No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Thurrock Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Ship Lane , West Thurrock, RM19 1YN
This Modern Individualistic hotel (a former School) has recently undergone an extensive upgrading programme. Located in its own grounds 12 miles from the centre of London, 5 minutes from intu Lakeside & Bluewater shopping Malls and just 2 miles from Purfleet and Tilbury Docks. 70 Spacious bedrooms with Free Wifi, Hairdryer, Iron, Hospitality Tray, TV & Radio Alarm. The hotel offers a selection of meals ranging from bar snacks to an A La Carte menu serving quality local fresh produce. Our Scholars bar features Sky Sports and premium lagers & Spirits. 10 Meeting & function rooms which can accommodate up to 300 guests for weddings, private dining, corporate events and training seminars with packages to suit all tastes and budgets. Ample Free Car parking. Situated 1 mile from junction 30 / 31 off the M25 and easily accessible from all London Airports.
Picture of The Thurrock Hotel, West Thurrock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Practical location - rooms lacking 'TLC'
The room we had was spacious, but let down by several things.
A light hanging from the wall and a TV with no signal.
No window locks (always thinking of the kids even though they weren't with us) so not ideal from a safety perspective. We couldn't leave the windows open at night due to staff noise during the night, and safety concerns as anyone could have got into the room. No door chain either.
Floor boards across the entire hotel squeak like I've never heard before, which continually interupted our sleep.
Our room was near the night shift's break area, so woken by them several times in the night.
All in all, a disappointing visit, but you get what you pay for.
The bathroom was spacious, but mouldy tiles and the bath didn't empty quickly when you showered, so you stood in your own water - yuk!!
Grumpy staff on leaving, very little interaction - couldn't wait to leave and get back to our own home. Not what a hotel stay should be. Not refreshing in anyway, shape or form.
Didn't try the breakfast as keen to leave to be honest.

Reviewed by
Paul Wright

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reported tv control not working 3 times on first day, was never fixed by the time i left

Reviewed by
J Armstrong

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor stay at thurrock hotel
We paid for an upgrade but still had a normal size double size bed
There was no airconditioning so we opened the window only to be hit by a barrage of noise from the M25 so shut window and then could not sleep due to the heat

Reviewed by
S Williams

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sat 19th July
Arrived at the Thurrock Hotel and the customer service was very good, explained all from where the room was and all facilities. Room we stayed in was very large, newly decorated and very clean. The only down side to our stay was that there was no air con in the room, for which my wife and i had to go to a local retail shop to by a fan.We had the bar food when we arrived, and it was great food, we didnt have to wait long to be served and all the Bar staff were polite and helpful. When we visit the area again we will be booking the Thurrock hotel because it is in a good location and the staff here are very polite and helpful.

Reviewed by
wayne c

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would use again
Hotel was easy to find.Staff friendly and efficient.Room was a family? room with a double and a single bed.Good sized for just the 2 of us.Usual tea and coffee making facilities.The room had no air conditioning and was very hot and stuffy being a warm day.Opening windows did help but only let nearby M25 traffic noise in.Room was facing M25, so a room not facing M25 may have fared better.There is no lift in hotel so this maybe a problem for people with walking difficulties,I didn't notice this fact being mentioned when booking though.Whilst my wife did manage it was a slow process climbing the stairs.Breakfast was a buffet type and the food available was quite good.The price we paid was certainly ok for what we got and would use again if family visits in the area come up in the future.

Reviewed by
Robert W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff but rooms could do with some work
I stayed for one night at the Thurrock Hotel and arrived about 10pm. It was quite daunting as a woman because most of the guests were men and I got a few looks. The room was very basic and could have done with a bit of a freshen up/modernisation, but was generally ok. The bathroom was awful and the shower got water absolutely everywhere, it was generally quite grubby. I didn't really get time for breakfast, so can't comment on the food.

Reviewed by
Laura S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Iron in room. With board, great.
No charge for food delivered , and lovely food too.

Reviewed by
Anna Y

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thurrock hotel
Very clean and worth the money

Reviewed by
K Wallace

From grays, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would Stay Again
Hotel fulfilled all our needs for an overnight stay before cruising from Tilbury.

Reviewed by
T Mundin

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel
Was told at desk when booked in their was going to be a party and we'll go on late. So you put the room we was in above that party I got locked in the toilet my partner had to get me out the music got that bad we left

Reviewed by
n kemp

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next