheaper hotel which provided these, the toiletries were minute not enough for four showers as there were two of us. Door off wardrobe. Quite a let down.

Reviewed by
Barbara P

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Money orientated. over priced compared to other hotels we stayed in the area.as were the facilities.
From the moment we got there everthing was about cost, room upgrade, could not see the diffrence other than on top floor. Extra 30 quid each to use spa because of weekend. We only booked hotel for as advertised as spa hotel. No one informed us of extra. Very disappointed for the money we spent could have done alot better.

Reviewed by
paul b

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be good
Slow elevators. Iffy air conditioning. Expensive at times. Pleasant staff and fairly good quality room. The storage space for clothes was poor. To make room for the trouser press they had taken a lot of the wardrobe space. And they still have those infuriating captive coat hangers. Do people still purloin that stuff?

Reviewed by
Kevin I

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
On arrival, reception staff very friendly and welcoming. Room was large with great view being on the 8th floor. Food in the restaurant was first class along with the service. Cant fault this hotel in any way.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very good service and pleasant room.

Reviewed by
Colette Bennett

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
I requested a quiet room on booking but was told there where none. On arrival. I was given a room over the main road and told it had triple glazing and was very quiet. When I got to the room the noise from the road was easily audible.I went back to reception and told them I couldn't stay in that room, at which they found a quiet room right opposite the one they put me inIt was much quieter, but the plugs by the bed were broken and it was freezing. I will not be booking this hotel again.

Reviewed by
michael t

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding Customer Service
Thank you so much for making my stay so effortless. Reception staff were faultless. Friendly, helpful and efficient it was an absolute pleasure. Particular note was Anna Marie, what a fantastic ambassador for a lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
l clarke

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bar Facilities
Everything about the hotel is elegant but the bar facilities. You get in there and you are let down by the uncleanliness of the tables and chairs, the rudeness of the bar staff and there attire is atrocious and the quality of products that you serve. Less is more in this area. A £30+ bottle of wine should be a good bottle not some cheap vinegary stuff that because it says "organic" means it has to cost a bomb.

Reviewed by
R Henderson

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next