No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Head Hotel by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place,Masham , Masham, HG4 4EF
A fine18th century Georgian inn in the Lower Wensleydale market town of Masham, The King’s Head Hotel dominates the historic market square with its Yorkshire stone exterior and distinctive carriageway arch.

Close to the A1 and less than 20 miles from Harrogate, The King’s Head is a perfect Yorkshire Dales base for business meetings or a last minute short break. The hotel has ample public parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room.
With old beams and original windows, the hotel has 27 en-suite bedrooms including family, twin and executive rooms with Jacuzzi baths. All rooms have flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample public parking and a Chef & Brewer pub restaurant on site serving Masham’s famous local brewery ales.

The hotel is just off the A6108, around 15 minutes from the A1 motorway. Lightwater Valley, breathtaking Fountains Abbey and the lovely market towns of Thirsk and Ripon are all within easy reach.
Picture of Kings Head Hotel by Good Night Inns, Masham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Head Masham
We stayed a night here whilst visiting some of the sites locally, Masham is a lovely town and this hotel right on the market square has some lovely rooms coverted from the old stables and buildings behind the hotel itself. very friendly and helpful staff, we were even allowed to have the dog with us. good sized bathrooms in both rooms - could have done with a bath plug on a chain that fitted as the bathwater is indeed very hot and the bath fills quickly!

Reviewed by
Nigel R

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay.
Very pleased with my visit. A nice room, good food, easy parking. Excellent value, too.

Reviewed by
J Elliott

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yorkshire Dale Weekend
The hotel is nicely located in the social town of Masham. Service was easy and polite and the hotel was clean and tidy. TV only had BBC channels that I could work out (maybe just me) but I wasn't in the area for watching that anyway! It has a great bar and nice easy breakfast arrangement which is good because I can't think in the morning. Only thing was the price was quite high for what you got but I booked late and didn't know the area to go shopping around much.
I'd go back but only if I could get it cheaper I think.

Reviewed by
Simon D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

JBT
Good Hotel, great location in market square, food very good,

Reviewed by
John T

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome at the kings head
My partner and i spent two nights at the kings head in march,this lovely little b+b is in a great location to visit places of interest locally if you dont want to have to drive miles during your stay.when i contacted the inn to make a booking the lady who took my call was extremely helpful,as we hadnt stayed before she recommended a nice room .we were put in a room at the back of the guest house,which was quieter- but i think if we were to stay again we would request a room at the front as the view is better- other than this our stay was great-very good value for money - just wish the weather had been as good as the accomodation!!!!!

Reviewed by
P Arnold

From Wakefield, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will be Back
The staff are very friendly , food in the restaurant was Very tasty. Bedroom good size, comfy bed. I have told all my friends that it is a lovely place to stay .

Reviewed by
angela Sheard

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Executive Room??
For the price of the room and the statement of an executive room, i feel was over stated, it would have been better if everything was on one floor as opposed to having to go down stairs for the bathroom or make tea or coffee, the furniture was as if from a house clearance sale that could have been purchased from a company that would supply furniture to match the very nice surroundings.

Reviewed by
Anthony S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant service
The food was excellent, Among the best meals we have ever had. Compliments to the chef.
The restaurant service was not so good. The waiter and waitresses were more interested in clearing tables and preparing them for breakfast than they were in attending to the needs of the restaurant guests. After my main course I could not catch the attention of any restaurant staff to secure a dessert menu despite waiting patiently for quite some time. I eventually went across to ask them for one. I then had to go back to them to place my order because the staff did not come to me to take my order. A very average service ?

Reviewed by
K darley

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
This is our second overnight stay. We found the staff welcoming and the room large and very nice. good parking for our motorbikes next to the room is a bonus.

Reviewed by
Cheryl S

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FABULOUS ONE NIGHT BREAK
Had a delightful stay at the Kings Head. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Booked a superior room and we were out in the courtyard which was very good. All rooms at the hotel which we saw were of very high standard and kept very clean, tidy and warm.
Two very large open fires in the bar area made this a pleasant place to have a drink, coffee or food.
Keep up the good work.
Jo and Ken Lavender

Reviewed by
K Lavender

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next