No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Head Hotel by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place,Masham , Masham, HG4 4EF
A fine18th century Georgian inn in the Lower Wensleydale market town of Masham, The King’s Head Hotel dominates the historic market square with its Yorkshire stone exterior and distinctive carriageway arch.

Close to the A1 and less than 20 miles from Harrogate, The King’s Head is a perfect Yorkshire Dales base for business meetings or a last minute short break. The hotel has ample public parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room.
With old beams and original windows, the hotel has 27 en-suite bedrooms including family, twin and executive rooms with Jacuzzi baths. All rooms have flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample public parking and a Chef & Brewer pub restaurant on site serving Masham’s famous local brewery ales.

The hotel is just off the A6108, around 15 minutes from the A1 motorway. Lightwater Valley, breathtaking Fountains Abbey and the lovely market towns of Thirsk and Ripon are all within easy reach.
Picture of Kings Head Hotel by Good Night Inns, Masham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Break
Nice centrally located hotel. Easy to explore the village and within easy walk of the Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely room with spotless bathroom and nice view over the Market Place.

Reviewed by
Stuart P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just needs a little more attention to detail in bedrooms
A lovely venue, excellent food and efficient service. Just let down by bedroom quality. Cobwebs on ceiling, bedside lights both had broken bulbs, curtains had hooks missing and a king sized bed squashed into an only slightly bigger than kingsize bed room.

Reviewed by
Peter L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel with warm welcome
The hotel is in an excellent location off the market square. The food was really good and delicious but we had to pay extra for cooked breakfast which wasn't made clear when we ordered it. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to friends

Reviewed by
k pearl

From Heckmondwike, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy friendly place. Great staff, good food and excellent ale.

Reviewed by
Karen D

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking was a great find
I booked this hotel last minute for a work trip. A great find. I got a good deal with breakfast included. Staff were super friendly and the food a beer was good, admittedly not high class dining, just good honest food from this Chef & Brewer hotel.
I will definitely stay here again if I'm up in North Yorks.

Reviewed by
Thomas G

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit of Yorkshire heaven
The hotel faces on to the Masham village square with the bigger more luxurious rooms in the main building but there are self contained 'chalet rooms' at the rear in converted stables/farm outhouses. These are pretty basic but comfortable and the one in which I stayed had a modern newly installed bathroom suite with excellent shower. It was a very tall room with mixed original stone and plaster work but short on floorspace and lacked a seat on which to sit - just the bed. Ideal for the weary traveller on a single or two overnight stay but for a longer stay best choose one of the bigger rooms. But with Theakstone's Brewery on one side of the main road and the Black Sheep Brewery on the other, what more could a beer drinker want?

Reviewed by
J Fife

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing time
great room away from the bar area was like a private suite very spacious

Reviewed by
p jubb

From sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and created a relaxed atmosphere in this charming, historic hotel. Great pub grub in the bar, and full range of breakfast options. The full English was not overloaded with salt, as they can be elsewhere. The hotel provided an ideal base to explore the beauty and tranquility of the Yorkshire Dales. Just two negatives: I wish I had discovered this gem sooner, and I wish I had ordered a Black Sheep in the bar (a local beer). Maybe next time...

Reviewed by
Dean F

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay. Fantastic customer service
I booked this room for my parents as I was attending a wedding at Swinton Park and they had offered to babysit. They had nothing but positive comments for the room overlooking the square. Very spaciousness, clean and great value. I also found the customer service excellent when i rang up to prepay for the room and especially when I found out my parents had left clothes in the wardrobe on departure. They offered to go to the post office in the next 30 mins to send them back, above and beyond the service I had expected but keen to put the customer first. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Laura Reilly

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Na
Na

Reviewed by
Michael H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next