No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shave Farm

4Self Classified Farmhouse Ratings explained
Donyatt , ILminster, TA19 0SA
Shave Farm is an early 19th century farmhouse set within beautiful countryside and just 2 minutes from the A303.
15 minutes from the M5 and Taunton and 30 minutes from the Jurasic Coast of Lyme Regis and Charmouth.
Making Shave Farm an ideal base or stopover when heading further South.
We are a working dairy farm and invite our guests to observe milkings and even help feed calves.
Our three rooms are made up with crisp white cotton linen and large white fluffy towels, They have tea and coffee making facilities and their own TV.
Guests have sole use of the large lounge with open fire and can relax in the mature gardens.
Breakfast consists of a full English using only British meats ,local produce and our own eggs!.
Picture of Shave Farm, ILminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B AND B
Pleasant lounge room with dining facilities and separate bedroom and bathroom upstairs, plenty of space. Nicely decorated and very clean accommodation. Slept well, ate well, couldn't expect more.
Could have used a sink on the ground floor. Overall very pleased with our overnight stay.

Reviewed by
B Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay, our hosts couldn't do enough for our visit as it was only for one night.

Reviewed by
gail k

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short visit
Warm welcome and excellent service

Reviewed by
R Brook

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

upmarket bnb with all the right touches
Lovely- cant fault this place except for some road noise outside property and bland coffee! otherwise excellent. Pretty cottage on working farm , very high spec room with great beds and modern decor, comfy lounge area with huge tv. friendly welcoming
hosts who genuinely want to give their guests a quality stay.

Reviewed by
B D

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super accomodation - warm & friendly. Convenient for A303 - highly recommended!
The farm was easy to find using the directions given and was well-signposted. It was not far from the A303, but we could not hear traffic noise. We were greeted personally and immediately felt at home. Our room was warm, well-decorated & furnished with a co-ordinated colour scheme. The beds were comfortable with plenty of bedding. The wash-basin was in the bedroom and there was an en-suite with easy-to-use shower, both with modern fittings. The ONLY improvement would be the addition of a small hand-basin in the en-suite. The sitting/dining room had an interesting old fireplace. For breakfast we enjoyed local sausages and ate well. The farm had a herd of cows which we could see from the window, but they were kept away from the B & B side and there was no noise or smell. We had an excellent evening meal at the inexpensive local pub, The George at Donyatt which had a super menu. Personal service made this a most pleasant stay, definitely value for money. We would go back again and would highly recommend Shave Farm accommodation.

Reviewed by
Liz R

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in a charming farmhouse
Spend a couple of nights in this quiet thatched farmhouse. Large well appointed bedroom with monster sized bed and upmarket en-suite facilities. Only a short walk to lovely country pub for dinner, the location is ideal. Superb full English breakfast and faultless customer service make this a place I will recommend.

Reviewed by
Richard G

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely in so many ways
Fantastic place to stay - easy to find, good parking, brilliant accommodation (we stayed in the superior 'room' which had two floors), friendly owners, walking distance to great pub, great night's sleep and delicious breakfast. If I had to find a negative it would be the lack of toiletries but we had our own so didn't bother us as it might bother others.
Would heartily recommend this place and hope to go again.

Reviewed by
K Barlow

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
We had a very relaxing stay the farm was clean and the welcome was excellent if we travel to the west country we will stop here again.

Reviewed by
Terry U

From WILMINGTON, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply great.
Cannot recommend Shave Farm enough. If you're thinking of staying, then stay.
I won't go into long descriptions, just expect a luxurious farm house B&B experience in close proximity to some great pubs and great countryside. Just fantastic.

Reviewed by
Chris N

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not have been better!
This was probably the best place we have ever stayed thanks to the owner and the excellent customer service she provided; such a wonderful surprise. Nothing was too much trouble, even though we were only staying one night (we wished we had been able to book for longer), the food was great and extremely generous and the accommodation was really lovely. It was by a road but you couldn't hear it inside and there was single glazing which meant a few drafts (it was the cold snap in February) but the heating was adequate and all round we just had a very easy, trouble free stay.

Reviewed by
Rosalind R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next