No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The CASWELL

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
25 Gloucester Street Victoria, London, SW1V 2DB
The Caswell Hotel is a petite hotel located near Victoria Station in the heart of London. Offering great value low cost accommodation the caswell is ideally located for sightseeing, shopping trips and business on a Budget.
With Free Wifi and a daily Continental Breakfast included in all of our rates the Caswell is a preferred budget accommodation option for those looking for a cheap Central London Hotel.

We will pre-authorise your card 48 hours prior to your arrival date. Full payment will be taken on arrival. We would like to verify the card details personally on arrival. If guest can't verify as card holder then we need pre-arrangement of Authorisation letter and copies of the card both the sides.

Picture of The CASWELL, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived the manager was on reception he was very polite and showed us to our room. Room was big with nice bed but mouldy milk in the fridge which the manager apologised for and room smelled of damp

Reviewed by
l hiscock

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Caswell prison
It's the worse hotel ive stayed in, in over 35 years, it's small, tatty, dirty and the toilet and shower would not be fit for a run down prison.

Reviewed by
Cliff Brown

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for/ a bit less
Nothing wrong with it, just wasn't that nice.

Reviewed by
P Ratcliffe

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but very dated.
Really handy location, the staff were very helpful. The room was very dated and could have been cleaner (found a clump of hair in the bed), the en-suite was quite funny was more like a little box with a toilet and shower squashed in. Breakfast was just toast or cereal you could get yourself, just wasn't what my friend or I were expecting from the included breakfast, maybe should specify.

Reviewed by
Kristina D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely abysmal customer service - I was greeted on arrival by a ridiculous request to authorise payment, even though my secretary had paid in advance. The reception area was horrible and the receptionist rude and uncooperative.
The room was also horrible, with dated decor, poor quality facilities, not very clean and extremely stuffy.
This was undoubtedly the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

Reviewed by
M Kelly

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, but damp smelling and cold!
Stayed for one night. Room smelt very damp, but when I mentioned this is the morning receptionist either didn't understand or didn't care. Was put in room for four, although cannot imagine fitting four in comfortably - double beds were against wall and literally end to end.
Positives - plenty of tea/coffee, tv and safe in the room. Shared toilet and shower, but bonus sink in room. Okay for sleeping only.

Reviewed by
C Sorohan

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 out of 10
Not impressed to be honest. 5 or 6 story town house, no lift.
I booked a single room for forty something pounds.
Was given an attic room. 5 or 6 (lost count) floors up stairs.
Tiny room, single bed, old mattress, sink in room smelt of urine!. Toilet & shower are across the landing. But you open the door to the shower and step into the shower tray! There is nowhere to hang your clothes or towel? Toilet is also tiny, no elbow room.
They may have better rooms with ensuite, but I can only comment on the one I had.
Awful.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Opinion of Caswell
Grim! with a capital G! The carpet must be at least 50 yrs old, the so called en-suite was a converted cupboard and the reception was a very depressing back office which conjured up the description Seedy!

Reviewed by
J Haines

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was the worst place I ever stayed in
Rude receptionist asking for the room to be paid for as soon as you come in.
Reception area is like a prison tiny cell. Had to carry luggage to the 4th floor - no lift.
Scruffy & dirty carpets throughout. No wifi, unless you want to sit with the receptionist in his cell!
Shared tiny toilets and 'shower cabins' that are less than 1x1 m square area...
Creased non ironed cheapest curtains, see through curtains held on a wire! Dirty old carpets...
Breakfast room no room for all guests shamefully no toast and coffee to help yourself with.
Dont waste your money - don't go there - you will be depressed !

Reviewed by
s knowles

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again
Four of us were cramped into a room that I would say a double bed would be enough furniture with the wardrobe that the room could fit. Couldn't move, unclean toilets, strange security system were you have to give them your room key everytime you leave. Breakfast was ridiculous too. I expected the room to be tight but not that tight. Only plus was great links to transport with it being 10min walk from Victoria.

Reviewed by
Amy L

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next