No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Beeches

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
76 Selly Oak Road Bournville, Birmingham, B30 1LS
Originally built by the Cadbury family in the 1900s, The Beeches is a unique and characterful property set in the heart of the beautiful village of Bournville. Easy to reach from the M42, M5 and M6, and with ample free parking on site, The Beeches’ grounds and peaceful location offers a restful stop at the end of your journey.

Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, The Beeches provides a very warm welcome and a comfortable stay in one of its cosy rooms. All the rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer as well as free WiFi for all guests.

In the evenings guests can relax in the bar and lounge where bar snacks and evening meals are served and also a restuarant (please call prior to your booking to enquire if the restaurant will be open during your stay). The friendly staff and home-cooked food make The Beeches a great choice for regular guests visiting the University of Birmingham, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham International Airport and new Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

With the popular Cadbury’s World and the attraction and history of Bournville just minutes from its door, The Beeches is the perfect location from which to explore the delights of the local area. The city of Birmingham is just a short train ride away, and highlights such as The Bullring Shopping Centre, the National Exhibition Centre and National Indoor Arena mean it is a fantastic location for a short break or extended visit!

Breakfast times are 07:30 - 09:00 Monday - Friday & 08:00 - 10:00 Saturday & Sundays
Check out time 10:00 Monday - Friday & 11:00 Saturday - Sunday
Picture of The Beeches, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 133 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I expected better
I paid £100 for 2 nights. The room was very basic and the bed hard.
Some of the staff were youngsters and I found their attitude a bit offish. I had problems connecting to the Wi Fi in my room and in the lounge. I told a member of staff and she was "yeah, what do you expect me to do?" Don't know if i'd stay again.

Reviewed by
Marc N

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for Conferences
I stayed at The Beeches the night before a conference. My room was very confortable and I enjoyed the food in the restaurant. It was good value for money and I would definitely consider staying there again if they hold another conference that interests me.

Reviewed by
M Coop

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely peaceful place to go.

Reviewed by
Allan W

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay 12 and 13 October 2014
Although the décor is very outdated, the room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable.
The staff were friendly, the facilities adequate and the food was fine.
Only downside was breakfast on the second day where service level was notably lower (other member of staff). Pay attention to coffee mugs cleanliness. But housekeeping and reception get full marks.

Reviewed by
Myriam R

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little hotel
Great little place tucked away not far from the centre of the city. Reception staff was helpful and checked us in immediately and quickly. Room was big, clean and had a little charm and character to it. My only gripe was that it was extremely cold in the morning and I couldn't for the life of me get the radiator to come on, but a part from this, great place and I would definitely stay again and recommend.

Reviewed by
Anthony E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
The bedroom was freezing and the radiator did not work, the room wasn't in the hotel itself but in a separate building in the garden.

Reviewed by
Tricia T

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet & peacfull
nice hotel in a very nice setting

Reviewed by
michael t

From Heckmondwike, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hole in the middle of nowhere
This place is apparently a business facility. However, they dont serve breakfast till 7pm. They advertise free broadband but it doesnt work. I stay in hotels for work seven times a month. This is the worst ever by a Cadbury mile.
I would suggest its an old mental hospital or an old folks home. It certainly feels like that.
I decided to nip out to eat. I walked for miles and miles....
I mentioned to the owner my issues and he dismissed it. No wonder it is always empty..
Anyway my advice is please dont do it- seriously dont.

Reviewed by
John H

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
steve m

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, comfortable, good dinner

Reviewed by
Max I

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next