No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Beeches

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
76 Selly Oak Road Bournville, Birmingham, B30 1LS
Originally built by the Cadbury family in the 1900s, The Beeches is a unique and characterful property set in the heart of the beautiful village of Bournville. Easy to reach from the M42, M5 and M6, and with ample free parking on site, The Beeches’ grounds and peaceful location offers a restful stop at the end of your journey.

Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, The Beeches provides a very warm welcome and a comfortable stay in one of its cosy rooms. All the rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer as well as free WiFi for all guests.

In the evenings guests can relax in the bar and lounge where bar snacks and evening meals are served and also a restuarant (please call prior to your booking to enquire if the restaurant will be open during your stay). The friendly staff and home-cooked food make The Beeches a great choice for regular guests visiting the University of Birmingham, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham International Airport and new Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

With the popular Cadbury’s World and the attraction and history of Bournville just minutes from its door, The Beeches is the perfect location from which to explore the delights of the local area. The city of Birmingham is just a short train ride away, and highlights such as The Bullring Shopping Centre, the National Exhibition Centre and National Indoor Arena mean it is a fantastic location for a short break or extended visit!

Breakfast times are 07:30 - 09:00 Monday - Friday & 08:00 - 10:00 Saturday & Sundays
Check out time 10:00 Monday - Friday & 11:00 Saturday - Sunday
Check in time is 2pm Monday - Saturday & 3pm on Sundays
Picture of The Beeches, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good after initial disappointment
The single room I was placed into was very poor and should not have been let out. I asked the duty manager to come to the room and when he saw it he agreed and moved me to a very nice double room, for which I was not charged any extra although it would have been an extra £6 per night. Good customer service. The room I had was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. Well done Beeches for excellent customer service.

Reviewed by
Michael F

From Cupar, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful hotel is well maintained grounds,the staff were efficient and friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Our room was clean and well decorated ,with tea and coffee making facilities. Plenty of secure car parking with a well lite car park. The hotel is located in a lovely area with plesent walks,the Carbury World only a 5 minute stroll.

Reviewed by
Deborah Ryan

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good stay
I went there twice in two weeks for work reasons. The hotel is 15 away walking from Bournville train station and easy to find since there are signals at the exit of the station.
I was in a single room, just basic things but good: comfortable bed, wardrobe, tv on the wall, desk with kettle, tea and instantaneous coffee, and bathroom. Everything was really really clean.
The staff were friendly, they let me in my room before the actual check in hour.
Breakfast was good, good variety, staff take the order at the table for the cooked one but one can serve him/herself with cereals, yogurts, brioches, fruits, juices etc.

Reviewed by
Elena B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed & Breakfast Revisited
Reminded me of 1970/80 bed & breakfast, adequate but tired and in need of refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Michael L

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget priced hotel with great service
I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
The staff were very good, the hotel was clean and noise free.
the room i booked was a single, a bit small but for the price no complaints.
They have a small gym that the reception was happy to show around even after midnight.
overall great

Reviewed by
shabaz r

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for value and for a romantic week end. Will come again!

Reviewed by
Mawuli

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Economical Accomodation
The conference centre is split over two types of accommodation – within the large house previously owned by the Cadbury family or within purpose built blocks set out in the extensive grounds. The house is solidly built back in the 1900s and has all the quality of sound proofing which goes with that type of construction. The blocks in the grounds do not enjoy the same quality of soundproofing. My first night was extremely quiet as I was only occupier in the block of approximately 24 rooms. The next night could not have been more different – the noise in the corridor and adjacent room was enough to keep me constantly disturbed until late into the night and again in the morning, being able to hear entire conversations through the walls. The last night of my stay was the same as the first – silence throughout the rest of the unoccupied block.
The room I was in was very small although adequate for my needs as a dormitory – however, a couple may have had some problems with the sleeping arrangements as one could only access the bed from one side or the foot of the bed. The en suite facilities were clean and functional. The room heating controllable by radiator thermostats.
The wi-fi was free and I had no connectivity problems.
Parking was free, and although the main car park was some distance from the main house entrance, parking for the block I was in was separate and closer to the block.
The cooked breakfasts were good with a very cheerful, friendly and willing staff serving.
I did not try the bar or evening restaurant and was not there for a conference.
Value for money – excellent! Although, if staying in one of the accommodation blocks in the grounds, I would try to choose a time to stay when the accommodation was less likely to be used by those visiting Birmingham to see shows or events at the NEC.

Reviewed by
David Davies

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay and the staff are really polite and professional. the accomadation was lovely too

Reviewed by
S Hilton

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The young woman on reception was very welcoming as was the young man on Wednesday morning. Both helpful and polite.The food however was truly dreadful.The burger was almost inedible and the chips tasted as though they were made from cardboard and not potaoes. The breakfast was distinctly average. I would be reluctant to stay there in the future because of the food. The staff were lovely.

Reviewed by
maggie s

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single room was adequate for a one night stay however it was very hot in the room and the heating was not accessible to turn it down. Inn addition the walls were very thin and the occupant of next room spent hours shouting into his phone keeping me awake until the early hours of the morning.

Reviewed by
Tricia C

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next