No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Head Hotel by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place,Masham , Masham, HG4 4EF
A fine18th century Georgian inn in the Lower Wensleydale market town of Masham, The King’s Head Hotel dominates the historic market square with its Yorkshire stone exterior and distinctive carriageway arch.

Close to the A1 and less than 20 miles from Harrogate, The King’s Head is a perfect Yorkshire Dales base for business meetings or a last minute short break. The hotel has ample public parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room.
With old beams and original windows, the hotel has 27 en-suite bedrooms including family, twin and executive rooms with Jacuzzi baths. All rooms have flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample public parking and a Chef & Brewer pub restaurant on site serving Masham’s famous local brewery ales.

The hotel is just off the A6108, around 15 minutes from the A1 motorway. Lightwater Valley, breathtaking Fountains Abbey and the lovely market towns of Thirsk and Ripon are all within easy reach.
Picture of Kings Head Hotel by Good Night Inns, Masham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking was a great find
I booked this hotel last minute for a work trip. A great find. I got a good deal with breakfast included. Staff were super friendly and the food a beer was good, admittedly not high class dining, just good honest food from this Chef & Brewer hotel.
I will definitely stay here again if I'm up in North Yorks.

Reviewed by
Thomas G

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit of Yorkshire heaven
The hotel faces on to the Masham village square with the bigger more luxurious rooms in the main building but there are self contained 'chalet rooms' at the rear in converted stables/farm outhouses. These are pretty basic but comfortable and the one in which I stayed had a modern newly installed bathroom suite with excellent shower. It was a very tall room with mixed original stone and plaster work but short on floorspace and lacked a seat on which to sit - just the bed. Ideal for the weary traveller on a single or two overnight stay but for a longer stay best choose one of the bigger rooms. But with Theakstone's Brewery on one side of the main road and the Black Sheep Brewery on the other, what more could a beer drinker want?

Reviewed by
J Fife

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing time
great room away from the bar area was like a private suite very spacious

Reviewed by
p jubb

From sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and created a relaxed atmosphere in this charming, historic hotel. Great pub grub in the bar, and full range of breakfast options. The full English was not overloaded with salt, as they can be elsewhere. The hotel provided an ideal base to explore the beauty and tranquility of the Yorkshire Dales. Just two negatives: I wish I had discovered this gem sooner, and I wish I had ordered a Black Sheep in the bar (a local beer). Maybe next time...

Reviewed by
Dean F

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay. Fantastic customer service
I booked this room for my parents as I was attending a wedding at Swinton Park and they had offered to babysit. They had nothing but positive comments for the room overlooking the square. Very spaciousness, clean and great value. I also found the customer service excellent when i rang up to prepay for the room and especially when I found out my parents had left clothes in the wardrobe on departure. They offered to go to the post office in the next 30 mins to send them back, above and beyond the service I had expected but keen to put the customer first. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Laura Reilly

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Na
Na

Reviewed by
Michael H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place To Stay When Visiting Lightwater Valley :)
We had a one night stay in a family room whilst on a 2 day visit to Lightwater Valley. The hotel was lovely, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had evening meal and breakfast there and both meals were great and the service was brilliant. I'd recommend the Kings Head and will be back!!

Reviewed by
Natalie J

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in great location. little gem just outside the dales.
Second time stayed at this hotel. This time stayed in the converted stable block in what was the tack room. Room was ok not as good as the room in the main hotel we were allocated last year. Bed nice and comfortable and had no problems sleeping after long days in the dales and sampling the excellent food and black sheep beer the hotel provided. Bathroom nice and clean and plenty of hot water every day and fresh towels provided. Staff are what make this hotel and can not fault them at all. Chloe at breakfast time was always bright and cheerful. Will return again to the hotel which is a little gem. Thank for a wonderful stay.

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's our second visit
Great value accommodation in a lovely market town, handy for visits to Ripon, light water valley and lots more in the surrounding area.

Reviewed by
J Ritchie

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Kings Head Masham Aug 2014. Family room.
We booked a family room which was in the courtyard behind the main building. The accommodation had a bed settee for the children, not so comfortable but ok for kids, although if you had 2 teenagers they might not be so happy with this.......it was fine for us for one night. The room had a mezzanine with a super king bed which was very comfortable. It was a clean and comfortable room overall, and no complaints from us. The bathroom did have some spiders lurking and the mastic around the bath and floor had seem better days, but as I said, overall it was very good.
We found all of the staff to be very friendly and polite, the food was excellent. Breakfast was not included, which did bump the price up, but it was very good.
I'm not sure that we would have wanted to stay more than a few nights, just because of the bed settee arrangement, but great for a short stopover. Our total cost for a family of 4 plus evening meal and breakfast was around £180 if that's any help.

Reviewed by
Mark Beuchet

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next