No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Head Hotel by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place,Masham , Masham, HG4 4EF
A fine18th century Georgian inn in the Lower Wensleydale market town of Masham, The King’s Head Hotel dominates the historic market square with its Yorkshire stone exterior and distinctive carriageway arch.

Close to the A1 and less than 20 miles from Harrogate, The King’s Head is a perfect Yorkshire Dales base for business meetings or a last minute short break. The hotel has ample public parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room.
With old beams and original windows, the hotel has 27 en-suite bedrooms including family, twin and executive rooms with Jacuzzi baths. All rooms have flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample public parking and a Chef & Brewer pub restaurant on site serving Masham’s famous local brewery ales.

The hotel is just off the A6108, around 15 minutes from the A1 motorway. Lightwater Valley, breathtaking Fountains Abbey and the lovely market towns of Thirsk and Ripon are all within easy reach.
Picture of Kings Head Hotel by Good Night Inns, Masham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in great location. little gem just outside the dales.
Second time stayed at this hotel. This time stayed in the converted stable block in what was the tack room. Room was ok not as good as the room in the main hotel we were allocated last year. Bed nice and comfortable and had no problems sleeping after long days in the dales and sampling the excellent food and black sheep beer the hotel provided. Bathroom nice and clean and plenty of hot water every day and fresh towels provided. Staff are what make this hotel and can not fault them at all. Chloe at breakfast time was always bright and cheerful. Will return again to the hotel which is a little gem. Thank for a wonderful stay.

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's our second visit
Great value accommodation in a lovely market town, handy for visits to Ripon, light water valley and lots more in the surrounding area.

Reviewed by
J Ritchie

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Kings Head Masham Aug 2014. Family room.
We booked a family room which was in the courtyard behind the main building. The accommodation had a bed settee for the children, not so comfortable but ok for kids, although if you had 2 teenagers they might not be so happy with this.......it was fine for us for one night. The room had a mezzanine with a super king bed which was very comfortable. It was a clean and comfortable room overall, and no complaints from us. The bathroom did have some spiders lurking and the mastic around the bath and floor had seem better days, but as I said, overall it was very good.
We found all of the staff to be very friendly and polite, the food was excellent. Breakfast was not included, which did bump the price up, but it was very good.
I'm not sure that we would have wanted to stay more than a few nights, just because of the bed settee arrangement, but great for a short stopover. Our total cost for a family of 4 plus evening meal and breakfast was around £180 if that's any help.

Reviewed by
Mark Beuchet

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay, easy to chil out outside with a glass of wine, peaceful

Reviewed by
Angela W

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tour de France stage 1
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. We arrived at 7.30 am on a very busy day for Masham and were immediately offered breakfast. The breakfast was lovely as was the meal we had in the evening.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The room was immaculate too.
We will definately return.
A big thank you to the staff for a lovely weekend.

Reviewed by
NICOLA STURROCK

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
Great little hotel with excellent customer service. Andrew behind the Bar was attentive and knowledgeable. Dawn checked me in and later looked after me at Breakfast, she was efficient and friendly. Would recommend this Hotel, lovely room and cool in the hot weather.
Great choice of excellent beers.

Reviewed by
simon fry

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely market town. Central hotel in market square. Staff efficient and friendly. Hotel clean, food good.
Just what was required.

Reviewed by
Tracey G

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic accomodation but anything tnan basic for the chef never came out right
room 6 has to much late noise from the kitchen?

Reviewed by
Roy M

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two nightss just wasn't enough!
Exceptional customer service, all staff so polite and eager to ensure that our stay was excellent, a refreshing change to see this 'old fashioned' standard of service. The room was spacious and clean, with the exception of cobwebs and mildew on the door curtain and bathroom window frames. This was probably due to the fact that there was no opening window in the bathroom. A minor quibble was not being able to do my hair in front of a mirror as there was no socket near the dressing table to plug my hot brush in to.
Generally though, excellent room which was dog friendly and a pleasure to stay in.

Reviewed by
Julia B

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accommodation
This hotel surpassed all our expectations. The room was converted from an old stone stable block and has to be seen to appreciate it. Very large on two floors. Massive bathroom with freestanding bath and separate shower. The room was spotlessly clean, a credit to the cleaner's. Staff all very friendly without being overwhelming. Every request catered for. We would certainly recommend this hotel without reservation.

Reviewed by
P Grant

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next