No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The CASWELL

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
25 Gloucester Street Victoria, London, SW1V 2DB
The Caswell Hotel is a petite hotel located near Victoria Station in the heart of London. Offering great value low cost accommodation the caswell is ideally located for sightseeing, shopping trips and business on a Budget.
With Free Wifi and a daily Continental Breakfast included in all of our rates the Caswell is a preferred budget accommodation option for those looking for a cheap Central London Hotel.

We will pre-authorise your card 48 hours prior to your arrival date. Full payment will be taken on arrival. We would like to verify the card details personally on arrival. If guest can't verify as card holder then we need pre-arrangement of Authorisation letter and copies of the card both the sides.

Picture of The CASWELL, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's a dump
Biggest mistake in booking ever, it's not a hotel, it's more of a guest house, shared bathrooms, in this day and age are not acceptable, we had the triple room (which is how I thought shared bathrooms came into it), as it was the only one available, which consisted of a double and a single bed crammed into one room with about 18inches between them, the room smelt musty as if not used for a while. The reception area was not clean, the seat offered whist the paperwork was sullenly shoved towards you was filthy, the agent seemed to think that saying 'its in english' was in some way helpful, and seemed to suggest that 'well you know london is different, it's not so nice' when we started to express our reservations. We stayed for long enough to do ourselves a favour and book a much nicer chain hotel at the same price, and then we left. At the £146 price point it's not worth it, at £50 you are probably looking at the value that this room should have attached to it. Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute saviour
I ended up staying here after a last minute problem with my original hotel, the staff dealt fanaticly with me in my slightly panicked and trying to deal with multiple issues state. The room itself was simple, clean and quiet. I'm not sure it would have been entirely comfortable for 2 people, but for myself it was fine. Breakfast was cereal, fruit and toast, I was given 4 slices and a croissant which was more than enough for one. Only downside was the toilet being separate but it wasn't far from my room.

Reviewed by
Rebecca C

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Improving your Hotel
This is the worst hotel I have stayed in for a long time.
The Idea of having a hotel as small and out of date as this is like a nightmare for someone who is taking their wife.
You should either close this down and get it more updated - or unite it with the building next door as it is such an unpleasant place to take a lady
Improve and you will get more customers!!

Reviewed by
Tony W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stat away!! Very Rude hotel owner!!!!
The hotel owner was extremely rude and unreasonable whilst I tried to change a reservation. I did not read the reviews of the hotel and booked a room (my fault I know). I instantly rang them up after reading all the horrific reviews about mould, hair on the bed and very old dated rooms (within 5-10 mins). The receptionist who claimed to be the hotel owner would not listen to me even after I said my trip had been cancelled! He did not offer any sympathy and wouldn't listen to anything I was saying and kept over speaking whilst I was talking. It was obvious that others had done the same and money was the only thing he was after!!! He put me in basement which had 4 beds in a very small room, even when there was only me staying. The room clearly hadn't been cleaned well, thank god the sheets were cleaned or I would have taken a loss of the £120 and walked out. I would never in a million years come back to this place even if it was the last place on earth!!! Stay away! Also one more thing they lie on the facilities as it only has Wifi on the ground floor not in any of the rooms!

Reviewed by
K Daniel

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Met expectations
I wanted a low end short stay (3 nights) in the area. Staff were great, the stairs to the top floor (all 70 of them) were suggested to be part of the hotels fitness regime (no lift) - I could relate to the humour. The hotel delivered what I expected.

Reviewed by
C Mayers

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived the manager was on reception he was very polite and showed us to our room. Room was big with nice bed but mouldy milk in the fridge which the manager apologised for and room smelled of damp

Reviewed by
l hiscock

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Caswell prison
It's the worse hotel ive stayed in, in over 35 years, it's small, tatty, dirty and the toilet and shower would not be fit for a run down prison.

Reviewed by
Cliff Brown

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for/ a bit less
Nothing wrong with it, just wasn't that nice.

Reviewed by
P Ratcliffe

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but very dated.
Really handy location, the staff were very helpful. The room was very dated and could have been cleaner (found a clump of hair in the bed), the en-suite was quite funny was more like a little box with a toilet and shower squashed in. Breakfast was just toast or cereal you could get yourself, just wasn't what my friend or I were expecting from the included breakfast, maybe should specify.

Reviewed by
Kristina D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely abysmal customer service - I was greeted on arrival by a ridiculous request to authorise payment, even though my secretary had paid in advance. The reception area was horrible and the receptionist rude and uncooperative.
The room was also horrible, with dated decor, poor quality facilities, not very clean and extremely stuffy.
This was undoubtedly the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

Reviewed by
M Kelly

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next