No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The CASWELL

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
25 Gloucester Street Victoria, London, SW1V 2DB
The Caswell Hotel is a petite hotel located near Victoria Station in the heart of London. Offering great value low cost accommodation the caswell is ideally located for sightseeing, shopping trips and business on a Budget.
With Free Wifi and a daily Continental Breakfast included in all of our rates the Caswell is a preferred budget accommodation option for those looking for a cheap Central London Hotel.

We will pre-authorise your card 48 hours prior to your arrival date. Full payment will be taken on arrival. We would like to verify the card details personally on arrival. If guest can't verify as card holder then we need pre-arrangement of Authorisation letter and copies of the card both the sides.

Picture of The CASWELL, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
53% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but very dated.
Really handy location, the staff were very helpful. The room was very dated and could have been cleaner (found a clump of hair in the bed), the en-suite was quite funny was more like a little box with a toilet and shower squashed in. Breakfast was just toast or cereal you could get yourself, just wasn't what my friend or I were expecting from the included breakfast, maybe should specify.

Reviewed by
Kristina D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely abysmal customer service - I was greeted on arrival by a ridiculous request to authorise payment, even though my secretary had paid in advance. The reception area was horrible and the receptionist rude and uncooperative.
The room was also horrible, with dated decor, poor quality facilities, not very clean and extremely stuffy.
This was undoubtedly the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

Reviewed by
M Kelly

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, but damp smelling and cold!
Stayed for one night. Room smelt very damp, but when I mentioned this is the morning receptionist either didn't understand or didn't care. Was put in room for four, although cannot imagine fitting four in comfortably - double beds were against wall and literally end to end.
Positives - plenty of tea/coffee, tv and safe in the room. Shared toilet and shower, but bonus sink in room. Okay for sleeping only.

Reviewed by
C Sorohan

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Opinion of Caswell
Grim! with a capital G! The carpet must be at least 50 yrs old, the so called en-suite was a converted cupboard and the reception was a very depressing back office which conjured up the description Seedy!

Reviewed by
J Haines

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was the worst place I ever stayed in
Rude receptionist asking for the room to be paid for as soon as you come in.
Reception area is like a prison tiny cell. Had to carry luggage to the 4th floor - no lift.
Scruffy & dirty carpets throughout. No wifi, unless you want to sit with the receptionist in his cell!
Shared tiny toilets and 'shower cabins' that are less than 1x1 m square area...
Creased non ironed cheapest curtains, see through curtains held on a wire! Dirty old carpets...
Breakfast room no room for all guests shamefully no toast and coffee to help yourself with.
Dont waste your money - don't go there - you will be depressed !

Reviewed by
s knowles

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again
Four of us were cramped into a room that I would say a double bed would be enough furniture with the wardrobe that the room could fit. Couldn't move, unclean toilets, strange security system were you have to give them your room key everytime you leave. Breakfast was ridiculous too. I expected the room to be tight but not that tight. Only plus was great links to transport with it being 10min walk from Victoria.

Reviewed by
Amy L

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff but noisy room and in desperate need of a refurb!
Beware if staying in the basement. I've stayed all over London and this is the noisiest place I have ever stayed in. The room is below the reception so you can hear the receptionist walking around all nice, since the walls and floors are like cardboard. That said, the staff were friendly. But you should really warn people how noisy this place is ahead of their stay! And would it really cost you that much to spruce the place up a little? Never again, sorry.

Reviewed by
Alex P

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good central location
Was convenient and very centrally located with all the restaurants and bars that Victoria/Pimlico has to offer so the stumble back is not so painful!!!

Reviewed by
Hylton W

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing what prices one can ask for this shabby (but clean) hotel; rooms without shower/toilet

Reviewed by
Gé van Soest

From Bemmel, Netherlands
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we was lovely. The staff were very friendly and there was plenty to eat at breakfast.
We stayed in the en-suit room and the bathroom was small but it was perfect for the three night stay. We had a nosey at the shared bathroom facilities and they looked really nice and they were clean. We couldn't hear the other guests in the hotel or much noise from outside.
The room had tea/coffee facilities, fresh towels daily and a comfy bed. We was in room 15 which was on the 3rd floor, there is no lift (for obvious reason of the type of building) but they are no problem even with cases.
The staff were friendly and we had no problems. It is a very short walk to the station with a local Sainsbury's on the way, Buckingham palace is also a walking distance from the hotel, it didn't take us long at all. Really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Gemma W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next