You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

This star rating is the opinion of the property owner only. A Self-Rated hotel has not been assessed by the AA or Visit Britain, whose official star ratings we use across


The Golden Fleece

3 Self rated

Perry Street, ,, South Chard, TA20 4QH

Price From

View Rooms

About the hotel

The Golden Fleece offers luxury accommodation the rooms have contemporary furnishings and spacious bathrooms. Finishing touches include tea tray, TV, hairdryer, Car parking Set In a quiet but convenient location behind the Pub/Restaurant ensures for a peaceful night’s sleep. We take pride in everything we do, in every pint we pull, in every dish that leaves our kitchen and in the way we present every room to our guests.

We have been at the Golden Fleece for nearly 10 years. Serving traditional home cooked food. We are constantly trying to improve the setting, we have recently improved beer garden/patio area. it is an ideal base from which we can offer a perfect location on the Somerset, Dorset and Devon borders to escape and explore the West Country. Not far from the coast and ideal for visits to River Cottage, Located on the road from Cricket St Thomas and on the Route

Larger map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Room Availability

Showing Wednesday 24 August 2016 to Thursday 25 August 2016

Change Search

You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Facilities Show/hide

Parking (charges may apply)
Car parking available onsite
Restaurant , Bar
Family friendly
Interconnecting rooms available
Wi-Fi Available In Public Areas

Useful Info Show/hide

From 15:00 hours
Until 11:00 hours
Important information
The price shown is based on the occupancy and dates you have searched for. Prices and availability are subject to change based on the arrival date, number of nights and occupancy searched for. All prices are inclusive of all local taxes.
Pets are not allowed

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (28)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • I Chapman

  • July 2016

Not a country pub

Overall a nice place, a little far out from main places, but okay if happy to drive for around 25 minutes.

The Golden Fleece is not your usual pub experience, it is fine for food which was of a good standard, but there was nowhere to sit inside if you just fancied a beer or two, the gardens were nice, alhough a little close to some rooms. The overall customer service was not good, arrived around 4 to find everywhere shut up, the pub only opens from 6 to 11pm. The worst bit of customer service was the total lack of concern when my wife reported to the lady who owned the Golden Fleece that she had just had a really bad fall in the shower cubicle, she slipped on the shower tray and was so lucky not to have serious injuries as she fell nearly hitting the toilet with her head. She is covered in some serious bruises and has a very stiff neck. The shower tray is lethal so please be aware, there is a slip mat which we found afterwards, located in a cupboard. At no time in the next two days did the owners enquire about how my wife was or offer us the non existent accident book to record this in. Their customer care was probably the worst I have ever witnessed, even on check out no-one asked how she was or asked in general was everything okay with your stay. Will not be returning to this place, and if the owners read this then shame on you for your lack of concern.


We would like to post a management response to a review – Ref number


Thank your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the food. We sincerely

apologise that you did not feel that our customer service was up to standard. We

were of course concerned when you wife mentioned that she had a fall,

unfortunately it was mentioned as we were opening up on a Friday night and we

could not give her our full attention at the time. We did keep an eye out

throughout the weekend and as you seemed, to us, to be happy and relaxed we

didn’t feel it was appropriate to bring up the incident again. Obviously this

was an incorrect assumption on our part and for that we can only apologise.

Following your report of the incident we have reviewed the system in the rooms.

Rather than just mentioning the location of the slip mats in the customer

information book we have now instructed all cleaners to place them out with the

bath mats so they are easier to find. It has also brought to light that our

system for recording and following up any accidents isn’t as good as it should

be, as we haven’t had any accidents in the rooms to deal with before, and as

such we are updating it so that it is in the future.

Many Thanks


  • J Hobson

  • July 2016

Good value

Excellent Room losing a point as both bedside lamps didn't work and the hot tap was loose.Breakfast was skimpy.

See all guest reviews