No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
91 London Road , Manchester, M1 2PG

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa is Manchester's largest four star hotel, set in the heart of one of Europe's most dynamic and vibrant cities. Easily accessible by road, foot or rail with Manchester Piccadilly Train Station just 150 metres away. Ideal for both business and leisure in Manchester, the hotel is perfectly located for 'shopping until you drop' including the Arndale Centre - Europe's largest city-centre shopping mall, enjoying the vibrant array of bars and restaurants, visiting the city for concerts, theatres and home to 'Manchester City' or 'Manchester United' Football stadiums.

The hotel comprises of 338 bedrooms offering a superb array of home comforts that enable it to distance itself from its competitors. Each of the rooms are spacious with over 28 square metres of space, iPod docking station, air-conditioning, media connection socket, triple glazing, full size hair dryer, complimentary WIFI internet, tea and coffee making facilities, laptop safe, iron and ironing board. The option to upgrade to one of our Executive rooms or Suites is favoured, which offer separate baths and walk in showers and mini bars and some great views of the city skyline.

Harmony & Serenity Spa is the serene haven of tranquillity hidden away in the heart of Manchester City Centre. The Spa boasts 6 treatment rooms including 1 double treatment room, nail bar, large spacious relaxation room, Thermal suite including: 2 heated recliners, rock sauna, infer-red sauna, steam room, ice shower, sensation shower and large fitness centre.
Thermal Suite charges:
£30.00 per person per stay entry fee is applicable to all guests between every Friday 12:00 and Sunday 14:00. Guests who have purchased a min. 1hr treatment are exempt from the entry fee.
Thermal Suite entry remains free of charge to all guests after Sunday 14:00 till Friday 12:00.

The AA Rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club Restaurant offers British cuisine. Breakfast can be purchased at the hotel for £19.50 per person. Secure car park with 85 spaces (first come first served basis). Car parking charge is applicable
Picture of Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 494 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
Excellent room and customer service.

Reviewed by
kevin A

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Rooms
The hotel room and bathroom was outstanding

Reviewed by
R Suzan

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely terrible .
My Christmas gift of an over night stay was ruined by the staffs incompetence.

Reviewed by
Ross H

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Very comfortable spacious rooms. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Ideally located for train station and short walk to shops

Reviewed by
k bowe

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Great hotel in a most convenient location.

Reviewed by
Ron B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great location went to o2 only a short walk and city shopping hotel staff brill room excellent food and bar very nice

Reviewed by
adrian d

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reliably excellent stay at a MacDonald hotel
We have stayed at this hotel (and others within the portfolio) previously, so knew that we could expect high standards.
The staff were highly efficient and friendly, and check in was quick and easy. We went for an Executive Double, and the view out over Manchester was superb. The room was a nice size, very clean and with all mod cons.
The highlight for us was breakfast. The food was superb, with a fantastic range from pastries to cereals to cooked breakfast. My wife asked for scrambled egg and the hotel staff were very happy to oblige, and quickly too.
Overall we felt this was exceptional value for money, having stayed on a Sunday night the rate was substantially reduced. We will definitely be back soon.

Reviewed by
Duncan L

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exsecuitve suit no slippers or robe and stains on floor

Reviewed by
ben m

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best hotels in Manchester
I stay in hotels in Manchester about 4 times a year, and this was my first stay in Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa. The staff were pleasant, and the bar staff were extremely accommodating, with one of the staff happy to mix a cocktail that wasn't on the bar menu. The room was clean and comfortable. And the location of the hotel was just perfect, right by Piccadilly station and in the city centre, perfect. Will definitely consider staying they again.

Reviewed by
T Larkin

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, friendly staff
The room was nice and modern, hotel facilities seemed good, and the staff seemed nice. Pretty good as a place to stay!

Reviewed by
Jim D

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next