No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kinmel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
ST. GEORGE ROAD , ABERGELE, LL22 9AS

Conveniently located just of the A55, this family-run manor house is set within the peace and tranquillity of the rural surroundings of Abergele, North Wales.

During your stay you can explore the many attractions that North Wales has to offer, including historical sites, such as the castles at Conwy, Bodelwyddan, Beaumaris and Chirk. Furthermore, the city walls of Chester are only a 30 minute drive away where you can make the most of the extensive shops, restaurants, bars and cafés.

In the evenings you can return to the comfort of the Kinmel Manor Hotel where you can enjoy a freshly prepared meal in the brasserie.

Picture of The Kinmel, ABERGELE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
hotel was clean as was room..bathroom had large shower.only problem was that the glass screen only covered half the shower opening and sprayed water on the floor..the heating went off about 11pm and room became quite cool throughout the night..I had a meal in the brasserie off the bar menu.the food was okay (ham egg and chips) which was gammon really but a bit pricey for what it was £11.95..three scoops of ice cream (small) was £5.95!..overall would stay again though.

Reviewed by
Michael I

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful experience, everything was spot-on
My Mum and I had a wonderful time. We were very well look after, from arriving to leaving.

Reviewed by
Kay S

From WAKEFIELD, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception could be more welcoming, we arrived when a wedding was taking place it was late at night and we had to negotiate through guests outside the door smoking and reception was in a mess, loud etc, the rooms were perfect except the tea things were in the cupboard which we did not know.

Reviewed by
debra t

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
The room was very clean and comfortable . We had a suite which was spacious. Bathroom was lovely very deep bath and shower was slightly difficult to use,
Breakfast was nice but the hot plates flung open and moved which I thought was a bit dangerous as my daughter nearly knocked one over when she opened it.

Reviewed by
sara walters

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was lovely, with fabulous views. The only down side is that it was under refurbishment so the pool and spa where closed. This wasn't mentioned when booking the hotel. However will go back when the hotel is fully open.

Reviewed by
melanie f

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little things add up
Hotel was booked as a last minute get away for me and my partner. Hotel looked wonderful from the photos of the rooms and swimming pool, and we were looking forward to relaxing in the Spa. When we got there they had booked us into a twin room when Id asked for a double. They did sort us out with a double room eventually. We then went down to ask about using the spa and we were told it was still under construction. There is no mention that the Spa isnt built yet and there is even photos of it on here! So please don't be fooled by the 'facilities' list. The room itself was lovely, however there was paint splattered on some of the corridor doors, the shower basin would leak out onto the bathroom floor, fire extinguishers were propping open doors, and we could not connect to the WIFI of which we noticed other guests complaining about this. Would be a fantastic hotel and value for money of these little problems were resolved and there was actually a spa!!!

Reviewed by
E Broadhead

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
A last minute booking and was satisfied with the accommodation. The restaurant attempts to be rather upmarket. For me it lacked a little atmosphere and the service, while attentive, was rather too attentive for my liking. Quality of food was good but as the waiter said, why they had to put the soup in a jug for him to pour out into the bowl and risk splatters - he didn't understand - neither did I....

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
great re-furb

Reviewed by
Phil H

From Ashby De La Zouch, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The place to stay in Abergele
This was a late booking and what a surprise! The hotel was in a beautiful setting in this lovely part of Wales. The staff were excellent, the room fresh and clean and with everything you need and the evening meal - fine dining at its best! Should we ever be in that part of Wales again, this is the place for us. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Sandra M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A building site
On arrival it was apparent that much of the place was under development. At no point does the web site or late rooms tell you this.
My room was along a corridor with no carpet and bare plastered walls.
The room itself was clean but basic.
On check in there was myself and a group of 15 so the girl checked in all 15 one by one which was annoying.
Dinner was very overrated and overpriced. I was not allowed to eat until the 15 had been served their dinners and then not offered desert because the kitchen had left.
A terrible experience of customer service and one to avoid!

Reviewed by
Steve I

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next