No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tinhay Mill Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Station Road, Tinhay, , Lifton, PL16 0AJ
Margaret and Paul welcome you to Tinhay Mill, Situated in the quiet village of Lifton, 1 mile from the A30, 2 miles from Cornwall and 10 miles from Dartmoor. Refurbished to a high comfortable standard with guest amenities. 6 double bedrooms are Super King, King or Twin rooms. (Free tea or coffee and free wireless internet are available). Our breakfast menu, use only fresh locally sourced produce. Step back in time in this character 15th centry building with it's beamed ceilings, open fire places thick walls, and many nooks and crannies. Tinhay Mill is a delightful retreat from the hurly-burly of modern life. Walls hide a petite well manicured garden, lawn, licensed patio and secure car park, a lock up garage is available. A guest lounge is avilable, Centrally based for anyone on business or visiting Cornwall's famous Heritage, Coast or Eden project, Devon's wonderful countryside, Dartmoor and local National Trust properties. Devon and Cornwall are renowned for their natural beauty - the coast, Dartmoor, country houses and gardens. Nearby Plymouth is famed for the Pilgrim Fathers, Drake, The National Marine Aquarium and Theatre Royal. Country pursuits include - horse riding on Dartmoor, fishing, sailing, cycling, bird watching, walking, water sports and golf. All of which are within easy reach to Tinhay Mill and can be arranged. Lifton is the perfect base - whether you visit the beauty of Dartmoor National Park, Devon and Cornwall coastlines or the wonderful gardens, houses, castles.
Picture of Tinhay Mill Guest House, Lifton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little haven. In Devon
What a great stop over on our way Down to Cornwall . Local pub and great food within a five minute walk. And delightful village and farm shop nearby. Just off A30 . Best breakfast we have tasted .
Ideal if you need a good sleep and relaxing start to your holiday .

Reviewed by
John H

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable night's stay. Hosts are very welcoming. Every thing you could possibly want in a B & B

Reviewed by
j chilcott

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for an overnight stop or an even longer stay. A beautifully presented dwelling and a most comforting welcome from 'mine hosts'.

Reviewed by
Howard E

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Treat
Tinhay Mill is set on a main road that is surprisingly quiet with safe private parking. A delightful old world restaurant and guest house where excellent food is beautifully presented. A good sized room tastefully decorated and with all amenities. The proprietors, Margaret and Paul and their staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. To start the day, a breakfast where everything is fresh not frozen or tinned, and again beautifully presented. We enjoyed a very relaxing unhurried couple of days. Thank you very much.

Reviewed by
S R

From England
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was somewhat dated
We spent the weekend at Tinhay, although the accommodation was somewhat dated, everything was warm, friendly and homely.
The owners Margaret and her Husband were great, they could not do enough to make us feel welcome, Margaret is a well accomplished chef, the food whilst I thought was over priced was absolutely fabulous.
I would absolutely recommend this guest house to anyone contemplating a visit to Lifton

Reviewed by
Adrian Yates

From England
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, homely and very welcoming
Paul and Margaret are great proprietors and Margaret is a fantastic cook (the food is one of the reasons I have choosen to stay here again). Highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Reviewed by
Kyle C

From England
Who stayed in July 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night business trip.
This B&B is a wonderful find, very clean, very welcoming and great food. Would recomend highly and stay again if visiting this area in the future.

Reviewed by
A Earle

From St Albans, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A superb Devon break
We decided to spend a couple of days in Devon to visit a couple of specific places. Tinhay Mill was the ideal base from which to explore the lovely countryside around - and we got some sun as well.
Margaret and Paul are the perfect hosts and their passion shines through. Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable with gorgeous cotton bedlinen and a vast bed! And the thing I loved most about the bathroom was its window.
Margaret is a fantastic chef. We had two of the best meals we've ever eaten in the intimate restaurant. Everything - and I mean everything - is home made, and her use of home-grown herbs is stunning. Innovative and careful cooking with fresh, locally sourced ingredients - what's not to love? The attention to detail is exquisite, with beautifully prepared vegetable dishes to complement the mains, and even a delicious palate-cleansing sorbet after the first course.
Breakfasts are magnificent. We went full English the first morning; vegetarian the second. Every plate was so tasty we're still talking about them.
Tinhay Mill is truly a special place. We came away feeling completely spoilt and pampered and even the rain didn't dampen our spirits. You have got to get yourselves to west Devon and experience the unique Tinhay hospitality. You won't regret it...

Reviewed by
Liz Carr

From Staines, England
Who stayed in June 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent isn't too strong a word for Tinhay Mill Guest House!
We thought that Tinhay would be an appropriate stop after leaving Dorset in the early evening. The roads were reasonably clear and we arrived in time to book in and eat in the restaurant at 8pm. The welcome was friendly and helpful, our room had tea and biscuits available and was extremely comfortable. Dinner was freshly prepared, absolutely delicious, and washed down with lovely wine from an extensive menu. After a comfortable night we were treated to a full English breakfast which set us up for a day at the Eden Project. I can't recommend this place too highly - friendly, efficient service, comfortable room with ensuite, and excellent food and wine. Thank you everyone!

Reviewed by
Jennifer D

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not to be passed by
Although we only stayed for one night the quality of food and the room were superb. Paul and Margaret are indeed fine hosts and made our stay relaxed and enjoyable.

Reviewed by
j stubbs

From walgrave, England
Who stayed in April 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.