The Thurrock Hotel & Restaurant

3

Ship Lane, Aveley, Purfleet, Thurrock, RM191YN

Price From 117.72 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (71)

56% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • richard powell

  • April 2015

Reception

I was very disappointed last night when I arrived back at the hotel at 01:00am after a very long and stressful day only to find that my door key would not let me in my room for the second night consecutively.

I was in room 224 and made my way back to the reception area where nobody was around,

I waited for around 10 minutes but still nobody arrived. I could hear voices in the back offices where staff must have been talking to each other so started to nock on the door numerous times, but still nobody came out. I then walked into the bar area and shouted but still nobody came. over 20 minutes I had to wait for someone to come out and see me and this was only after I entered the bar area to try and walk behind the bar to get to where I could hear someone talking. It led me to am electrical cupboard which was also no use to me. It was only when the door slammed shut very loudly that someone appeared. By this stage I was even more tired and I could have done without the hassle.

  • Joanne G

  • April 2015

Keep coming back

We stayed for 2 nights this visit rather than just the one that we normally do.

We were in a room away from a party so wasn't as noisy as last time we visited so we were happy & had a nice relaxing visit while we were in the room. The restaurant was closed as the gas was off on our last night but they kindly made us some simple food on room service. Will be staying again later in the year :)

  • Julie D

  • March 2015

good service and polite staff

couldn't spend the whole night there as had a emergency and had to rush home in the middle of the night

  • d foster

  • March 2015

excellent hotel. room and staff

Booked it last minute and an excellent stay

  • Victoria M

  • February 2015

Not too shabby for what I paid

A very pleasant hotel with helpful staff.

However, my food took 45mins to arrive and wasn't very pleasant. I also couldn't change the temperature of the boiling bath water (although there was a "Warning, Hot" sign) and the sink water wouldn't heat up.

  • Jasmine M

  • February 2015

Dated room, but clean and tidy

Decoration and furniture was a bit dated but clean and tidy.

Bed was comfy and room an adequate size. Good value and would stay again as place to get head down for the night. Close to Lakeside so ideal for shopping etc.

  • J Gray

  • January 2015

I throughly enjoyed my stay at the Thurrock hotel, I would recommend it.

My only concern is the room stated it was a king size bed with sky channels - we had neither of these but overall the room was tidy, spacious.

  • Derek W

  • December 2014

The Thurrock Hotel

Friendly service value for money.

  • S Law

  • December 2014

Good place to stay for business travellers.

Room was spacious, comfortable bed, power shower.

Restaurant has limited menu but the steak is always delicious when cooked medium rare along with the slow roasted tomatoes.

TV in the bar usually has football or rugby on. Breakfast is good offering smoked fish with scrambled eggs.

  • W LIGHT

  • December 2014

Appalling restaurant service.

1, Fawlty Towers is alive and well and masquerading as The Thurrock Hotel in Aveley Essex.

We were on the second evening of a 3 night stay. The room is not bad - except that flushing the toilet makes a noise like a jumbo jet taking off - that is when it does flush - on about the fifth attempt. But this evening we made the mistake of attempting to have dinner in the "Scholars Restaurant".Here is how the evening progressed:

1855 hours: We took our seats in the restaurant. 1900 hours: We ordered. Ros wanted Chicken Liver Pate followed by Hake and Chips. I ordered Broccoli and Stilton Soup follwed by Chicken breast in Parma Ham and Lionnaise potatoes. Also a glass of wine and a diet coke. 1910 hours: Drinks arrive. We sat and chatted. And Chatted. And chatted...... 2015 hours: Soup and Pate are served. Soup luke-warm broccoli pure with no hint of stilton. Chicken Pate OK with a small salad and toast with no butter. Toast dry and smokey tasting. 2018 hours: Starters eaten. 2024 hours: Waiter collected dishes; "Did you enjoy that?"

Several times the young waiter who was obviously embarrassed came and said, "I do apologise for the wait but we have a function on. (An office Christmas party was in progress in another room - perhaps 30 people in total - and all the chefs were attending to them. Later the waiter said that in "our" kitchen was only an Agency chef who was well qualified but did not know the kitchen and a trainee chef also.)

2043 hours: Main courses arrive. Fish and Chips and Peas OK - garnished with a huge half of a lemon. Chicken breast wrapped in Parma Ham overcooked. Ham black and crunchy, chicken dry and unappetising. Potatoes not bad but no sauce, no other vegetables, no garnish. 2048 hours: Different waiter came a cleared various glasses off our table which was strange because at least two other tables had the remains of full meals on them which remained uncleared and untidy. 2055 hours: We finished eating the main courses. 2100 hours: Embarrassed waiter asks "have we finished, did we enjoy etc." He says that the wait was absolutely disgraceful and apologises again. We did not order desserts but asked for the bill. 2103 hours: Bill arrives. It reads as follows:

Operator:Michael (sic)

1 Chicken Liver £6.00

1 Soup £5.00

1 Hake Chunky Chips £9,95

1 Chicken Breast £15.50

Total: £36.45

Rate 1, VAT: Outstanding

Total to pay None

Tendered: None

So full marks for young Michael (sic). 2. There may be no such thing as a free lunch, but there is such a thing as a free dinner - albeit not a very nice one!!