No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Beeches

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
76 Selly Oak Road Bournville, Birmingham, B30 1LS
Originally built by the Cadbury family in the 1900s, The Beeches is a unique and characterful property set in the heart of the beautiful village of Bournville. Easy to reach from the M42, M5 and M6, and with ample free parking on site, The Beeches’ grounds and peaceful location offers a restful stop at the end of your journey.

Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, The Beeches provides a very warm welcome and a comfortable stay in one of its cosy rooms. All the rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer as well as free WiFi for all guests.

In the evenings guests can relax in the bar and lounge where bar snacks and evening meals are served and also a restuarant (please call prior to your booking to enquire if the restaurant will be open during your stay). The friendly staff and home-cooked food make The Beeches a great choice for regular guests visiting the University of Birmingham, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham International Airport and new Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

With the popular Cadbury’s World and the attraction and history of Bournville just minutes from its door, The Beeches is the perfect location from which to explore the delights of the local area. The city of Birmingham is just a short train ride away, and highlights such as The Bullring Shopping Centre, the National Exhibition Centre and National Indoor Arena mean it is a fantastic location for a short break or extended visit!

Breakfast times are 07:30 - 09:00 Monday - Friday & 08:00 - 10:00 Saturday & Sundays
Check out time 10:00 Monday - Friday & 11:00 Saturday - Sunday
Check in time is 2pm Monday - Saturday & 3pm on Sundays
Picture of The Beeches, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for a One nigh stay
Pleasant staff on arrival. Room was clean and adequate double bed on the small side, tiles slightly wobbly in the bathroom, recently painted as the odour of gloss paint was very strong woke up in the night with a sore throat because of it. Would stay here again as very near university.

Reviewed by
P Coles

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but beware of bar prices
Got a good deal value for money excellent however the bar prices are a bit on the steep side

Reviewed by
Fred S

From Houghton le spring, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beeches in Bournville.
Amazing building in a very quiet setting. Good customer service, very good quality of room.
This was a fairly last minute booking and pleased with the result. Would definitely stay another time.
My only slight negative was that I thought the bar and bar food menu were limited although could not fault the quality of my evening meal.

Reviewed by
shaun p

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business travel for seminar
The seminar was in the Hotel so I traveled the night before. For the price the room was adequate. The minor fault was sorted immediately and all the staff were friendly and helpful. I would happily stay here again if I'm in the area.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, great location
Whilst working in nearby hospital (UHB/QEH) this hotel was perfectly located as short drive and nice area. Nice venue, great breakfast and even has a small gym! Will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Tony F

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Beeches, Birmingham
Smart, pleasant bar/reception area gave a false first impression. My room was shabby and very badly in need of refurbishment, although I have to say that the bed was clean and comfortable. The tiny bathroom had curled up old lino and the whole room had the look and feel of a 1960s cheap hotel film set. The cost of £52, with no breakfast, was ridiculously high, and this was supposed to be a £20 reduction. Give this place a miss.

Reviewed by
M HARVEY

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was a good size but although there was a double bed there was only 1 bedside table. It was simply but adequately furnished although the curtains would keep out more light if they were larger.
The food however was excellent, both breakfast and the evening meal.

Reviewed by
Pauline C

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good after initial disappointment
The single room I was placed into was very poor and should not have been let out. I asked the duty manager to come to the room and when he saw it he agreed and moved me to a very nice double room, for which I was not charged any extra although it would have been an extra £6 per night. Good customer service. The room I had was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. Well done Beeches for excellent customer service.

Reviewed by
Michael F

From Cupar, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful hotel is well maintained grounds,the staff were efficient and friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Our room was clean and well decorated ,with tea and coffee making facilities. Plenty of secure car parking with a well lite car park. The hotel is located in a lovely area with plesent walks,the Carbury World only a 5 minute stroll.

Reviewed by
Deborah Ryan

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good stay
I went there twice in two weeks for work reasons. The hotel is 15 away walking from Bournville train station and easy to find since there are signals at the exit of the station.
I was in a single room, just basic things but good: comfortable bed, wardrobe, tv on the wall, desk with kettle, tea and instantaneous coffee, and bathroom. Everything was really really clean.
The staff were friendly, they let me in my room before the actual check in hour.
Breakfast was good, good variety, staff take the order at the table for the cooked one but one can serve him/herself with cereals, yogurts, brioches, fruits, juices etc.

Reviewed by
Elena B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next