No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pine Trees Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Strathview Terrace , Pitlochry, PH16 5QR
Welcome to The Pine Trees Hotel, your luxury haven in Highland Perthshire. Nestled within ten acres of gardens and woodland, our classic Scottish Country House Hotel offers unique Four Star accommodation in historic Pitlochry.

As our guest, you will benefit from a choice of 23 individually designed bedrooms, superior Scottish cuisine and a warm, personal service to ensure you feel thoroughly pampered throughout your stay at our Scottish country house hotel.

Our recently refurbished Scottish country house hotel benefits from high quality interiors, energy efficient heating and every modern convenience, while retaining its traditional style and old-world charm. Our guests can enjoy privacy and seclusion when desired, or join fellow guests in the bar lounge and relax by the log fire. Many guests enjoy a stroll round the beautiful gardens, home to red squirrels and roe deer amid the pine trees.
We have a new addition of 3 superb ground floor rooms in a new building just a very short distance from the main building. Built to a very high spec. these rooms will not disappoint ! - 2 double rooms and 1 twin/double room.

Picture of Pine Trees Hotel, Pitlochry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We didn't know you were there!!!!
We have been coming to Pitlochry, to the theatre, for years, and didn't know you were there. What a lovely surprise. As we said at the time, we feel it is the best place we have stayed in Pitlochry, and there are many to choose from!!!! We'll be back_____!

Reviewed by
B Nicol

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room ok food ordinary, staff not friendly not a smile between them. Stayed at this hotel many years ago, now not a patch on previous visits.

Reviewed by
James Braid

From Glenrothes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional Scotland
The Pine Trees, built in 1882 as a private mansion in the scottish style, was a refreshing change from many of the modern hotels which have all been constructed from a common plan. The rooms and furnishings, although dated, were comfortable and, due to the construction of the building, almost totally soundproof. The location of the hotel was also a bonus,being remote from main roads the only external noise was birdsong.
The service provided by the very efficient and friendly staff was excellent.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this hotel. We stayed in one of the new rooms across from the hotel. Beautiful room. Our only problem was how hot it was and that was with no heating on! Luckily there was a fan which we could use, but I think a more powerful fan is necessary.

Reviewed by
D Low

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A blast from the past.
Fantastic room in the annexe, very good food staff and location. Takes you back in time to how hotels used to be.
Have stayed before and can't wait to stay again.

Reviewed by
David Brooks

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Still my favourite Perthshire hotel
My wife and I love going here to chill out. It's small enought to feel comfortably relaxed in and feel like a welcome guest while still being large & grand enough to feel like an old fashioned (in the best sense) classy hotel.
Staff are always very friendly and welcoming and the food is usually excellent.
The only (very) minor point which niggles is that at breakfast the toast they serve is made with what tastes like fairly cheap supermarket sliced loaf ("tastes" probably wrong word as it lacks texture or flavour). They used to serve good quality local bread and I miss that. Otherwise excellent.

Reviewed by
David R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable experience!
Found this hotel the day before while my boyfriend and I were doing an impromptu mini tour of Scotland. Beautiful big traditional house. The room we had was spacious and clean with a lovely view over the gardens. The decor inside the communal areas was all dark wood, leather chairs and fireplaces. It's not the most modern but well suited to the house and adds to it's charm. The staff were courteous and helpful and our breakfast in the morning was tasty with plenty of options to choose from.

Reviewed by
E Campbell

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GREAT STAY
No complaints. Everything was excellent from the service to the accommodation. Even the dog was impressed with his welcome pack of treats.

Reviewed by
ANN WHITTAKER

From Cowdenbeath, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth every penny
Booked a night's dinner B&B as part of my wife's birthday, hotel in a great setting was quiet and relaxing, staff very attentive and food was first class.

Reviewed by
Robert S

From Dunblane, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable return visit
I stayed at the Pine Trees about 10 years ago, and had positive memories of it, so was delighted to get a really good DBB package. It was even better than I had remembered, ideal for a quiet break. There is a lovely ambiance about the place and the staff are so pleasant and welcoming. The quality of the food and the service are superb. I hope it won't be another 10 years before I go back again!

Reviewed by
S Gillies

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next