No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
91 London Road , Manchester, M1 2PG

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa is Manchester's largest four star hotel, set in the heart of one of Europe's most dynamic and vibrant cities. Easily accessible by road, foot or rail with Manchester Piccadilly Train Station just 150 metres away. Ideal for both business and leisure in Manchester, the hotel is perfectly located for 'shopping until you drop' including the Arndale Centre - Europe's largest city-centre shopping mall, enjoying the vibrant array of bars and restaurants, visiting the city for concerts, theatres and home to 'Manchester City' or 'Manchester United' Football stadiums.

The hotel comprises of 338 bedrooms offering a superb array of home comforts that enable it to distance itself from its competitors. Each of the rooms are spacious with over 28 square metres of space, iPod docking station, air-conditioning, media connection socket, triple glazing, full size hair dryer, complimentary WIFI internet, tea and coffee making facilities, laptop safe, iron and ironing board. The option to upgrade to one of our Executive rooms or Suites is favoured, which offer separate baths and walk in showers and mini bars and some great views of the city skyline.

Harmony & Serenity Spa is the serene haven of tranquillity hidden away in the heart of Manchester City Centre. The Spa boasts 6 treatment rooms including 1 double treatment room, nail bar, large spacious relaxation room, Thermal suite including: 2 heated recliners, rock sauna, infer-red sauna, steam room, ice shower, sensation shower and large fitness centre.

The AA Rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club Restaurant offers British cuisine. Check out extended on Sundays to 12pm. Breakfast can be purchased at the hotel for £19.50 per person. Secure car park with 85 spaces (first come first served basis).

Picture of Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 585 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
The hotel was very central to all the city attractions and was immaculately clean. The room was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfy. The reception staff were friendly and helpful upon arrival and checkout. I feel that £20 for the hotel car park is slightly excessive as a paying guest. I would recommend the hotel.

Reviewed by
G Pilkington

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience

Reviewed by
S PATHAN

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely hotel the only downside is that you have to pay to leave your car in the car park

Reviewed by
Warren b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in Manchester
We had one night in this very modern hotel within easy walking distance of the city, restaurants etc. the stall were welcoming, efficient and good humoured. the room was spacious with wall to wall windows, light, airy, spotlessly clean and such a comfortable bed. This is the best hotel we have stayed in in a long time. Breakfast was 'man food' and recommended.

Reviewed by
linda D

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay just unfortunate the room service food didnt turn up

Reviewed by
Jenna S

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

!st Class...!
A warm welcome from Ciara was followed by a brief but informative introduction to the hotel.... All in all, a very friendly reception. The room was amazing. Superb panoramic views of Manchester, and maybe the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. What a fantastic treat it was. Many thanks to the Macdonald for providing a outstanding experience.

Reviewed by
Simon H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Great hotel very clean, quite pricey for what it was but great location 5 min walk to canal street and 2min walk to Piccadilly station, if it was slightly cheaper I would stay again

Reviewed by
R bates

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Donald Mcdonald needs a new manager in Manchester
Broken shower head! and unmaintainable water temperature :-( Broken docking station :-( and broken hairdryer, and this was an upgraded room, we were given a complimentary sandwich and told the £20 a night parking fee would be overlooked, The following morning the Very rude and unsympathetic duty manager told us the parking fee would not be overlooked and made us out to be liars! We booked out a day early ...By far my worst experiences at a Mcdonald hotel :-( Been to two of the Scottish ones on many occasions and have always had a great time.

Reviewed by
Deborah Smith

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, Clean facilities in a perfect accessible location from car or train for Central Manchester.

Reviewed by
K Burns

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel in a great location next to Piccadilly Station. Our twin room was enormous and the bed probably the most comofortable of any hotel bed I have ever slept in! The finish in the room and bathroom is particularly high and it was scrupulously clean.
Staff extremely efficient and friendly, particularly the very helpful concierge.
Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
T Doyle

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next